We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Save Saved
You added Heartland Hotel Queenstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the start of spring. I was pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the room - plenty of space, clean and tidy. We didn't pay the extra $40 for a room with a view, but asked for one if possible - and got one, which was amazing. Good water pressure and long lasting hot water in the shower. Room heating for cool nights, although I found that the room stayed warm enough without it. Nice big TV if you're spending a bit of time in the room, and they have DVD players and DVDs you can borrow for free. Free parking as well, although no free wifi which was a bit disappointing. The hotel is close to town, but on a small hill - which is a slight annoyance... but it is also the reason why so many rooms have a view, so can't complain too much!

Room Tip: If you don't want to pay extra for a room with a view, request one anyway and they'll see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room and we now offer 1 hour free WIFI per day.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    126
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
47
122
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

a wonderful night with fantastic view from room,glad to see you have kept the chalet look,only 1 thing was disappointed in,its winter and no electric blanket on bed,took hot water bottles out of case as said staying in hotel won't need them,but alas no blanket,so took a while to get to sleep when warmed up,apart from this its great,got this deal on grab 1 and will do again if it arises

Room Tip: if you like warm bed take your hot water bottle.if you like a quiet start or finish to you day do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Although we do not have electric blankets but we do always have spare blankets if needed. I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room and our location to town.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in queenstown, it has nice views of the lake and a good distance from the noise and lights of the city, although there is a nasty little hill to walk up to get to it, painful after a night out. The cheaper rooms are quite outdated, the bathrooms are tiny and there's no microwave. The better rooms have king size beds, a big bathroom and alot of space throughout, i would recommend spending a little more for this luxury.
Staff were all very nice and helpful to us, whatever we needed they got it done and made it easy.
Staying in queenstown, i'd suggest this hotel over other hotels in the CBD.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms with a view and king size bed, i think there about $130?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Great comments about enjoying the view and our location to town. We value your comments about our staff willing to help, this is all part of the service culture of Heartland Hotels.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We got a deal off GrabOne and stayed 3 nights. The room was so spacious and tidy. I loved the slanted roof of the chalet.

As others have commented the place is very close to the city centre and easy to get to. The airport bus will even stop right outside if you ask.

The hotel had lots of good food and drink deals on so we made the most of those! Things like 2 for 1 dinners and happy hour drinks.

Staff were exceptionally helpful and smiley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Great comments about the staff and our location to town and I am glad you took advantage of our great food and beverage specials.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The stay at the hotel was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location and wonderful view from the room was an added advantage. The food was amazing too. All these things made my stay at Queenstown memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

We value your positive comments about the food, views, helpful staff and our location to town. I am glad we could help make your stay in Queenstown a memorable one and we look foward to your return visit soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Parking is a major issue in Queenstown. Heartland Hotel is ideally situated to enable you to walk to and from all the town activities. Service from all staff was great at the hotel. Will most definitely be my first option when we go back to Queenstown. Only thing I will check is the mattresses when booking in as ours was too soft for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

We value your postive comments about our staff and a location to town. Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Got a great deal on Grab One and stayed two nights. The location is excellent just a short walk to the centre of Queenstown and all shops, cafes, bars and supermarket. Staff couldn't have been more helpful particularly storing our luggage when we arrived early so that we could go up the mountain skiing for the day. The chalet rooms at the back of the hotel are the best, these have high ceilings and wonderful views and as they are away from the main road are a lot quieter. Free off road parking for the car is a bonus. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms at the back of the hotel are the best, these have high ceilings and wonderful views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Great comments about great accommodation and our staff willing to help, this is all part of the service culture of Heartland Hotels.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.