We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Queenstown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed in the crown plaza having travelled from the north island to the south and this was my finishing point.
Staff very friendly lovely room and magnificent view.
Close to main part of town just a small stroll.
Highly recommended

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    355
    73
    19
    11
See reviews for
152
466
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As a hotelier I can tell you that the staff attitude makes or breaks the experience. We had 5 str attention to our staya nd check in and check out were flawless.
Special mention goes out to the Front Desk Manager, Anshu. She clearly sets the standard for the rest of her staff. Anshu was a perfect concierge too making excellent dinner reservations for us and making sure everything was perfect.
I should also mention that the location of this hotel is perfectif you want to walk the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving your great feedback for the Trip Advisor community. I am thrilled that you had such a successful stay and were able to experience Queenstown from our central location. I enjoyed sharing your feedback with the team who were delighted to hear your positive comments after all the hard work they put in. We have a strong customer focused culture at Crowne Plaza Queenstown and it’s great to see it all come together during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for our first night in Queenstown, such a great location - right in the middle of everything. I did not book a room with a view, and so was pleasantly surprised when we had an amazing view from our balcony. Very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean and well decorated rooms along with some of the most helpful staff I have ever encountered make this hotel a fantastic place to stay.
The breakfast selection is vast and delicious, add in valet parking, stunning views and a central location and this hotel is just about perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary in beautiful Queenstown. The Crowne Plaza has a great location close to everything but is not really four star. The rooms were clean but getting a little old and tired. Bed was comfy but pillows were awful and bathroom very small with a shower curtain (I hate those). Had to ask for towels a couple of times. We had a Bubbles and Bites package which included a bottle of bubbly and tapas every afternoon. This was quite a generous amount but became a little boring as it was the same every day. Perhaps a new local wine each day would have been better. Not bad but not brilliant.

Room Tip: Definitely a Lake View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our fantastic central location during your recent wedding anniversary in Queenstown. I appreciate the constructive feedback and will have a chat about the Bubbles & Bites package to look at how we can make improvements.

I hope that you will come and stay with us again and I would like to be able to personally welcome you back to the hotel.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very central location to everything in queenstown, great, view over the lake, balcony with table and chairs which we used a lot. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and went out of their way to meet any requests

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a lake view, but its worth the little but extra you'd pay normally Bombay p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is nice, a bit tired from the outside, but common spaces and room are nice and clean.
Rooms in particular are neat and furniture is in good condition. Only nuisance is that to reach the top floor (where my room was located) you have to leave the elevator one floor below and continue using the stairs. Great room view,though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you had a successful stay and found our rooms to be nice and clean with great furniture. We will discuss your feedback regarding the stairs to the top floor. We make sure we have porters available to help our guests with luggage to minimise any nuisance and we appreciate your feedback about the spectacular views from our top floor.

Thank you again for leaving your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again one day.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore inspirational Queenstown from the fantastic central location of Crowne Plaza Queenstown, overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables mountain range.The dramatic lakeside Crowne Plaza Queenstown hotel is a tiered building of white concrete and glass, giving many of our rooms lake or mountain views. You'll receive a warm welcome from the moment you step inside the vibrant Lobby. Head to your chic room to relax as we take care of your luggage.Right next to picturesque Lake Wakatipu, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is at the heart of Queenstown's attractions. We're a 5-minute stroll from the Skyline gondola and Queenstown Airport is only 15 minutes away. The Central Otago wine region is a 20-minute drive.It’s the perfect ski holiday hotel with all pre and apres ski services smoothly delivered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.