We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not very special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments to your Saves list
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 Hallenstein St | Central Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for SPECIALS!
Ranked #2 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not very special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Rooms were NZ $250+ and were not very special. The rooms on the website looked larger and more unique. Instead, the room was like any average hotel room with nothing special about them. Comfortable enough but for the same money could get something better in Q-town. The hosts were friendly enough but were not great help with advice on outdoor activities in the area. Location was good if you want to be near the center of town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was blah
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    13
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
88
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. It was located convenient to downtown, but a steep uphill walk to return. The breakfasts were excellent and served in a room with a wonderful views. The staff made many great suggestions on places to eat and activities to do.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — uphill walk
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

I don't normally write reviews, but the previous review of this inn prompted me to say something...I found the Queenstown House to be absolutely wonderful. We were there for 5 nights in Mar, the view was wonderful, overlooking Queenstown and Lake Wakatipu and a short walk to the town center. The wine & cheese gatherings in the evenings are a wonderful way to get ideas of things to do and see. The breakfast is fantastic, not many Inn's offer menu service. And then our hosts...I can't say enough about Bernie, Louise, Emily, David, everyone was just wonderful, they couldn't do enough for us, they made most of our arrangements, spent lots of time giving suggestions, when I left I felt like I was leaving good friends. The day I returned home I started making arrangements for my return trip next spring. I loved Queenstown House!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

We were very disappointed by the size of the room. It was very small and hot! We had to leave all the windows and doors open and it was still like a sauna! The shower room was in need of a complete overhaul, it was small and dated. Otherwise everybody was very friendly and helpful. the evening 'drinks do' was a good way of meeting people and sharing experiences and the breakfasts were excellent. The location although a short distance from the town was up a very steep hill. We stayed in the main house and cant comment on the rooms in the annexe. As an overall experience we enjoyed Queenstown but would not return to The Queenstown House.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Address: 69 Hallenstein St | Central Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200M to the centre of Queenstown. The elevated position offers outstanding views of l;ake Wakatipu and mountains.This well established boutique B&B is just 200m to the inner hub of downtown Queenstown . A discreet distance from the action offering stylish service with a relaxed atmosphere, New Zealand style. A range of accommodation from Luxury Suites/Apartments with private balconies and open fires to charming Bed and Breakfast rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Renowned for its outstanding New Zealand hospitality, guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the lakeview dining room each morning. In the evening a hosted pre-dinner get together to sample local wines and hors d'oeuvres, exchange experiences and organize dinner reservations.Knowledgable hosts are happy to help with excursion planning. Complimentary WIFI in all rooms,Off street parking & luggage storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.