We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Browns Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Browns Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Browns Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Isle St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Part of me wants to shout about how absolutely amazing this place is, but then the other half of me wants to keep it as our little secret! Every aspect of this place is perfect.

We arrived much earlier than we should have done, and only really wanted to check if we were OK to leave our car there for a few hours, until we could check in. Well 10 minutes later, we were unpacking! Our room was ready and Donald had checked us in and shown us round.

The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. They also have everything you need in them - including yummy homemade biscuits and the most fabulous citrus smelling toiletries. The location couldn't be better, it's a few streets out of the town centre so it's nice a quiet, but is an easy 5 minute walk - made all the easier by the passageway from the back of the property. The views from the balconies are second to none. The back garden is a great place to relax, tables and chairs, large umbrellas for the much needed shade and a large chess-board.

I am a fairly picky sleeper, I like my bed and my pillows, but I would happily trade them in for the one's at Brown's - the most comfortable bed ever - despite the weather making it almost too hot to sleep! So feeling that it couldn't get any better, we went down for breakfast. There is toast, cereals, fruit and yogurt - all delicious, and plenty of tea and coffee, there is the 'everyday menu' - yummy options that are available everyday - the soft boiled eggs were my favourite, or was it the hotcakes? On top of this, there are then 2 daily specials - it should not be that hard to choose what you want for breakfast, but with Donald and Gillian's amazing cooking, it really was a dilemma every day!

So what makes Browns so special? Just the whole place and everything about it. But then there is the small 'extras' you don't expect - it's the only place I've ever stayed that had crackers for breakfast on Christmas morning. And it was lovely to come back on Christmas day and find a little personalised package containing more yummy homemade biscuits!

And while we stayed when the weather was pretty much tropical, I'm sure Browns is equally lovely during the middle of winter - the radiators in the rooms looked like they would make it a very snuggly place to be!

We'd like to thank Donald and Gillian for making our stay so lovely - next time we head to Queenstown, we know where we'll be staying!

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies that have lake and mountain views, so I don't any would be better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    60
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
288
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Really warm and friendly private hotel/B+B experience...comfortable and spacious rooms, more lounge and patio room to relax in (with handy restaurant menu's from a good selection in town), really good breakfasts. Gillian and Donald are great hosts, always willing to recommend and make bookings, and a huge plus compared to almost all other accommodation in Q'town is being just 3mins walk from downtown (yet in a quiet location). Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Firstly, the positives: The hosts are lovely, attentive people. Gillian and David certainly will make you feel at home and the location of the hotel is just out of the main area which makes it a quieter alternative. Toiletries are great quality.Everything is very clean. Shared table for meals can be a big plus if you like speaking with others (or not a plus if you don't!). Views from some rooms are lovely and this is a very small place so you dont get lost in a big hotel vibe.

Now for the negatives: I cannot believe that no one mentioned the room noise. This is really one big house with many rooms. If someone walks along the corridor outside your room you will hear it. If they speak anywhere in the house in common areas you will hear it. Plus, on our first night we were in room 1 which has a window directly facing outside where people park their cars privately and we heard people coming and going there consistently. I put earplugs in to sleep and at a couple of hundred dollars a night a shouldnt have to. I found the decoration of the place dated (Im just not that into dark colours and chintz) but that is certainly subjective of course. Nice cooked breakfast but terrible filter coffee.(Just grab a real one at any of the many good cafes in town - recommend "Voodoo")

I would recommend this place for older people 60+(they seemed the target market here and pretty much the only age group we encountered). Some of the previous reviews said they found this place 'romantic'. All I can say to that is 'you need to get out more'.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1. Go for higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your comprehensive review. We are surprised at your noise issues, something we were not aware was an issue. Normally there is no movement in the car park in the evenings. Decor is naturally always personally subjective. All age groups are always welcome as we don't have a "target" market. We are delighted you enjoyed the "positives" however!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our short stay was a real pleasure for us. This little charming hotel awaits you with very nice and tidy rooms and the hosts are very friendly. Breakfast was very good, too. The hotel is just beside the skyline gondola which takes you up to enjoy a really great view accross Queenstown. We would book again at any time!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Even though your stay was short, thanks for taking the time to write your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Very personal, quick walk downhill to town, highly recommend. Spacious rooms. Wonderful breakfast. DVDs to check out for your room. Would recommend to my friends and you. When in town for dinner check out for seafood - Fishbone and Fins (at the wharf)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your recent review. Pleased you enjoyed our hotel and some of our best restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great City - looks a bit like Austria or Switzerland- and a very nice hotel (especially the cooked breakfast and the fresh tea-choices you have). They helped us in finding the right activity. Bathroom-products were really good!

PS: very slow home computer.

Giovanni & Sofie
Bruges, Belgium

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your nice review but we rather think you are meaning another property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This small, elegant, and intimate hotel has a luxurious, but unpretentious mediterranean feel. Gillian and Donald are gracious and discreet hosts. Donald makes an awesome breakfast. It is a respite from the action in Queenstown while location is convenient by foot to all the sights in town.

Room Tip: There are no elevators (unless I missed it) so preferable to have a room on main floor which is deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review sorry we don't have a lift but hardly needed in our small property.
We are pleased you chose us and happy your stay was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Isle St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.