We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pinewood Lodge to your Saves list
Pinewood Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   48 Hamilton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is budget accomodation- don't get me wrong- but the rooms were clean, there was plenty of hot water, and the staff were always very helpful with organising activities, giving directions, and even let me in at 12.00am when I had locked my keys in (all with a smile and no extra charge). Everyone was fantastic and very friendly. This is the second time we have stayed there and it won't be the last.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    101
    61
    36
    22
See reviews for
49
69
44
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed in Pinewood for one week in a four person dorm. I think for the price you get quite a good place to stay for a backpacker. I like the atmosphere, it was like a campus with the dorms in different buildings and not too far from the center of Queenstown.
The room was warm and good beds to sleep, but it was noisy and the common kitchen was a big mess and dirty after a day and housekeeping didnt came that often to clean.
What I missed in the rooms was a little lamp to read your book at night so you don't disturb your roomies. Another thing was that the internet didn't work properly and I asked for help at the reception, but they weren't very keen on helping me out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in a double private room for two nights sharing a kitchen, bathroom and living room. The Lodge is great location-wise, only a few minutes walk into the town centre. The room was pretty standard for budget accommodation which we didn't mind, however the heater in the living room didn't work as well as it could have. The most disappointing was the young man from Manchester (didn't catch his name) on reception, who had promised a refund for the money paid for 24 hour Wi-Fi internet when it was reported to be inaccessible in the room, only to be rudely refused when we returned the following day. We had checked out before the reception opened at 7 am to get to the ski field and returning the following day in order to receive the refund was the only option we had. We figured that the amount we had paid wasn't worth the argument, but it was very off-putting and left a lingering bad overall feeling about the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We ended up staying in a double room in one of the lodges sharing bathroom etc. actually ended up on our own which wasn't too bad. When we arrived the room was freezing, even I was cold and I hardly ever am. Anyway the room was small and not much space to move, very small telly, average kitchenette and reasonable shower. Wouldn't recommend but if your on a budget I'm sure there are worse places.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here for one night in a 6 bed dorm in Building H. The beds/linens were decent, just standard bunk beds as you'd find in most hostels. However, the room had only two power outlets. When there are 6 people staying in a room, 2 power outlets hidden behind one bed is not good enough. The bathrooms were below average. The shower drain must've been blocked because the water wouldn't drain, and the lighting in the shower was terrible. The toilets also smelled pretty bad and the bathroom wasn't clean overall.

The whole place just seemed dirty. I went in to one of the other buildings where my friend was staying and the couches were stained and nasty, and the hallways had a musty old smell. My building was a bit better, but not by much.

The location is nice and quiet, about a 10 minute walk from the town centre. Plenty of parking, but nowhere to eat nearby.

Speaking of food, I wouldn't recommend the pizza from the restaurant thing on the property. I tried it and it was terrible. $10 for a small, cheaply made pizza. Seriously, don't bother with it. Just walk in to town and find something better to eat.

Overall, I don't recommend this hostel. There are PLENTY of hostels in the centre of town (two of which I've stayed at) that offer much more than Pinewood lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My partner and friends were looking forward to the trip and the experience at Pinewood. Was let down by the young guy at reception. Very unhelpful and unpleasant. Everything was just too much trouble for him and that vibe carried over to the rest of the experience. (The girl on reception was good and hope the owners actually read this).
The room was ok but we had to boil all the cooking utensils as everything looked like it had not been cleaned properly...
Price for Queenstown is great and it is a great location.
Apparently have to book 4 days prior to arrival if you want the hangi, which is a shame. They bought a Pepperoni pizza. Don't know what planet the cook is from but whole peppercorns do not make a pizza.
Overall good for the price but need to be aware you get what you pay for. I would say it was good for groups and backpackers but not a place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here twice. It's in a great location with tidy rooms and large bathrooms and kitchen. we were in the N block, it seemed good but because of the sheer size it became the drinking spot for everyone so each night the kitchen was trashed and the noise was unreal until 3 each morning. Give the cleaning staff credit they did clean it each day but didn't last long.
The second time we stayed we were in P block which was great it had only 3 double rooms and no one else could get in to raid the fridge. it was quiet and tidy. Much better spot to stay but the facilities are a bit more dated.

Room Tip: P block if you want a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Lodge

Address: 48 Hamilton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinewood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Value Accommodation for Backpackers, Modest Travellers and Groups Who Want to Experience the World-Famous Queenstown Region!We pride ourselves in being able to offer an excellent variety of accommodation- everything from dorm beds, inexpensive double and twin rooms, deluxe en-suite rooms with private bathroom amenities and self-contained family cabins. We have 27 units spread over three peaceful acres. Even better, all of our units feature their own lounge, fully-equipped kitchens and toilet/shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pinewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.