We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location But Needs Updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree The Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree The Waterfront to your Saves list
BreakFree The Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   109 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Location But Needs Updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As other reviewers have stated the apartments need a good makeover. The location is excellent
but the apartment we stayed in looked very tired. No real problems with anything but the bed was a bit on the soft side for us and the bed linen seemed to be of the cheapest quality. Dark colours gave the apartment a very gloomy appearance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed several times at this place because it is central, within 5 mins walking distance to centre of town, has fully equipped kitchens and is very spacious.

There is free parking which is secure and a storage locker if you need to store bags etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the side rooms, as they have more windows and allows fresh air into the bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights this time around. Had stayed 5 nights previously (two years ago) and back then it was pretty swept up and well worth the price. Now it is looking very tired, and this makes it VERY expensive for what you get. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, with two bathrooms, kitchen/lounge. We had to move apartment after the first night as the fire sprinkler in the en suite bathroom was leaking. As such we saw two apartments and the comments are equally true of each. The decor is chipped and very tatty throughout. In the second apartment the shower head in the main bathroom was broken off and the shower slide in the en suite detached from the wall, these were fixed within 24 hours once we mentioned it but should never have been left like that. One flush button was covered with tape, these seems a permanent "fix". The beds are not very comfortable and the bed linens not high quality. The rooms are only made up every 4 days. The location is very good indeed, but the apartments need a thorough rejuvenation to justify the high price. One attraction is the secure parking, but this is in fact not secure at all as the entry door is always left latched open and the reception is rarely staffed, anyone could walk in and smash and grab what they wanted from the guests' cars, safely out of view of the street. Very disappointed this time round, after a good stay last time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had a reservation at this accommodation in April of 2013. After making multiple changes to the reservation and making a general pest of myself, I had to cancel the reservation due to a serious illness in the family of one of our party. Throughout the reservation assistant was helpful, friendly and most efficient and did not charge us a booking cancelation even they were well within their rights to do so. I just wanted to thank them for all there work and for helping us at every turn. Highly recommend. Brian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is my first time to Queenstown and my friend decided to book a stay at this apartment as he stayed here before and he actually used to own 3 units in this development. So I went along with his suggestion as his choices are usually very good.
Well, but sad to say, this apartment is really not up to par. And my friend was disappointed as well.
Firstly, the good points. Location is great. The lake is right in front of the apartment so the view was good. And town is just like a 3 minute walk away. But that's about it.
The numerous bad points:
- old apartment + lousy maintenance = in need of upgrading/refreshing
- it was dirty: carpets had stains on them, cobwebs were on the balcony and window grilles, sofa looked sad and saggy, bed was too soft, bed linen looked very questionable, hangers were of assorted variety (i hate it), kitchen utensils looked very dirty and used and the list goes on
- parking can be difficult as there are only 5 or 6 lots available
- staff at reception isn't the most helpful eg, absolutely cannot help to drop the postcards in the letterbox for you even though you got the stamps as posting letters etc are not in their job scope
- house keeping only comes in once every 4th day so you have to make your bed etc etc etc even when you are on holiday
- wifi was very patchy and I was not able to connect at times
- toiletries were insufficient and lousy
- front doors slam all the time and if you sleep in the bedroom by the corridor, you can hear doors slamming and people talking
- Big balcony in the penthouse suite but better put your clothes on even when in your room as the neighbors next door can look into your room

The penthouse suite and the apartment on the top floor shares the same front door entrance but you got to unlock another door to get into the apartment. And as for the penthouse suite, you got to climb a flight of stairs to your suite and open the door to get inside.
It's kinda funny and especially so if two different set of guests staying in the same apartment unit.
Anyway, I did not sleep well for the 5 nights I was there. I really did not like the place. It was a mistake because we didn't cook and it was just a small party of 3. We had the apartment downstairs and the penthouse suite upstairs. Utter waste of money. And we had an extra 2 beds.
Now that I have been to Queenstown, the next time I will be staying at the hotel next door (Crowne Plaza). Location is just as good. And I am pretty sure it will be much much much cleaner.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite for one reason or another feels cleaner than the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Best location, two minutes walk to town. Grea shower, good bed, free Wifi, awesome view of lake from room, nice terrace, comfy and clean. All in all good value and above average in every aspect. Bbq available on all balconies. Free parking for all guests. Room a good size in penthouse suite. Service in reception was a bit hit and miss due to staff illness and refurbishment of some areas but did not affect the quality of our stay at all. Beds could be bigger but adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With 2 adults and 3 children accommodation options are often limited. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment (2 interconnecting apartments, one upstairs on downstairs). Upstairs had a balcony and bbq. Was an awesome location on the lake and with easy access to everything. Limited off street parking for hire car. We did a day trip to dunedin from here but was possibly a little too much. Long drive in the car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Waterfront

Address: 109 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. BeakFree The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, BreakFree The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BreakFree The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Waterfront Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.