We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant price, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Save Saved
You added Heartland Hotel Queenstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant price, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our 4th stop on our roadtrip, Queenstown for 2 nights.
Our budget had been around $100 per night, we were expecting to pay more in the big QT but an unhappy lady at I-site found us a room for $119 per night at the Heartlands Hotel.
Funnily enough most of the unhappy employee's we canme across throughout our whole trip where non-kiwi's hows that??
Hotel is on Stanley st, which is up a short but steep hill, happy friendly staff at the hotel reception directed us to our room and offered porter's to help us with our bags as we were going to be 2 floors beneath ground level...... didn't sound great! As it was our room was about half way beneath street level right at the front of the hotel, so we kinds felt like we were in a grotto but it was OK. Room was really nice and big with aircon running when we got in which was a God send as it it was a real hot day. tea & coffee making facilities and nice and clean.
We trotted off into town quite quickly to have a look around and check out what was on offer by way of entertainment!
Of course we had to check out some drinking establishments and had a good few beers at The Speights Ale House and World bar to name a couple.
Whilst we were in town over the weekend we went on the Gondola, visited Arrowtown and did some souvenir shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Thank you for your comments about our staff and how freindly they were and also about your room, once ariving and it was OK.

It sounds like you had a great time in Queenstown and you also visited some fantastic Bars.
.
Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    124
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
122
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Heartland 'Scenic hotel' a total of 4 nights. The first 2 nights we booked on Agoda and had a room right next to reception which was a King room. It was loud due to people rolling their bags in and out of reception late night and early mornings. The room was clean, however the rooms need a major overhaul, especially the bathrooms (considering we stayed at Scenic Dunedin and Scenic Marlborough all within the same week which were exceptional). The location of the hotel is perfect, it's only a short stroll into town (5mins) and free parking while you stay. Wi-if costs $5 for 24hrs which is standard price across hotels on the South Island. After our first 2 night stay we liked the hotel location so much we decided to book again through Agoda for our return from doing the Routeburn Track. We informed hotel staff that we have rebooked and asked for a different room location that wouldn't be as noisy. The staff were more than helpful and in fact upgraded us for no extra cost to the King Lakeview Superior room. The views were beautiful from our balcony and everything in the room was excellent, this room even had air conditioning but the other didn't. The only disappointment about the room was the bathroom being outdated (although we liked the 80s style towel warmer). We would recommend staying here if you are on a bit of a budget (<$100 a night) and want to be close to all the action of town.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded Lakeview room it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.I am delighted you enjoyed your most recent second stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

We are currently reviewing the bathrooms within certain Hotel rooms,the lake view room you stayed in with Air Con is a refurbished room with the bathrooms still to be done.

The team certainly assisted you for return vsist which is really great.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent 3 very happy nights in this well appointed hotel situated just above the main centre of the fantastic town of Queenstown. As others have said, it's a very pleasant stroll DOWN to the town, and a good exercise for the quads to walk back UP again. One day we did the return walk 4 times but with no ill effects. The hotel rooms are of a good size with excellent showers, comfortable beds and balconies which catch the afternoon sun. The restaurant served very good breakfasts and we had one dinner there too, which was good. As said previously Queenstown itself is a fantastic town with activities for young and old.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

It sounds like you handled the short walk back from time on a number of times with out problems and the location is great.The quads certainly get a work out walking back to the Hote,but its only a for a few minutes.
.
Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A convenient location but still requiring an uphill walk on the way back from town. Room was comfortable, well-appointed, with balcony. We were offered upgrade to include a/c at cost of $20 per night. We declined this and frankly we think we did the right thing as it wasn't needed. Slight issue over WIFI in the room. Having paid for 24 hour access this didn't work in the room at all, but only in reception. In fairness, the cost was cancelled when I raised the issue. Our room, 404, had a good view but was at the back of the kitchens and there was an unpleasant smell of dustbins in that area. On second night woken up in early hours by drunken group in nearby room but can't really blame motel for this. Overall, happy to recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Try for at least first floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Thank you for your comments about the WIFI and back of kicthen area bins. The WIFI is being reviewed for coverage issues and also the bins have been followed up with the collection company about replacements.

.
Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

well situated, clean, modern, and nice views. Our room was on the second floor and on the end of the main building, so we did not have any issues with noise from other rooms. Spacious and comfortable rooms and beds. Balcony for viewing (over the street) to the lake. The hotel is also situated with easy access (a couple of blocks) to the marvelous Queens Gardens. Also just a few short blocks to the downtown restaurant area as opposed to right in the downtown which made it less expensive than others. Free parking.

Room Tip: End room nearest the entry drive are separate from the others in the main building and may be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown and your good value comments with clean and modern and comfortable rooms with no noise .

We value your positive comments also about enjoying the great location and views from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We loved the room we were in. We were in the upstairs room which had the amazing view of the mountains and the lake. The location was awesome. It was our first time in Queenstown and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was great. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown and the great comments about our staff and food and the awesome location.

We value your positive comments also about enjoying the great lake and mountain views from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I loved this place! The complex is very nice, all rooms have a beautifull view towards the tawn and the lake,the rooms are very nice and the staff is very helpfull. I would really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Pixicia

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Great comments about great accommodation and our staff willing to help, this is all part of the service culture of Heartland Hotels. We value your positive comments also about enjoying the great views from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.