We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting attitude of Manager” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree The Point

Save Saved
You added BreakFree The Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   239 Frankton Road | PO Box 715, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Disgusting attitude of Manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this resort, which is very nice. We booked through ANZCRO and received a voucher which included partial service each day, including towel changes. We gave the voucher to Craig (Manager) on arrival and he accepted this voucher and showed us to our room. We stayed for three nights. On the second night we had been out touring all day and had a full night booked. We come back to have a shower and our towels were not changed. When I asked Craig why the service had not been done he referred us to their policy. I referred him to the voucher he accepted. he argued the point and told us to take it up with ANZCRO. I felt his attitude was inappropriate and left us with a tainted opinion of Queenstown and certainly Breakfree. Shame, Shame, Shame. Ask for the small print.

Room Tip: Make sure you read the fine print for this resort, even if you book through an agent and they give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora RayWatson

Thank you for your comments. You have been responded to directly in regards to your stay.

I am happy to remind you of our servicing policy as follows:
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.

This information regarding servicing is also printed clearly on the ANZCRO brochure.

The information regarding servicing is not printed on Anzcro vouchers. I understand that it was on your itinerary that was issued by your travel agent and was incorrect.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
alstonville, nsw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very happy with this accomm. 2 storey, Very spacious, clean, wonderful views. Everything you could want to keep the family happy. Washing machine, dishwasher, 3 bed, 2 bathrooms. Just out of town, but that is nice to to away from everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Shelly W
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable and comfortable one.

It is truly rewarding to us when you state that Breakfree the Point was the best accommodation you stayed in within New Zealand.

We would love to see you back soon.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Once of the best places we stayed while in NZ. Very large 2 story, 2 bedroom apartment, with washing and drying facilities. Modern and clean. Undercover parking. Great views of the lake. Its a 5min drive into town, and a good 25-30min walk into town though, so be prepared to factor this in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora Trents Travels

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.

The rooms are modern and clean as you have stated. It is something that we pride ourselves on.

We would love to see you return soon to Breakfree the Point.

Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great place, quiet. Wonderful lake view. Very spacious two level apartments with balconies overlooking lake and hills/mountains. Great for families having in-suite and separate bathroom. Tennis court. Recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kia Ora DmiV

Thank you for taking the time to post you comments about your recent stay at Breakfree the Point.

The apartments are indeed ideal for families and offer the best views in Queenstown.

We would love to have you return soon.

Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in 2br apartment for 2 nights.
+ beautiful house planning with sunny livingroom and kitchen
+ had everything in kitchen to cook to ourselves
+ decant size bedrooms with shared toilet. Quite modern as well
+ had a heater in our room, nights were quite chilli
Walk to city approx 30 min, inc stops for taking pictures.
Helpfull staff and got all activities from the wall what we came for.
Pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Apartments on top level are much sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Kia Ora DmiV

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable one.

The views from the apartments are quite wonderful as you have stated.

It is indead a ideal getaway.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here with friends for 6 nights last week. The views and location were great. The size of the communal area and rooms were pretty good- there were 6 of us staying. There were plenty of heaters and electric blankets. Reasonable price. HOWEVER...we had only 6 very small bath towels to share between 6 of us for the whole week. The rooms were never serviced and the towels were never changed. We had to buy more toilet paper ourselves! Beautiful views, good value, but totally ignored the whole time we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that you were satisfied in general with the accommodation, with the exception of servicing of the apartments.
I have posted below our servicing policy, which is available on our website terms and conditions.
It is unfortunate that you were not aware af this at your time of booking

"If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

These are extremely spacious apartments, well laid out and very comfortable indeed. Very clean and well furnished. We stayed mid winter and the apartments are very well heated, plus electric blankets on all beds (which were very comfortable). The views are probably the best I've ever experienced in accommodation. The management are friendly and helpful. Much is made of the steep driveway but it's perfectly negotiable by any competent driver. The accommodation seems to be very family orientated and we had no problems with noise from other units. We would definitely stay here again. One will never tire of watching the sun rise & set over the mountains. Savour the moment.

Room Tip: None, all seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing your comments. I have passed your comments on to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree the Point when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 715, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 75 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups.Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu.The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters.Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.