We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is 32 on the list the others must be amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Goldridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Goldridge Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   594 Frankton Road | PO Box 152, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
londson
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If this is 32 on the list the others must be amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

what a great view from the superior lakeside room .worth every penny of 10dollarupgrade.the rest of the hotel does not let the view down ,great service from friendly staff Jamie to the fore. Restaurant also very good with a varied menu at a fair price. Just cannot belief that ther are 31 better hotels in Queenstown.

Room Tip: the superior lakeside room is amust
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
88
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent a whole week there. Have no regrets. I should mention the great service. Location is also amazing. I would recommend this one without any doubts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We spent a couple of nights in Queenstown during a 3-week New Zealand trip. Goldridge Resort is in a good location, though outside of the main town. Room was adequate. There are lots of places to stay in the area. I can't say this one really stands out in any way, but it's certainly not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 9 nights in August 2011 and were very happy with our room and the resort as a whole. We got a great bargain through Wotif for a free upgrade to a lakeview room (room 112). which had a great view accross the lake to the snow covered mountains. We were really impressed with the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean and the view was fantastic. We were particularly impressed one night, when after a big snow dump the resort's shuttle bus couldn't pick us up from town because they didn't have snow chains, so instead the resort paid for our taxi home. We used the spa almost everyday and it was great after a day skiing. The bedding was really comfortable, the shower and room heating were both nice and hot. All in all it was a very comfortable stay and excellent value for money and I recommend the Goldridge resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I spent 14 days on the South Island and I have to say, Goldridge Resort was a standout!

The staff there were the true definition of service with a smile. From Jaimie (AMAZINGLY helpful! Definitely worth her weight in gold!!) greeting us on arrival and being extremely helpful with any questions we had, to Allan in the restaurant (great service and VERY hard working) , to staff we saw as we were wandering aimlessly around. They were all GREAT and very friendly!
The views of The Remarkables from our room were breathtaking and the ambience in the restaurant, coupled with the views made it feel like we could stay there forever.
The price was incredibly cheap and they're located just out of town so you can escape the hustle and bustle to seriously relax at Goldridge!
The only negative comment I have is the bedding, it was far too soft. To the point where my wife and I had to sleep in separate beds due to the mattress almost folding in the middle. I believe that this is being dealt with at the moment and knowing how proactive they are there, I wouldn't doubt it for one second!!
All in all, incredible!! MAJOR pats on the back to Allan, but most importantly, Jaimie! You made my wife and I very happy with how friendly and helpful you are and honestly, coming from Australia, there doesn't seem to be staff anywhere who will happily go out of their way to help as much as you did. Goldridge, hang on to these two!!!

Ben and Kimberley Wickham

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in Queenstown last January, it’s a very strange but fascinating touristic city where you can do each type of extreme sport or activity you want.
Be careful: it is very windy!

The Goldrige resort is very far from the city center so you need to have your own car, the hotel has a car parking so it’s not a problem and during the day if you stay in Querenstown there are some car parking where you can leave the car all day only for 10 dollars (and it’s not expensive).

The hotel is an American style Motel with a reception separated from the buildings where there are the rooms.
Personnel is very kind and available for all the information you need.
Near the reception there is also the restaurant.

The main problem with the room that was at the first floor was that there is no lifter because all the room have the entrance from the balcony so the transportation of the luggage was quite difficult.
However the room was big, quite and very clean.
Also the bathroom was quite big and clean.

Suggestions: go for a walk in the Queenstown gardens, sit down, on a Sunday morning, at the bowling club and see the people playing: it’s very relaxing. Try the Hokey Pokey ice cream at Patagonia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We found this an excellent location and venue to stay. A group booking was no trouble to them, we were accommodated in nearby rooms making it easy to socialise with our friends and family. These rooms were clean, functional and generous in size with a wonderful view of the lake. Receptionists were "there to help" and did so in a truly professional and friendly manner. The function room we found ideal for the 50 or so guests attending. Organising the event was made easy with the excellent help and advice from the Assistant Manager.
The dining room treated our guests well and the staff very accommodating with our requirements.
At the end of our stay our account was itemised for easy reconciliation, making the check out process trouble-free.
We did find that if wishing to use the city transport it would pay to check at reception the hours of operation.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms with ranch sliders to the small balcony are truly worth the extra $. The best room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goldridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldridge Resort

Address: 594 Frankton Road | PO Box 152, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldridge Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Goldridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.