We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Queenstown Lakeside to your Saves list
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manhattan, KS
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent a week at the Novotel in Queenstown. It was clean and comfortable. The location is ideal if you're looking to enjoy Queenstown - everything is within walking distance. We were most impressed with the staff. They were friendly, outgoing, and provided outstanding recommendations for everything from activities to dining. They knew everything there was to know about Queenstown. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear emblee10
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel and that you took advantage of the hotel’s ideal lakefront in-town location to explore Queenstown.
Professional and friendly customer service is something we pride ourselves on and we are happy to hear that you were impressed with your experience and the knowledge of our concierge team.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay in the future.
Kind regards,
Mia McGregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    1,006
    258
    61
    18
See reviews for
502
967
140
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stay at this hotel regularly. It is clean, well maintained and the staff are without exception helpful and friendly. Rooms are comfortable although the two double bed configuration in the room isn't as good for a couple as one larger bed. The heat pump in our room emitted a strong stale smell when we turned it on, this was remedied promptly when I commented on this to reception. Well done, Novotel. Food here is expensive if you don't have an Advantage Plus card. All in all, another great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear GingePalmy,
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear from our Advantage Plus guests.
We are delighted that you have found our staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. As you are aware we offer rooms with 2 x double beds or alternatively a King bed. At the time of booking you can elect to guarantee a room with a King Bed and if not, our team do try and accommodate as many guest requests as possible.
We apologise for the scent that was omitted from the heat pump, we have recently added individual air conditioning units to the majority of the hotel so this was of concern however I am pleased to hear that a solution was promptly offered by our reception team.
We pride ourselves on offering a wide range of modern New Zealand cuisine as well as a selection of authentic international dishes at reasonable price points and it’s great to hear that you were able to utilise your Advantage Plus discounts on this.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Kind regards,
Mia McGregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived in town with no accommodation on a Saturday afternoon. From guide book rang Novotel Queenstown. Gentleman answered, but wasn't sure what rooms were available and at what cost.....suggested he could ring me back after checking. Not good enough we thought, rather surprised, but called in anyway because of its position in town and was able to get a "back room" less noisy overlooking park fourth floor.
Agreed to valet parking, at $20 per night. Thought it would be secured under cover, but found car covered in dew on pickup next morning.
Having spent two weeks sampling NZ, we were surprised to find the Room with King bed quite small with small balcony. One large chair just fitted beside bed and one smaller chair at desk. So it was easier for one of us to sit on the bed watching the TV. Luggage space very limited. Design of shower rediculous. It was very narrow with glass petition half way along - then open ended, so water sprayed onto bathroom floor if not really careful. Drainage of shower very poor and slow on flat floor. No obvious ventilation working in internal bathroom was also undesirable.
Noted next morning after room made up that mugs used the night before and rinsed by myself, still had tea ring marks on them, not properly washed and left in Bathroom beside the sink with a wine glass, similarly washed. Not good enough......
We filled in a Guest Review card as above and left it in the room.
The Staff were friendly and helpful, the dining room was good, buffet breakfast good.
Being in a central position enabled easy walking to the foreshore actiivites, gardens, shops, cafes etc.
However we were disappointed in the Novotel's accommodation for the money spent.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We got off to a rocky start when we checked in to the hotel and found that the room we had received had 2 beds instead of one. I called up the reception and notified them of the problem, a few minutes later I received a call back from the Hotel Manager who told me she was sorry for the mistake and would fix the problem immediately. Turns out it was a problem caused by our travel agent but the hotel fixed us up and we were in our new room in no time! We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Location is perfect, it's on the border of the city and a 5 minute walk to food,drinks and shopping. The concierge were also very helpful whenever we needed to confirm or check prices for activities, they also gave us many tips on where to get good value for food and drinks (they were never wrong!).

The rooms are clean and are serviced daily. The room did get a little bit stuffy at night time as it was a little bit warmer during our stay, but it isn't completely uncomfortable and is fixed easily by opening the balcony door and windows. We were in room 240 and had a nice view from our room into the courtyard. Exiting the hotel from the courtyard takes you straight out onto the shore of the Lake which is peaceful and a good place to take in the beautiful surrounds. Take a short walk up to the gardens and you wont be dissapointed!

We stayed at about a 5 minute drive away from Queenstown the last time we visited and I have to say that Novotel and its location is definitely the best option. It's affordable and will also save you time when it comes to looking for a car park in town.

Overall Novotel Queenstown was a great choice and we will definitely be staying there on our return visits to Queenstown. Queenstown is a great city and we absolutely love it there! Eat a steak at Pub on Wharf, you wont regret it and your wallet will love it too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having read Trip Advisor reviews and received recommendations from friends and family, we decided to stay at the Novotel for our final couple of days in NZ.

We pulled up in the afternoon to find a rather busy entrance, although it wasn't difficult to find a nearby parking spot while we quickly checked in. The valet parking (NZD 20 per day) seemed better than self parking in a nearby multi storey carpark so we handed over our keys and were in our rooms within 30mins.

We had two interconnecting rooms - 421 (2QB) and 422 (1QB). Both had small balconies and overlooked the Lake. Whilst next to the fire stairs, the main source of noise was from the street.

So let's start with the positives... recycling bins in the room, big screen TV, soft beds, iron & ironing board, plenty of bench space in the bathroom, great location, lovely buffet breakfast (wide variety) and the room service isn't too bad either. The concierge was also helpful in getting us a reservation at the Skyline Gondola buffet lunch (highly recommend it).

Then the less-than-positives... the bar fridge was fully stocked, which left little space for our own drinks; the bath tub is very high to get in to and the one in 421 simply wouldn't drain.

Finally the negative... in room 421 (the corner room) there is an additional window facing the road. It just happens to be right behind one of the bed heads and is not sealed properly. Unfortunately, this meant that there was a constant (cold) breeze flowing onto the person sleeping in that bed (i.e. me!) Since it got rather cold overnight, it was unpleasant to say the least.

We reported it after the first night, and whilst I was not expecting it to be resolved while we were there, I had hoped we would get some recognition of the issue. We did not, so it left a less than stellar impression. As a footnote, I will say that I repeated the comment in my online post-stay survey and received a response from the Hotel Manager expressing concern that our stay had been less than we had hoped. That response was more in line with my expectations of such a highly regarded hotel.

In closing, I would say that whilst my review isn't necessarily 'glowing' I would consider staying at the Novotel again because the location is perfect and the follow up by management (if a little late) was good - as long as they have fixed the window in room 421!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novqt, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Infrequenttraveller22,

Thanks for your constructive review. It was good to hear that there were positives to your stay including the facilities in the room (recycling programme, large TV, comfortable beds) and the service by our knowledgeable Concierge team.

As mentioned in your on line survey the points raised in regards to the window above your bed have been looked at and addressed and we apologise for this issue that clearly did impact on your stay with us. We again apologise that this was the case.

You mention a fully stocked fridge as an issue - the fridges provide a minibar service which is typical in most 4 and 5 star Hotels - guests are welcome to remove the items and use the fridge for their own beverages.

THanks for your feedback - we do hope to see you again soon

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We love Queenstown and having a superb hotel like the Novotel helps make an enjoyable trip. We booked the trip after having a year of health issues. I had only been back up on my feet for 6 weeks after not being able to walk for a few months so location was important. The Novotel met all expectations. We didn't book any special rooms or special access and wouldn't have needed to here. The rooms are very clean and quiet, we had rooms over the park at the back of the hotel, great for sitting on the deck in the morning drinking your coffee.

Location is fantastic, nice and close to the town, restaurants, bars and transportation. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Even the weather turned it on for us :)

We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the $30.00 room credit, it's great for coffee and snacks and possibly Internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We do not often post reviews, but this time, we have had such a great stay here that we will! The attention and service we received here has been the best we have experienced in our travels! The counter, trip planner, and room staff have been exceptional, attentive, responsive, with reliable local knowledge! There was a small disappointment with a meal we like very much back home - Brisbane, Australia! Just a few cents more for enough white-baint to taste would have had us return for more meals! The Tapas were great though!
The room was also well designed and very amenable. It was not in in the best position but we had the views over the town and near mountains. It was a treat to enjoy the hang gliders and views after unseasonal snow one night!
Most importantly, compliments to the designers and builders with their attention to noise! The double insulated glazing meant the busses below were not annoying on the morning pick-ups, the shower and amenities noise from the rooms next door were not noticeable, the door to the shower and toilet was angled away from the bed, the fridge could hardly be heard! Great attention to detail - better than anywhere else we have stayed!
Thanks!

Room Tip: Stay near the fire escape and always note where it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novqt, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Vince C

Thanks for your positive review - it was great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our Hotel - the team do try hard to ensure all of our guests are looked after. In our industry we are always reminded that we are only as good as the last person that has experienced our service and facilities and we must keep focussed on that.

Your comment about the Whitebait is noted and has been discussed - such products are important within our food and beverage department where we aim to give a NZ experience and offer New Zealand-ness. We apologise that you did not feel we had quite the right balance of whitebait in the serving and take that on board.

All in all it was great to see that you enjoyed the quietness of the Hotel - despite being Queenstowns largest and most central Hotel it is good to hear that the design of the Hotel met your requirements and that you would love to come back.

Thanks again - we hope to see you soon

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with contemporary decor and attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown’s iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel recently underwent a major refurbishment and offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features inspiring artwork by renowned New Zealand artists, comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.