We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views of the lake and mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree The Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree The Point to your Saves list
BreakFree The Point
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best views of the lake and mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were so stoked when we walked into our room with the most glorious views, I sat there for 3 straight nights watching the twilight! We did not eat out once as we decided that there would be nowhere that could offer the same views as we already had. The furniture was very comfortable and staff very pleasant. The only negative would be the steep driveway and it is about 1km into town, didnt worry us though!

Room Tip: Unit 15 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora SiandraW

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
I am pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.
The views are amazing as you have stated. There is nothing better i feel to sit on the balcony and soak up the beautiful scenery of the lake and mountains.

I hope that we see you back at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed 2 storey unit for 4 nights in February, the views are magnificent due to being elevated first line to the Lake. The steeply sloping drive in is a little daunting and I was glad I had an Automatic. Apartment was fully equipped and oversized with more than twice the space of a typical unit in NZ. I would rate the complex as excellent but it is let down by not servicing the rooms during the stay. For the sake of a bi-daily towel change and replenish on tea/coffee etc, the complex will continue to founder in Trip advisor doldrums when it should be top ten.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora BO55YMR
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable one.

The views from the apartments are quite magnificent as you have stated.
It is true that we only service when staying 8 nights or more. Our servicing conditions are below. This is standard throughout all Breakfree resorts in New Zealand and Australia . By doing this we can offer spacious comfortable apartments with value.
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.
Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a family of 7 staying in a 2 story apartment looking over the lake. Beautiful view and only a stones throw from the waters edge. Initial thoughts when you walk through the door, WOW, but if I was to be picky, the furniture didn't compliment the house style (modern looking house, older style fixtures and fittings etc) The only criticism of the stay was the steep drive from the main road, but otherwise loved it. Thanks

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Gaz N

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.

The views from the apartments are quite Beautiful as you have stated.

We have undergone a refurbishment of the outside of the apartment 3 years ago. The interiors are currently being undertaken.

I hope that you return soon for a stay at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this resort, which is very nice. We booked through ANZCRO and received a voucher which included partial service each day, including towel changes. We gave the voucher to Craig (Manager) on arrival and he accepted this voucher and showed us to our room. We stayed for three nights. On the second night we had been out touring all day and had a full night booked. We come back to have a shower and our towels were not changed. When I asked Craig why the service had not been done he referred us to their policy. I referred him to the voucher he accepted. he argued the point and told us to take it up with ANZCRO. I felt his attitude was inappropriate and left us with a tainted opinion of Queenstown and certainly Breakfree. Shame, Shame, Shame. Ask for the small print.

Room Tip: Make sure you read the fine print for this resort, even if you book through an agent and they give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora RayWatson

Thank you for your comments. You have been responded to directly in regards to your stay.

I am happy to remind you of our servicing policy as follows:
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.

This information regarding servicing is also printed clearly on the ANZCRO brochure.

The information regarding servicing is not printed on Anzcro vouchers. I understand that it was on your itinerary that was issued by your travel agent and was incorrect.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alstonville, nsw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very happy with this accomm. 2 storey, Very spacious, clean, wonderful views. Everything you could want to keep the family happy. Washing machine, dishwasher, 3 bed, 2 bathrooms. Just out of town, but that is nice to to away from everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Shelly W
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable and comfortable one.

It is truly rewarding to us when you state that Breakfree the Point was the best accommodation you stayed in within New Zealand.

We would love to see you back soon.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Once of the best places we stayed while in NZ. Very large 2 story, 2 bedroom apartment, with washing and drying facilities. Modern and clean. Undercover parking. Great views of the lake. Its a 5min drive into town, and a good 25-30min walk into town though, so be prepared to factor this in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Trents Travels

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.

The rooms are modern and clean as you have stated. It is something that we pride ourselves on.

We would love to see you return soon to Breakfree the Point.

Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great place, quiet. Wonderful lake view. Very spacious two level apartments with balconies overlooking lake and hills/mountains. Great for families having in-suite and separate bathroom. Tennis court. Recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora DmiV

Thank you for taking the time to post you comments about your recent stay at Breakfree the Point.

The apartments are indeed ideal for families and offer the best views in Queenstown.

We would love to have you return soon.

Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.