We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree The Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree The Point to your Saves list
BreakFree The Point
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location, great facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent three nights here as a base for Queenstown. The apartment itself, over two floors was spacious, clean, quiet and with fabulous views of the lake and the Remarkables mountains and the night sky, from the balcony on a clear crisp evening. At the bottom of the hill that the hotel is on, is a walk around the lake, either into Queenstown or back out toward the Airport and Frankton. It is a bit of a walk, about half an hour but pleasant and not difficult. The distance from Queenstown centre is one of the few downsides, particularly if you want to visit bars or restaurants without the risks of driving afterwards .... but really a minor problem.

The apartments are not serviced during your stay unless you are there for a week or more (from memory) and some materials are only provided in very small numbers. We were there for three nights but the coffee was only sufficient for two mornings coffee - the extra cost of an extra day would have been nothing and it is for these little detail points that I have not given this hotel a max score. Generally good value just a couple of small tweaks would have made it perfect; that said would probably still stay there again but would know what to expect. No free WiFi - a bit of a disappointment but common problem throughout NZ (a bit out of step with the rest of the world in this respect) - paid WiFi available but .... ouch what a price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Kia Ora Kiwi818
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The location is a great one, located on the Frankton track and with stunning lake and mountain views.
We are now looking at changing the wifi at the end if this year. This is thanks to regular feedback from guests.
We we love to welcome you back at any time to Breakfree the Point.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This has to be the quietest place we have ever stayed, maybe we got lucky that not many other apartments were occupied but it was really peaceful. No traffic noise or people banging doors no elevators its perfect. Yes it is a little out of town, took us 22 minutes to walk in along the lake front was a fantastic view all the way. The driveway is steep but easy to manage as there are turning bays. If you have a car its a quick drive to town centre. We stayed in Apartment 4 which was a 3 bedroom although we were only to use two (as we booked a 2 bed unit). The apartment was really spacious, well equipped only thing missing was pepper & salt so please take or buy your own if your cooking. The rooms had comfy beds and some had electric blankets. The heater in the living area took a long time to heat up but once it did the room was perfect. We enjoyed watching the boats going past & the lights in the evening. Would recommend staying here, especially if you can get a lake view.

Room Tip: Request a lake view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Kia Ora nzsmith
Thank you for your recent comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The views are awesome as you have stated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The driveway is steep but very manageable
We we love to see you back at Breakfree the Point.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

WOW, was our first impression, we had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom 2 storey apartment, the view was magnificent you could sit there all day and look out over the lake. Apartment very spacious, well equipped with everything you needed. Very clean & comfortable. Sorry we were not staying longer. Only negative would be steep driveway, but didnt worry us. Not far from town you could walk along lake take you about 20mins, or 1km by car. If we ever come back to Queenstown would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Robyn O

Thank you for your kind comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The views are magnificent as you have stated. I am pleased that your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one.
We we love to welcome you back any time.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the hotel manager Craig is the best man in the world in this business. Very warm & hospitable people, all facilities provided as listed and yes you can expect clear and honest advise on attractions & things to do. The views from the room are breathtaking. In short just book this hotel if you're staying in Queenstown, you won't go wrong.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Taher D
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
I am pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We are very proud of the complex and also offer the best advice to guests as you have stated.
Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were so stoked when we walked into our room with the most glorious views, I sat there for 3 straight nights watching the twilight! We did not eat out once as we decided that there would be nowhere that could offer the same views as we already had. The furniture was very comfortable and staff very pleasant. The only negative would be the steep driveway and it is about 1km into town, didnt worry us though!

Room Tip: Unit 15 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora SiandraW

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
I am pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.
The views are amazing as you have stated. There is nothing better i feel to sit on the balcony and soak up the beautiful scenery of the lake and mountains.

I hope that we see you back at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed 2 storey unit for 4 nights in February, the views are magnificent due to being elevated first line to the Lake. The steeply sloping drive in is a little daunting and I was glad I had an Automatic. Apartment was fully equipped and oversized with more than twice the space of a typical unit in NZ. I would rate the complex as excellent but it is let down by not servicing the rooms during the stay. For the sake of a bi-daily towel change and replenish on tea/coffee etc, the complex will continue to founder in Trip advisor doldrums when it should be top ten.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora BO55YMR
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable one.

The views from the apartments are quite magnificent as you have stated.
It is true that we only service when staying 8 nights or more. Our servicing conditions are below. This is standard throughout all Breakfree resorts in New Zealand and Australia . By doing this we can offer spacious comfortable apartments with value.
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.
Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a family of 7 staying in a 2 story apartment looking over the lake. Beautiful view and only a stones throw from the waters edge. Initial thoughts when you walk through the door, WOW, but if I was to be picky, the furniture didn't compliment the house style (modern looking house, older style fixtures and fittings etc) The only criticism of the stay was the steep drive from the main road, but otherwise loved it. Thanks

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Gaz N

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.

The views from the apartments are quite Beautiful as you have stated.

We have undergone a refurbishment of the outside of the apartment 3 years ago. The interiors are currently being undertaken.

I hope that you return soon for a stay at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 2,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.