We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Save Saved
You added Novotel Queenstown Lakeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #27 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely spot right on the edge of the lake. We had a room facing the road which was quite noisy suggest requesting a lake or park view room. Room amenities are basic but clean. Agree with previous reviews about overly expensive extra charges such as wifi and credit card. However disagree with comments about the restaurant, had a lovely dinner there on my last night, it was gourmet!

Room Tip: Lake view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear BelleJenni,

Thank you for your feedback – I appreciate your comments and will pass this onto the team. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    816
    206
    50
    16
See reviews for
400
811
122
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Novotel is nice and clean and fabulous location, we enjoyed our stay, the staff were not overly helpful or friendly, compared to other hotels in the near vicinity we wouldn't stay there again, for the money it wasn't worth it , and queenstown is such a small village that all the hotel are 5 or 10 mins from town

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear pemb1est,

Thank you taking the time to post feedback relating to your most recent stay at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside. I appreciate your comments and apologize for shortfall in service levels. I am disappointed to hear you say that the hotel was nice and that you enjoyed your stay, however would not return – if there was further issues, please do not hesitate to contact me on h5308-om01@accor.com

Kind regards,

Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I booked Novotel for their location and our experience of their hotels in Australia. This was our honeymoon. We were very disappointed with the standard of the rooms. Everything was outdated (especially the iron which leaked and was at least 10 years old and the hairdryer). The shower bath with the shower curtain that chases you and the grab rail.
The cleaning was good on some days and not on others
The bed: the doona was covered with sheets that came away easily and showed you the stained grotty looking doona. There was no fitted sheet for the mattress so when you turned over the sheet came away from the bed and in the morning you ended up with bare mattress and grotty doona and sheets in a pile.
The maid service woke us up every day at 9am with a sound "TURN" even though our door had a do not disturb sign it still managed to wake us up every time.
However, The clients service from the concierge was FANTASTIC, location was FANTASTIC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Jiana,

Thank you for taking the time to review Novotel Queenstown Lakeside.

I am sorry you felt that a few things were outdated – The hotel conducts regular checks on our appliances and replace these as and when required, on this occasion it appears that we this may have slipped through of which I apologize.

With regards to the bedding the hotel uses triple sheeting which is a common practice amongst many hotels worldwide. The aim of this to ensure that sheets are changed daily to ensure a higher level of hygiene and cleanliness – I do apologize if this is not your personal preference.
I am glad that the concierge team was able to assist you and I hope that we have an opportunity to better service you in the future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I were extremely disappointed with our stay at Novotel Lakeside in Queenstown. We wanted to end our trip in style by splurging on the "superior room" only to find there was nothing superior about it whatsoever.

The TV was a decade old, no digital signal, no USB playback, it was quite small and actually stopped working at one point. Everything was far too expensive, $30 for a measly 300 megabytes of data, $20 a day for parking, a surcharge every time we ordered room service...the list goes on.

Breakfast was very lacklustre, reception told us it was available from 6-10.30, yet every time we attended provisions were in short supply or in some cases completely empty. The staff just didn't seem to care about this or anything for that matter and I was disappointed to see none of them were from New Zealand.

After our experience I would never stay in another Novotel again and I would for warn anyone who was thinking about doing so...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Braeden T,

Thank you for taking to post your review.

Firstly please accept our sincere apologies for seems to have been a not so pleasant experience. The TV’s in our superior rooms were last upgraded a few years ago and in some cases some features have been disabled as the cabling and control of these is slightly different to a “traditional home” TV however acknowledge that this shouldn’t have stopped working and I trust our team were able to remedy this situation.

In regards to a couple of services you have referred too, we feel that these prices are very competitive with our local competition and in most cases cheaper.
I do apologize for the staff attitudes; this is something which will be addressed internally, so thank you for highlighting that.

The hotel’s policy towards recruitments is not to discriminate against Race, Gender etc, hence the culture of the hotel has a mix of nationalities – I am sorry if you felt that we should hire more New-Zealanders.

I hope this clarifies some of the issues and I would like an opportunity to service you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall everything is very positive, we stayed in a lakeside view room.
The staff were friendly and the rooms were comfortable.
A downside for us was the cost for wifi, yes there are computers available for use free of charge in the lobby but they were more often than not occupied. The cost to use wifi in room was way over the top at $6 for 30min or 15meg, Novotel needs to rethink these rates.
Otherwise our stay was good and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for lakeside views, it's really picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Matt_and_Ash

Thank you for your feedback – your comments are very much appreciated.

The cost of wifi is something the hotel is reviewing in order to better suit ever growing demands for wifi data. The hotel has a number of plans ranging from a short time (2 hours) up to weekly plans however acknowledge that these sometimes do not always suit everyone’s requirements. I assure you that this is a continual priority of the hotel to improve options moving forward.
Overall, I hope this did not affect your experience to much and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fantastic location, nice size clean room and friendly staff. Check in and check out were a breeze and plenty of good parking options were available. Have stayed here before and will stay here again. Close to everything but at the same time in a nice quiet part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your feedback – it’s always a pleasure to see return guests and that your experience was yet again a pleasurable one. Thank you for highlighting our wonderful location and friendliness of the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This year the service and attention to the patrons requirements has been exceptional. My annual skiing holiday requires daily bookings to make the best use of the weather patterns spread over 4 fields and the hotel responded in fine fashion. Breakfast is a joy given they had 350 one day without a slip in service standards!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear DavidHamilt0n

Thank you for taking the time to post a review relating to your annual skiing holiday. I am delighted to hear that our team was able to assist on a daily basis and that you enjoyed the breakfast. I look forward to welcoming back next year.

Kind regards,

Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with contemporary decor and attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown’s iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel recently underwent a major refurbishment and offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features inspiring artwork by renowned New Zealand artists, comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.