We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Browns Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Browns Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Browns Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Isle St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Everything about this place screams class. We will be telling all of our friends that visit Queenstown that Browns is a must. Donald & Gillian provide a warm hospitable service that you could only hope for from other providers. The location is great, we didn't touch the car once we arrived. Loved sitting by the fire with a glass of wine each evening. We loved the place so much we even left with our keys ( apologies again for that, hope they arrived ok).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    60
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
288
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Gillian and Donald were friendly and welcoming, no request too hard to accommodate. The breakfast was superb right down to specialised teas to suit every taste. In a very cold climate the rooms were warm and the bed and pillows very comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal northeast Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We love this place. We stayed here last year at the end of our trip around NZ and decided to stay here again this year before we flew off home. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Gillian and Donald have created an accommodation which excels in every area a traveler appreciates. They themselves are congenial and knowledgeable hosts and are willing to do whatever they can to ensure that their guests have the best experience of Queenstown. They willingly shared their knowledge of restaurants, sights, attractions, activities and tours and never steered us wrong.

The property is situated a short walk from town so guests have the convenience of Queenstown without the bustle and noise at night. Off street parking is available, but it is tight. We have had the same room twice (#10) on the top floor at the end which has stunning views of Queenstown, the Remarkables and fabulous sunsets. The rooms are generously sized, immaculate, and beautifully and comfortably appointed. The bathrooms are spacious and modern. It would be nice to have more counter space to put toiletries.

Continental as well as cooked to order breakfasts are provided and the food is excellent. The dining room is set with large tables so that guests are able to mingle and chat and share traveling experiences.

The lounge is comfortable with a fireplace, free internet access and plenty of books, magazines and newspapers for reading and relaxing.

We highly recommend Brown's as a wonderful place to stay to add to your enjoyment of all that Queenstown has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Great small hotel right up the hill from the main shopping area in Queenstown. Up a small hill in a quiet area. Very convenient, five minute walk into town. Rooms were very clean, roomy with nice views of Queenstown. Donald and Gillian take good care of you! Highly recommend, great small hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We chose Browns simply to fit in with walking the Milford track. Gillian and Donald made that aspect a doddle - they're used to having people leave a car and all their gear behind and return later. What a pity we didn't plan to stay longer with them and enjoy the quiet country house atmosphere of their charming little hotel, just above the town. Not cheap, but you are enjoying quality and experience. When you come back at the end from the Ultimate Hikes HQ, get a car to carry the plastic sacks with all your gear. It's not far, but without the 40 litre sack, the uphill walk will just about kill you!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed two nights in Queenstown at Brown's Botique. Gillian and Donald were very accomodating helping us with our early morning trip to Milford Sound. Since we were too early for breakfast they gave us food for the morning. The room was nice with a great view of the Remarkables and lots of skydivers floating down overhead from the mountain alongside.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I would highly recommend Browns Boutique Hotel for overseas and nz tourists alike. Excellent in all respects. Wonderful hosts with a great knowledge of local events and places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Isle St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.