We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting a little more to be honest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eichardt's Private Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eichardt's Private Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eichardt's Private Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Parade | PO Box 1340, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Omicron III
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I was expecting a little more to be honest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

OK... So how do you review a hotel whose prices are in the same league as the Hotel de Crillon or the better suites at the Waldorf Astoria ? You would expect the same levels of appointment and service in addition to iconic location. On this comparison Eichardt's does not measure up. We stayed in a 2 br apt rather than in the main hotel section, so perhaps we missed out on the best it can offer.... One positive is the bar. Hidden behind a modest door onto the waterfront is a snug room and a warm fire with a great drinks list and cordial staff. This has always been a must for me on every Queenstown visit and always made me want to stay at the hotel. But this is not what you are paying for as a guest. Our apt was spacious with a great view and location. So are several others in Queenstown, some at much lower prices. The furnishings were quite chic, and the occasional ingrained grime stain did seem to clash. The kitchen nook was too small to be functional, but perhaps there is no expectation that guests will want to make anything more than a cup of tea in a 2 br apartment. All of this might sound like nitpicking but you have a right to expect the world at these prices. By the way, don't book thru the hotel's reservation system, as they are unaware of the discount prices available through the various online booking services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay.
Sorry to hear that your experience came across as less than perfect - that's what we are striving for. You're correct, the hotel and apartments are two quite different products, however thats more about style and layout than quality of fittings etc. And you cant beat the location - step out of your apartment and right onto the beach!
The kitchen space in the apartments is more about convenience, as you say to make a cup of tea or make breakfast in the morning (perfect for families traveling together). We do have another fully self contained accommodation option - a 3 bedroom, 3 level villa property - The Residence, located just a few minutes walk from the lakefront, its a better fit if you want a fully fitted out kitchen. We can do private chef catering in the Residence as well for a true luxury experience.
With regards to discount rate offers online, there are a number of seasonal specials out there and we are quite happy to honor those directly just give us a call and we can book on the spot.

On the plus side I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience, it seems like you're a regular in the bar! Feel free to drop me an email next time you visit I will be happy to catch up with you.

Regards,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    7
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
66
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was a much anticipated stay, and Eichardts exceeded our high expectations. Stunning central, lakefront location, and a warm, friendly welcome when you arrive. The room was a delight - a warm fireplace, cosy sofas. Normally spending the evening in your hotel room is what you do when you've got nowhere else to go - but we didn't want to be anywhere else, it was so cosy and relaxing. Great comfy beds, excellent shower, and in the morning that view over the lake was unforgettable. We did the Shotover Jet in the morning and Maria on front desk organised the whole thing and just had it charged to our room. Thanks again Eichardts!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks Carlene lovely to hear from you - thank you for your comments.
The staff love to hear they are making a difference to peoples experiences, it is a strong focus of the team. We love booking activities around the region and hearing about the great times people are having in the region, you hit a good one with the Shotover jet, particularly after a rainy week when the rivers are running!

I'm glad you mentioned the kitchen too, the chefs work so hard to get things perfect, and baking our own breads is one of the innovations that has gained a lot of notice and makes a huge difference to the quality of a meal. We also cure our own bacon, pancetta and salmon, and forage a lot of ingredients locally around the lakes and hills - the ultimate in reducing carbon miles!

Catch you next time in Queenstown.
Cheers,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staff was outstanding! Very attentive to all our needs. The suites are fabulously appointed with a lovely sitting room and fireplace, nice large and comfy beds and very large bathroom with a fabulous soaking tub! A nice large platter of fruit was waiting for us and non-alcoholic beverages in the minibar are free!

The parlor is a beautiful space with lovely views and complimentary alcohol! Always a nice touch for vacationers! There is a fun and vibrant bar downstairs that serves tapas at night too. The rooms have incredible views of the lake and mountains. You can walk to all the main sites from here too in 10 minutes or less. There are lots of great restaurants and shopping all around and even a movie theater.

The only downside here is the old carpet on the stairs to the rooms. It needs replacing, but if you use the elevator you won't even know!

Room Tip: Get a suite! They all have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
A long range Thank You all the way to Arizona.
Thanks for your thoughts and comments Tess, I think you covered just about every area of the property and the team!
You'll be pleased to hear the carpets are being replaced, its a long term project trying to fit into quiet times in the hotel, but rest assured its on the way and we haven't missed that point.

As you mention the location is perfect to explore all of Queenstown's hidden gems and popular spots, and then you're back in your suite in no time warming in front of the fire. The Parlour is very popular in the colder weather too with the fire crackling and decanters of single malt scotch, brandy and bourbon becoming from the corner.

Hope to see you again next year Tess.

Best wishes,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Queenstown was the last stop on our trip around NZ and what a spectacular way to end our experience with a stay at Eichardt's! As someone who works in the travel industry, this hotel had been highly recommended by several people and even still, it completely exceeded my expectations. The staff are extremely helpful, polite and polished without being over the top. The food and wine are superb. The rooms are beautifully furnished, cosy and luxurious with personal touches found in every corner. If you're looking to treat yourself, I could not recommend Eichardt's more highly. It's worth every cent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Gemma, so glad you enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure to have you with us. Queenstown is often the final destination of a New Zealand holiday and we strive to leave guests with amazing memories of their final days in Aotearoa NZ.
I'll pass on your comments to the team it makes our work worthwhile.

Regards,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We bought a cheap room for $600 or so NZ$ on wotif.com to give them a second change as the location is good and the character is there, just a bit too worn. I am glad we got the cheap deal (comprable to a suite at the milbrook gold resort or Sofitel)
Is it trying too hard? Just not what you would expect from such a small intimate hotel and the staff members arent helpful and seem notchalont - almost that they are better than you as a paying guest. Perhaps staff training is needed to change this culture. I will try either Arrowtown Botique hotel or Queenstown Botique hotel for our Winter visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi again Sally,
Sorry the hotel doesn't fit your style, but feel free to keep coming back again and again we appreciate repeat business and love seeing familiar faces.
We will keep doing what we do as it seems the overwhelming majority of guests are loving it. Let me know next time you're coming in I'll be happy to sit down with you and have a whiskey in the Parlour and you can let me know your thoughts on what you'd like to see, we refilled all the decanters after your night in there so they are all ready for your next stay.

Cheers again,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The suite we had in this hotel was luxurious yet homely. Spacious and well laid out with a warm cosey decor. I loved the bathroom. It was very spacious and seperated from the bedroom by the dressing room/kitchenette so the person up early didn't have to wake the late sleeper. Most importantly, the shower was amazing. The thing I hate the most about so many so called luxury hotels is when they use low flow shower heads. I will reuse my towels for days to preserve water but I can't stand trying to shower under a trickle of water. It just means that I have to spend longer in it wether I want to or not. This shower was probably the best I have ever used.
The bed and bedding were luxurious and very inviting. However one day I needed a nap and my husband was on the bed watching T.V., I gathered a throw rug around me and settled on the couch in front of the fire. I soon fell asleep, hipnotized by the lovely fire and the view of the lake just across the road, from the windows beside the fire. I managed little time perusing the magazines provided. I have never taken so may photos of our accomodation before.
The fruit bowl was very welcome. Healthy snacks to take when heading off on a day of activities. It was lovely to have the very pretty and well stocked kitchenette for my regular cups of tea at odd hours and the biscotti provided was an irresistable treat to go with them.
The staff were very pleasant and personable yet very professional and helpful. They started to feel like friends after a couple of days.
The first night there we left a list of activities we hoped to do with the lovely young lady on the reception desk, then went and joined friends in the bar. She made all of the arrangements and came to check details with us as necessary. As a result, we managed to fit in all of the activities we had hoped to while the weather was good, enjoy our drinks with the friends we just happened upon and get to our dinner reservation on time. After that we felt we couldn't do better that to refer to these very helpful people for everything, and they never let us down.
The Bar come breakfast room was also a welcoming area with a great atmosphere and I thought the Bar/Wait staff uniform was outstanding.
We only wish we had more time there. There is so much to do in Queenstown and so many great restaurant to eat in. This hotel is in an amazing location where you can walk to every thing in about 2 minutes.
The time we spent in the Hotel itself made us feel very special and relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Wow, what can I say to that! lovely feedback thank you. Most gratifying is your comment on the professionalism and friendliness of the staff, that is what makes the difference from one hotel to the next and sets us apart from the pack. We work hard to provide the personal touch, great to hear we are setting the standard in this regard.

Sounds like we will see you again, I hope so!

Regards,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful spot on the wharf, perhaps a little too easy to miss but please look out for this restaurant - amazing staff, sublime service from Andrew in the Restaurant and Bar. Excellent wine & beer selection, total class, total perfection!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for your nod of approval, a hidden gem indeed! I appreciate your feedback on the staff and will make sure the team see them it's a real pleasure to get that kind of recognition.
Keep coming back and we'll keep doing what we do best!

Cheers again,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eichardt's Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eichardt's Private Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | PO Box 1340, Queenstown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eichardt's Private Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eichardt's (I-carts) Private Hotel provides fine accommodation in five luxurious Hotel Suites, four Lakefront Apartments, and the Eichardt's Residence, all located in the historic district on a premium lakefront position at the heart of Queenstown's cafe and restaurant precinct with some of the finest international shopping labels an easy stroll away. The Hotel reflects contemporary provincial elegance, its modern features in perfect harmony with the distinctive antiques and luxurious furnishings of this New Zealand icon. The Lakefront Apartments, just a few paces away from Eichardt's Private Hotel offer stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and nearby mountain ranges. The Residence, located on an elevated position, a few minutes walk from the hotel is set over three levels and offers three suites, each with large ensuite, movie theatre, full European kitchen, and three lakefacing balconies. Queenstown's premier lakefront address offers a welcoming and stylish environment for sampling mouth-watering creations and timeless cocktails. Eichardt's Bar oozes the warmth, comfort and style of this beautiful old hotel with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Eichardt's Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eichardts Private Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eichardt's Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.