We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Goldridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Goldridge Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   594 Frankton Road | PO Box 152, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at the Goldridge Resort while on a family vacation to New Zealand.

Upside: We stayed in a ground floor room facing the lake, SUCH a great view. There were sliding glass doors so you could walk out on to the grounds and a nice little area to sit and have a coffee. There are a lot of bed options for this resort, which is helpful when you don't want to book numerous rooms to save money. We had a room with 3 single beds which was nice (and hard to come by). Parking was easy, there are small driveways to reach each area, which is helpful when you have luggage to haul. The gardens on the grounds were also very beautiful. Not in Queenstown central but just fine with a rental car. I recommend a rental car when in Queenstown to get out to the country and explore. I didn't make it to the bar but my family said it was nice.

Downside: There were a few minor issues with the bathroom, just seemed in need of some updating. We had breakfast on our last day and it seemed a bit expensive for what you got.

Overall a good place to stay in Queenstown. Consider distance to city center if you will not be renting a car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
88
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Goldridge Resort for 4 nights recently and enjoyed my stay there. The reception staff are all really friendly and helpful. There is easy parking, and the rooms, whilst a little dated, are comfortable and clean. Decent TV and comfortable bed with electric blankets to keep you warm. My room looked over the lake and had nice sliding doors out onto the grass. I had dinner a couple times in the restaurant and the food was nice and service pretty good.

Negatives? As with pretty much all Queenstown hotels the internet rates are pretty high with only a small download limit. My advice, go into the main town and use a web cafe for better rates. The hotel is also quite a bit out of town but as I had a car it did not bother me. It's close to transport though, to be fair.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

staff were really nice, but they need to learn to smile. I'm sure things aren't that bad... unless they just ate at the "bistro". We ate there 3 times and had a room service. the dinner was horrid. i had a soggy un-rendered pork belly and raw potato gratin. my partner had a chewy duck breast, double deep fried chats - that were cold and soggy - and a disgusting attempt at sour kraut... and our waitress could only bring one foul meal at a time whilst telling us that she doesnt normally work nights... which we assumed after she mixed up our meals. I don't blame her i couldn't determine what was what either... The other 2 times we ate in the bistro was for breakfast... the cooked breakfast was terrible so we opted for the continental breakfast which consisted of warm milk and empty juices... how can you mess up a continental breakfast buffet!!! We should have learned but we decided to order soup (french onion apparently) for room service, instead we got what tasted like a concoction of watered down beef booster, gravy powder, balsamic vinegar, brown sugar and dry herbs... enough said. This soup was an insult to modern cookery and anyone french!!!

I can't remember the name of the girl that looked after us in the morning but if i could i would definitely mention her. she always greeted us with a smile and a good morning. I'm sure she knows who she is.

Other than that our room was exactly what we expected. nothing more, nothing less. everything worked, it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

i would come back again but either sack your kitchen team or put a warning label on your menu...

Room Tip: The view is amazing in the lake view superior queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Goldridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We were disappointed to read your review and can only apologise. This is not the standard of service or quality of food we strive for. Obviously we were having a bad day, fortunately this is very rare!
It is however nice to see that your room was to a good standard and you enjoyed the amazing view. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to show you we can do so much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Staff was reasonable friendly. Our bathroom ceiling was leaking, so we had to change rooms. The breakfast was good, and so the views. The room was tidy, but the heater was too old and noisy (but has to have it on all night as it was quite cold). Location isn't that good, about 35 min walk to the city centre, but if you have a car, it's not a problem. the restaurant was a bit overpriced, even some very nice pubs in the city ask less for a main. The resort has a spa and a sauna, which were just great after a whole day of skiing. Overall a good stay, but next time would choose a hotel closer to the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Goldridge Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Pleased you loved our spectacular view. Sorry you had an ambitious guest above you that over filled the bath tub. We took note of your heater comment and have replaced it with a silent model! Walking to town is a great way to get fit but we do have a complimentary shuttle that will take you and pick you up. We trust we can look after you with some southern hospitality in the future when you next visit Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Nice Hotel in good location just 2-3 Kms from Queenstown. You can walk into town on the Frankton walk along the side of the lake. Very good accommodation, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Friendly enough staff, not outstanding. Rooms were nice and clean but the heater was a little loud, and essential during the night.
Lovely view across the river and a decent cooked breakfast.
They still had Marmite by the way which is good for NZers.
We had a rental car so was an ideal location just a few minutes drive from town but if you want to crawl home from the pub after a long night, probably not for you.
Overall a good stay and would go again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This accommodation did not quite live up to the photos or the glowing write-ups
which encouraged us to book with Goldridge. The staff did not give us the room
promised and confirmed and I did not find the receptionist very helpful.
I found it hard to understand why the room was not available as, while standing
at reception, one of the rooms promised was given to a woman who walked in off
the street, together with a free breakfast which we were not offered and should
have been given what we paid for it.
On the plus side, the restaurant was lovely, with very good food, reasonably
priced and excellent wait staff.
In view of the age of the Resort, the above disappointment and the distance from the town, would probably not book again.
the pullys
Waiheke Island

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goldridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldridge Resort

Address: 594 Frankton Road | PO Box 152, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldridge Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Goldridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.