We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Browns Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Browns Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Browns Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Isle St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Gillian and Donald are very warn hosts indeed. Very helpful to help us fill our 2 day visit to Queenstown. Of particular note about Brown's is the warmth, helpfulness and breakfast sittings combined with the little bit of anonymity of a hotel. Some of our B&B experiences, although nice, were just a bit too "close" for us. Brown's is not that way. If you want company, they are there for you -- but, if you want to get a bit away, that is the way the hotel is laid out. It worked for us perfectly.
Easy walking distance from city center, and 15 minutes to the airport, the place is beautiful and very well kept. The breakfasts were outstanding. Everything was great. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Such a kind review thank you so much. We are always thrilled when our guests say such nice things about the hotel, and the town. We are always available for as much or as little attention as our guests need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    60
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
288
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights this month and came to the conclusion what a wonderful friendly place to stay, cant fault the accomdation or the lovely breakfast cooked in the morning. Set very close to the centre of the town but just beware the hill. Fabulous time so enjoyable an area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you Norman for your kind comments, so pleased we met your expectations, its a long way from the UK but great that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am concerned that all of the good reviews of this establishment will make it harder to secure a booking on our next visit to Queenstown. However, the reviews are justified. The hotel is perfectly situated, well maintained, very comfortable and has the best views. Jillian and Donald are welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is terrific - you will start each day with a full and contented feeling. We are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are delighted you found our hotel to your liking and thank you for your recent review. Our Australian guests are such fun sporting discussions at breakfast are a highlight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The outside appearance of this B & B is one of an Italian villa. The inside is generic European and very attractive.Every room has a balcony and a great view of Queenstown and the lake. POSSIBLY THE CLEANEST ROOM I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. Location is close to town, but far enough away from the noise of the young backpackers who frequent this town. Proprietors Gillian and Donald really care that their guests are satisfied and they genuinely love to help out with recommendations and arrangements for activities and tours. We stayed three nights in February. Would definitely return to Brown's.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
From Chicago to Queenstown we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
Cleanliness is our number one priority at all times and we are pleased you noted that.
So heartening for our staff to read such a nice review, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Four years ago we vacationed in Queenstown and stayed at Brown's Boutique Hotel...this February 2014, we returned and stayed there again. It's a beautiful setting, very conveniently located to walk everywhere and the owners Jillian and Donald are great hostesses...very friendly, chatty and welcoming and extremely accommodating...and their breakfasts are GREAT! Would definitely recommend their place and will hopefully return one day!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony...not a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its really pleasing when we see our guests back again, and from so far away! Thanks for making the effort, do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wonderful, small B&B located within walking distance of everything. Gillian & Donald fabulous hosts serving a scrumptious breakfast and full of ideas for dining, sightseeing and relaxing. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room on the first floor. Fabulous views on the Remarkables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for your review of the hotel, we are thrilled you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Gillian was welcoming and eager to help with restaurant recommendations and tips. Donald serves an outstanding breakfast. Our room was comfortable and beautiful with spectacular views. Elegant decor instead of frumpy over-decorating or sterile minimalism. Highly recommend, but it is pricey.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our decor is to your liking, do come visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Isle St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.