We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diary queens town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Isle and Brecon St, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
“Diary queens town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very nice place with a personal touch and great eye for detail
Paul and Matt succeed in making you feel at home.
The hotel is very cosy and is kept in immaculate condition.
Breakfast is fresh and quality of food and menu choices are excellent
Highly recommend a visit there
Location is super and advise for restaurants is very good too
Very good service for trips etc

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
398
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Matt and Paul are wonderful hosts of this most remarkable small hotel in Queenstown, NZ.
In addition to it's excellent location, with many great restaurants and the gondola nearby these two gentlemen provide their guests with first class service and meticulous attention to detail. From the very comfortable room, to the delicious breakfasts, to all the helpful assistance in booking excursions, these two really know how to pamper their guests. The view from our window was so memorable! We would highly recommend The Dairy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Dairy for five nights in August. And we absolutely loved it. Matt and Paul didn't miss a single detail. We especially enjoyed the fresh made breakfast. The hotel is in a great location. It is a 2 minute walk to the mountain gondola and approximately 5 minute walk to "The Station" where you can pick-up many of you tours. Very easy walking to restaurants and the waterfront.

Matt and Paul arranged every site seeing trip that we wanted to do. That included zip lining, wine country tour, horse back riding and jet boating. (Make sure you take the Skippers Canyon jet boat if you want to see/hear more history of Queenstown.) They even rearranged our tours when rain was forecasted on one of the days. Matt always had a great recommendations for dinner and always offered to make us a reservation. I can't wait for our next trip to Queenstown. We will definitely be staying at the Dairy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks traveling through New Zealand, and our last stay was at The Dairy. From the moment Paul and Matt personally welcomed us, we knew it was going to be the nicest stay on our trip. The location was PERFECT; a close walk to everything in Queenstown, but a world apart in the residential area. We loved the history of the place, yet everything was up to date and top notch. Paul gave us a wonderful orientation to everything in the city, and the resources about each activity to make the most of our time there. The fresh cooked, full breakfasts were delicious, as were the homemade scones at tea time. On our last day, I went out for the adventure sports (jet boat, bungy jump and zip lining), while my husband reveled in being able to spend a quiet day reading in front of the cozy fireplace. Truly something for everyone. When I came back from my adventures after tea time was over, Paul was kind enough to prepare a plate of scones and goodies so that I could enjoy them. Matt and Paul are the perfect hosts, and make all their guests feel perfectly at home. It was the most relaxing stay on our trip, and we wished we could have stayed much longer. We highly recommend this wonderful piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of The Remarkable mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I thought this hotel was exceptional. The room we stayed in had a magnificent view of snow capped mountains and was extremely well appointed & spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious. It was the service; however, which impressed us most of all. Any question or request was attended to immediately & proved extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Paul and Matt were magnificent. Stunning views. Excellent food. superb location. We had off street parking the whole time. Try a Fergburger just down the street. See a real KIWI just up the street. Hire the Pacific Jemm at the Wharf--- what a trip------ Take a chopper to the snow and snow walk with Peter. The open fire and lounge were waiting on our return...

Room Tip: room 7 great cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the best hostel I have ever stayed at. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights this luxary B&B. Excellent service, delicious breakfast and high tea. Walking distance from the town centre and the lake. We enjoyed honesty bar on the leather sofas. We highly reccomend to stay here with your wife or girlfriend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel

Address: Cnr Isle and Brecon St, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#1 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Luxury hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. Not just a Bed and Breakfast, the property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.