We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Awesome staff!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Goldridge Resort to your Saves list
Goldridge Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   594 Frankton Road | PO Box 152, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Stay - Awesome staff!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were blown away by the wonderful staff, very competent, helpful and most importantly friendly. They certainly made us feel very welcome and are a credit to the resort, I hope they are paid accordingly. Facilities are great although on our last stay there was Sky in the rooms but not this time unfortunately. Other than that, totally all good. The breakfast deal is unbeatable, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
35
109
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the weekend, the staff were very welcoming and only to happy to help out. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic with a varied range of cereals and cooked. Highly recommend this resort to everybody wanting some time away in Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm sure when this 'resort' was built it was way ahead of its time but those days are behind it. Our room was a bit shabby and the decor needed a bit of work. You can hear your neighbours all around you getting up to all sorts too in te middle of the night. The best thing about the buffet breakfast was the great view out the window, I'm always a little weary of hotels that won't do you a fried or poached egg for breakfast. Not a bad location and to the credit of the hotel they paid for a cab into town for us when their courtesy bus was out of action. Prob a good place if your on a budget but there's so much competition closer to town that you should be able to find something a bit better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed two nights at this motel, paying $115 per night. We thought this was pretty good value after after paying $125 for a very pokey holiday camp unit several days previously. The room was spacious and comfortable with a superb view across the lake to the Remarkables. The motel is very close to the main road into Queenstown and we were initially worried about traffic noise, but we found with the sliding glass door closed it wasn't a problem at all. We had a superb meal in the restaurant - best sirloin steak I've ever tasted! And the young German waitress, Silke, couldn't have looked after us better. The motel is only a short drive out of the town centre and all in all, we thought it was excellent value. There is a spa there but sadly, we didn't have time to use it. We'd certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at Goldridge resort on a Saturday and Sunday night. The room was ok- nothing special but acceptable for what we paid ($200 for two nights- the full rate is $200 per night which it's definately not worth). Lovely views across the lake though. Cooked breakfast and a 30 minute private spa were included and this was awesome. Unfotunately the whole experience was ruined by constant noise from the refridgerator, which was old and I ended up having to unplug at about 3am when I still couldn't sleep. On top of this was the noise from the pipes, which were constant but worse whenever someone above us flushed the toilet or used the shower (sounded like a washing machine) and the footsteps coming from above. At 7.30am Monday morning, builders started work on a building on site which woke us up with a very loud machine banging repeatedly. So if you're planning a stay it might be a good idea to request a room on the second floor and make sure the building has been completed (that's if you can handle the pipes and fridge).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Goldridge Resort a couple of times on golfing trips to the Queenstown area and found it to be OK for a budget priced place. We got a very good price online to stay, and when checking in there were no problems with our reservations. The staff were friendly and helpful, not at all the creepy, unsafe feeling places you get for a budget price in other parts of the world.

Our room was comfortable and basic. The bed was fine and bathroom adequate. The room was nice and clean, although the furnishings are tired. The views are million dollar, looking right over the lake. The resort was set back enough from the main road not to be noisy.

Breakfast was included, and was the basic buffet, nothing exciting. For the price it was all as expected. Keep in mind you're paying a budget price in a high priced resort area so I feel we got what we paid for, served up with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place calls itself a resort, but frankly I think motel is more appropriate. My room was shabby, with badly scratched furniture, no doors on the wardrobe, very spartan bathroom, worn furnishings, warped window which wouldn't close properly, no mini-bar, stickiness on the kettle and mugs ... Dreadful. I thought it was well below the standard of everywhere else I've stayed in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldridge Resort

Address: 594 Frankton Road | PO Box 152, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Goldridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.