We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome is the word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree The Point

Save Saved
You added BreakFree The Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BreakFree The Point
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   239 Frankton Road | PO Box 715, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome is the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the hotel manager Craig is the best man in the world in this business. Very warm & hospitable people, all facilities provided as listed and yes you can expect clear and honest advise on attractions & things to do. The views from the room are breathtaking. In short just book this hotel if you're staying in Queenstown, you won't go wrong.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Taher D
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
I am pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We are very proud of the complex and also offer the best advice to guests as you have stated.
Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were so stoked when we walked into our room with the most glorious views, I sat there for 3 straight nights watching the twilight! We did not eat out once as we decided that there would be nowhere that could offer the same views as we already had. The furniture was very comfortable and staff very pleasant. The only negative would be the steep driveway and it is about 1km into town, didnt worry us though!

Room Tip: Unit 15 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora SiandraW

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
I am pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.
The views are amazing as you have stated. There is nothing better i feel to sit on the balcony and soak up the beautiful scenery of the lake and mountains.

I hope that we see you back at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed 2 storey unit for 4 nights in February, the views are magnificent due to being elevated first line to the Lake. The steeply sloping drive in is a little daunting and I was glad I had an Automatic. Apartment was fully equipped and oversized with more than twice the space of a typical unit in NZ. I would rate the complex as excellent but it is let down by not servicing the rooms during the stay. For the sake of a bi-daily towel change and replenish on tea/coffee etc, the complex will continue to founder in Trip advisor doldrums when it should be top ten.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora BO55YMR
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable one.

The views from the apartments are quite magnificent as you have stated.
It is true that we only service when staying 8 nights or more. Our servicing conditions are below. This is standard throughout all Breakfree resorts in New Zealand and Australia . By doing this we can offer spacious comfortable apartments with value.
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.
Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a family of 7 staying in a 2 story apartment looking over the lake. Beautiful view and only a stones throw from the waters edge. Initial thoughts when you walk through the door, WOW, but if I was to be picky, the furniture didn't compliment the house style (modern looking house, older style fixtures and fittings etc) The only criticism of the stay was the steep drive from the main road, but otherwise loved it. Thanks

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Gaz N

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.

The views from the apartments are quite Beautiful as you have stated.

We have undergone a refurbishment of the outside of the apartment 3 years ago. The interiors are currently being undertaken.

I hope that you return soon for a stay at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this resort, which is very nice. We booked through ANZCRO and received a voucher which included partial service each day, including towel changes. We gave the voucher to Craig (Manager) on arrival and he accepted this voucher and showed us to our room. We stayed for three nights. On the second night we had been out touring all day and had a full night booked. We come back to have a shower and our towels were not changed. When I asked Craig why the service had not been done he referred us to their policy. I referred him to the voucher he accepted. he argued the point and told us to take it up with ANZCRO. I felt his attitude was inappropriate and left us with a tainted opinion of Queenstown and certainly Breakfree. Shame, Shame, Shame. Ask for the small print.

Room Tip: Make sure you read the fine print for this resort, even if you book through an agent and they give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora RayWatson

Thank you for your comments. You have been responded to directly in regards to your stay.

I am happy to remind you of our servicing policy as follows:
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.

This information regarding servicing is also printed clearly on the ANZCRO brochure.

The information regarding servicing is not printed on Anzcro vouchers. I understand that it was on your itinerary that was issued by your travel agent and was incorrect.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alstonville, nsw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very happy with this accomm. 2 storey, Very spacious, clean, wonderful views. Everything you could want to keep the family happy. Washing machine, dishwasher, 3 bed, 2 bathrooms. Just out of town, but that is nice to to away from everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Shelly W
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable and comfortable one.

It is truly rewarding to us when you state that Breakfree the Point was the best accommodation you stayed in within New Zealand.

We would love to see you back soon.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Once of the best places we stayed while in NZ. Very large 2 story, 2 bedroom apartment, with washing and drying facilities. Modern and clean. Undercover parking. Great views of the lake. Its a 5min drive into town, and a good 25-30min walk into town though, so be prepared to factor this in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Trents Travels

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.

The rooms are modern and clean as you have stated. It is something that we pride ourselves on.

We would love to see you return soon to Breakfree the Point.

Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown
Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 715, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 76 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups.Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu.The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters.Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.