We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Heartland Hotel Queenstown to your Saves list
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Ended up with a large view room on an upper floor in front. The views of the town, lake, and mountains were spectacular, esp with the snow coming down for a while. Easy walk to/from the compact town with all the touristy restaurants and shops. The return walk from town is up hill but not difficult. Parking was tight, but doable. Average price for the room for that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    148
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
58
146
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have been to this hotel for our Honeymoon. The locality and stay was superb. Even the room size was very good. We had an excellent stay and I personally recommend other to go for this Hotel is your are visiting Queenstown.

Room Tip: Lake Side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We booked this on the day we arrived, through the information centre. we were given a street view, with a very nice mountain in the distance (beautiful) A bit of road noise, parking was an issue, shower was brilliant (hot and lots of pressure). The walk from town was all up hill. You only get 1 free hour of internet per 24 hours, other than that it is $10.00 per day. Breakfast was extremely over priced $25.00 for toast coffee etc.. bacon, eggs, baked beans and hash browns, by the time you get to them, (buffet style)vthey are a little old hard and cold. Very basic to say the least. I will be returning to Queenstown in the future, but I will spend a bit more cash and stay in town.

Room Tip: If your on a budget, stay here, but arrange you own internet, eat in town, and be ready to walk up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the view from your room and the shower pressure. With your feedback we are able to work on areas which need improving, once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a review of the Trellis rooms: large, spacious rooms with plenty of space for luggage and room to relax. Large comfortable beds with nice bedding. Some rooms have a small balcony with wonderful views of the town and the lake. However, this view comes at a bit of a price since they also face the main street (Stanley St) into town, so road noise is noticeable. Front staff is very nice and helpful. Free 1 hour of wi-fi per 24 hours of stay. Onsite laundry and restaurant. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk into town, down a small hill. The hill is about 500 meters long, but is only really steep for about 200 meters of it. Overall a good choice for Queenstown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greta, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times and believe it is the best value in Queenstown. Brilliant for kids. Very clean, great service and all amenities are on site. It is only one block from the centre of town.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. We appreciate all your lovely comments regarding your stay and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Located a short walk from the main tourist area of Central Queenstown. The decor is a little dated but it was functional, clean, and the room was large. It appears that most rooms have good views over the lake and Remarkables (I messed up my booking so we were accommodated on a ground floor room). The staff were very helpful especially given that I booked the wrong dates and the hotel was fully booked when we turned up. I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. We value your postive comments about the staff and your room being clean and tidy.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

WHAT A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. Value for money is an understatement. Friendly staff always helpful. Awesome views and very comfortable beds, linen etc. Ended up staying there twice, and in total 6 nights. Thanks to Stuart, Ging, Bruno and young Brit girl on reception...sorry forgot your name.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. We appreciate all your lovely comments and I will be sure to pass to these onto the team.

Once again thank you for your comments and we lok forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.