We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worldwide tour in family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matakauri Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Matakauri Lodge to your Saves list
Matakauri Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glenorchy Road | PO Box 888, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rosieres, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worldwide tour in family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Amazing hôtel at 10 minutes from Queenstown. The service by Shaun and his team was amazing. The food is excellent and the view fantastic.
All rooms are fading the lake. The big problem is the price that does not reflect the reality, certainly when you see all the offers in Queenstown at 1/10 of the price. Try to rent apartment such as lake side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauricliffscollect, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Arnaudvdm
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor and also for your wonderful email you sent me. We very much appreciate your comments and the entire team immensely enjoyed having you and your family stay with us.
Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our expectations were high (considering the price) and the Matakauri experience exceeded all of them. The beautiful alpine and lake scenery is a given for most of Queenstown. The Lodge is simply superb. Our 1 bedroom suite within the main lodge was spacious even with 2 young children. The living area had luxuriously comfortable sofa-daybeds, panoramic views of the lake and snowcapped peaks, and also a TV large enough to distract you from mother nature. The beds were fantastic, bed-linen fresh and luxurious to touch. Our 1 year old got a real wooden cot and seemingly brand new designer wooden toys to play with. Being in the main lodge was more convenient at mealtimes, we avoided the outdoor Antartic dash with young children in tow, and it also felt like we were guests at a large mansion.

By far the most impressive aspect of our stay was the people and the service. From the moment we arrived and till we were farewelled, the Matakauri family were attentive, warm and friendly. They gave us plenty of privacy yet were seemingly always there when we needed something. Our young family had our private dinners up in the library, which had enough space and entertainment to occupy our little boys, while their parents took on a 5 course degustation menu. A remarkable feat indeed.

Room Tip: would recommend suite inside the lodge for young families particularly if travelling in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauricliffscollect, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear StuckInEire
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Matakauri Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all aspects of the Matakauri experience. It was especially great to hear your feedback regarding your dining experience and staying at Matakauri Lodge as a family. Your insider tip regarding the suite option that works well for families was spot on! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm Regards,
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We can't find anything bad to say, the view was nice with wonderful service. We loved every minute and didn't want to leave, the massage there was also great my parents have it for two nights. I will go back if there is the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Pricillia.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Matakauri Lodge. I am pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay. We aim to exceed guest expectations and are delighted with this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri in the future.
Warm Regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived the individual attention to detail is first class international standard the whole way. Our bags were whisked away and arrived in our room without a flicker of the eye whilst we were given an induction of the lodge prior to being led along the lanscaped garden path to our villas/suites.

Matakauri is luxury accommodation with stunning views out over Lake Wakitipu from every angle.
The suites are beautifully appointed and spacious with lavish white linens and bedding with huge ensuites with a great spa bath overlooking the lake, "they are most luxurious". I do disagree with the previous Trip Advisor comment regarding the warmth of the rooms and had to question whether we stayed at the same place? The rooms all boast central heating, underfloor heating, heat pumps and gas fire places and can be heated or cooled down within minutes. We visited in late June and the rooms were toasty on arrival and I actually turned everything off during the night except the underfloor heating I was so comfortable.

We were in Queenstown on business and had dined the previous 2 nights at Rata (Josh Emett's new restaurant) and at Botswana Butchery. The food at Matakauri was our favourite and we were treated to a 7 course degustation that was exceptionally well prepared and we loved allowing the chef to experiment and be at his creative best. We also finished not feeling overfed a sign of a well thought and prepared degustation. Of course the setting combined with the quality of the lodge itself is hard to beat. The look is soft contemporary with inspired design and plush furnishings, luxurious fabrics and exceptional attention to detail.

Staff wise, the newly appointed manager Shaun was very likeable (we both shared a laugh when he pointed out the hairdryer to me in the suite as I havent needed this appliance for about 20 years now), he is very approachable and we enjoyed our chats. His staff follow his suit and there is a very good vibe and ambience about the lodge. There was also a few nice touches/delights during and after our dinner meal from his staff that all added to a very enjoyable dining experience.

Matakauri ticks all the boxes - utterly luxurious, big quality well appointed rooms, fantastic staff, beautiful setting, great private location and superb on every level.

"Well worthy of all it's accolades".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Vacation472
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Matakauri Lodge. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We strive for excellence and are delighted with this wonderful review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri in the future.
Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disneyland Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

When we arrived our room was FREEZING and the gas fireplace made an annoying humming sound (malfunctioning valve) so we had to change rooms. The second room we were given was FREEZING as well. We had to have multiple space heaters brought in. It took over 8 hours to warm up as well as get the space heaters and endure having constant maintenance traffic in the room. Not only that...the people sent to do maintenance were not maintenance people. The thermostat was also broken. The bathroom was freezing without the space heater. The windows on either side of the bed wouldn't fully close therefore there was a constant draft so we had to keep the shutters closed. We heard another couple complaining as well. Collin (sp?), the waiter/asst management was superb and greatly improved our experience there with his humor, professionalism and delightful personality. He contributed so much to our stay. I felt the manager made so many truly lame excuses for all problems. Food was lovely and good and beautifully presented. Decor was beautiful. The dining chairs were very uncomfortable for my husband who is 6'4". They need to get rid of the jackets for dinner policy. People are on vacation and want to relax. The Japanese masseuse was a real pro but the two other masseuses were mediocre. There was a penny pinching attitude with not having the fireplaces blazing away in the main lobby all day. Chandeliers in the dining room needed to be turned on even at the lowest level as they looked odd being off all night. Not only that we noticed that the staff had to fulfill multiple roles from front desk reception to dishwasher. Strange. It was all somehow sterile for such a beautiful lodge.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay inside the lodge as there is more privacy in one of the outside lodge rooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Eliza 564,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Matakauri Lodge.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us but also disappointed to hear that all aspects of your stay did not exceed your expectations. We endeavour to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible by checking all rooms prior to arrival. Due to our location and the colder weather during the winter months, we find that most guests prefer their rooms heated to around 23-25°C.

Please accept my apologies for our team not identifying the humming sound from the gas fireplace. The safety of our guests is our one of our main priorities at Matakauri. Therefore our maintenance team members are not allowed to conduct any repairs on gas fireplaces, as legally these repairs can only be conducted by a registered gas fitter. As promised when the fault was reported, the repair was completed shortly after your request to be moved to another suite was accommodated.

We are dedicated to preserving the pristine environment that makes Matakauri so unique. Therefore, all of our rooms are not heated when unoccupied for an extended period of time. Due to us accommodating your request to be assigned a room within the lodge building, we did not anticipate that you would want to be moved. Therefore, the room that you requested to be moved to was not heated to our usual standard.

We have implemented clearer signage on the heating/ cooling controls in the rooms, as this was highlighted by other guests during your stay. Additionally, more emphasis is being placed on explaining the use of the in room heating/cooling controls upon guests arrival and we have had great feedback since.

I am pleased to hear that your experiences with our Duty Manager helped you enjoy the remainder of your stay at the lodge and I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Matakauri Lodge in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Matakauri Lodge after having been married there 10 years ago. The lodge had changed hands and been re-decorated since we were there so I was keen to see if it had maintained it's level of wonderfulness. I was very pleased that it had. We arrived in the afternoon, greeted with a glass of bubbly that we enjoyed in a quiet lounge area overlooking the lake. The new decor is very nice, interesting colour combinations and wonderful, unique furniture. The staff were very helpful and friendly, hats off to both Tom and Cecelia for looking after us so well.

After relaxing with our bubbles we were shown to our wonderfully spacious room. The lounge area overlooking the lake is lovely, and the bed massive and comfortable. I love the extra touches of a hidden TV screen so the ambiance is not disturbed, the insect screen over the patio door so you can enjoy the fresh without moths and sandflies, the dressing room to keep luggage out of the way and the hidden ironing board. The complimentary mini bar is also a nice touch. The staff had left bubbly in our room as well, more anniversary good wishes for us.

My husband had arranged for us to have hot stone massages in the spa so after settling in our room we donned our robes and wandered through the beautifully landscaped grounds to the spa. The massages were fantastic, firm and relaxing. Wish I'd had time to take advantage of the pool and gym as well.

For dinner that evening we were offered a "degustation" style dining experience, a selection of chef's choice courses matched with wines. They were delicious and beautifully presented. Tom, who served us was very knowledgeable about the food and wines, turning our dinner into a food experience.

We slept very well in the comfy bed as the hotel is extremely quiet and the fresh air seems to make sleeping that much easier. Next morning the breakfast was tasty and plentiful with good coffee to accompany it. We were reluctant to leave this place, but before we did I asked the staff If I could bring my mother up to see it as she had been unable to attend our wedding and had never seen where we got married. They could not have been nicer, and when my mum was visiting from overseas a few weeks later they gave us a full tour of lodge and rooms, plus gave us tea and a selection of tasty pastries while sitting in the sun on the deck. My mother was very impressed, and loved having the opportunity to finally experience our wedding venue. Thanks again to the staff for making this possible. These guys really do go above and beyond when it comes to service.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are superb, every one has the most spectacular view of the lake. Try the degustation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

After visiting New Zealand for the first time we started our adventure in Queenstown and from Jay greeting us on the carpark as we arrived things just continued to amaze us about this venue . Nothing was too much trouble and its always the little small things that gives attention to detail , We can't find anything bad to say about this place not even a small picky thing . Our problem was that having spent 4 nights here we then judged our next venues by this standard and some were good but none were as good .
As we left we noticed that four bottles of drinking water had been put in our car for our journey , Thank you Jay until next time !

Regards Greg & Karen .

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad room at this venue !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matakauri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakauri Lodge

Address: Glenorchy Road | PO Box 888, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matakauri Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Matakauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matakauri Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matakauri Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.