We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and even better establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Isle and Brecon St, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Muswellbrook, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location and even better establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had walked past The Dairy a couple of years ago and thought it looked a nice place. Prior to booking this trip we looked up the reviews on Tripadvisor and the decision was made to stay.

We were very impressed with the personal service both Paul and Matt gave. They are extremely accommodating and flexible. The genuinely take the time to talk with their guests and assist wherever possible.

The breakfast and afternoon teas are excellent, great flavours and nice portion sizing. The hotel is pristine and you are encouraged to relax as you would at home. All in all, excellent value and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
399
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is first class in every way. It is very homely, clean and the food is to die for. Hosts are very professional and attentive to the guests needs. Very good location to everything in Queenstown. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with view of the Mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

You read the plethora of 5 star reviews and think, surely it can't be that good can it? Well, it's my happy duty to report that yes it is. Nestled conveniently at the foot of the Gondola lift, it's one of those rare guest houses that transcends the hotel experience and genuinely offers an intimate, homely experience - if only my home was this good. Tea and cake in front of a roaring fire is not to be missed, nor is breakfast, or a dip in the hot tub. The best tribute I can pay is to say that if I was unable to leave the guesthouse to look around, I wouldn't have been that bothered. Keep up the good work gents and let me know how our application to live with you permanently gets on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just loved our three day stay at The Dairy. Paul and Matt were fantastic hosts - their attention to detail was second to none. This place is so unique - cozy, warm and inviting! Very comfortable - almost like a home away from home.
Breakfasts, afternoon teas, selection of wines and spirits were spot on! Bedding and linen of excellent standard. Wonderful views of the mountains and township.
We seriously could not find a single thing to explain or feel disappointed about.
We will return!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The moment we arrived for my 40th we we're thoroughly spoilt. Both Paul and Matt pampered to our every needs - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself was fabulously located, exceptionally clean and had a lovely chic feel. Rooms were well appointed with all that needed. Loved the Molten Brown products! And the basket of washing sent out and retruned washed & folded by early evening! Both Paul & Matt delighted us with their attention to detail, service & humour. They cooked amzing breakfasts, booked wineries & a massage. Loved it and could think of no better place to stay in Queenstown! Well done chaps - it was just gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was super. Very hospitable hosts Paul and Matt. The attention to detail was very noticeable. Great outdoor hot tub, and the breakfasts and afternoon teas were brilliant. Hosts helped us with planning and booking our activities. Our laundry also came back within hours and neatly folded! Nice touches like complimentary Morton brown toiletries and an honesty bar.

Could not fault the hotel, the personal attention and approachableness of the hosts, the location and Queenstown itself

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The attention to details is exceptional. Love the food (omelette was to die for) and the afternoon tea is worth saving yourself for. One of the best places i've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel

Address: Cnr Isle and Brecon St, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#1 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Luxury hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. Not just a Bed and Breakfast, the property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.