We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Save Saved
You added Heartland Hotel Queenstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I loved this place! The complex is very nice, all rooms have a beautifull view towards the tawn and the lake,the rooms are very nice and the staff is very helpfull. I would really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Pixicia

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Great comments about great accommodation and our staff willing to help, this is all part of the service culture of Heartland Hotels. We value your positive comments also about enjoying the great views from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    124
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
122
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were given a room that looked nothing like the online images. Right on the bottom floor with a low ceiling and a view of the car park. Our room had a door which freely opened up to our asian neighbours room - so privacy was on edge. The walls were so thin we could hear conversations through them. The shower was very difficult to use, going from one extreme to the other in temperature. It rained that night, and there must have been a pipe making an awfully disturbing dripping noise also. The only good things we remember from this is that the location was good, we were greeted by a lovely host, and we ourselves made the most of our weekend despite the poor nights sleep. For what we paid, we could have got something much better in Queenstown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Bethanie88Cameron91

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I have read all your comments about the room allocated during your stay and have taken action on the items we can correct before the next guest stays.

As for the noise factor from the adjoining room, unfortunately the room that you occupied isn’t insulated like many of our other rooms.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely room with fantastic views with a balcony we could just sit and look. Good price for what you get. Lovely staff and willing to help. Good heater in the room when we felt a bit chilly as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear chetercity

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Great comments about our staff willing to help, this is all part of the service culture of Heartland Hotels. We value your positive comments also about enjoying the great views from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I have no real complaints about Heartlands. My room was large and comfortable, with a great view down the lake.

My only real criticisms would be the outdated bathroom facilities (over-bath shower and curtain), and the pay-as-you-go wifi. These days wifi should be free.

I'd stay here again, but I couldn't do more than a couple of days as I prefer rooms with catering facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Shaunthediver

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Thank you for your comments about the bathroom. These are being reviewed for the future.

Very positive comments about you enjoying the great views from your room down the lake.

As for your wifi cost’s I will take your comments on board and refer to our management company.

We also have limited self-catering rooms within the Heartland Hotel Queenstown. We do have full kitchen and apartment style rooms next door in the Scenic Suites Queenstown, which is all managed from the same main Hotel reception area. I have provided a link below of this property.

http://www.scenichotels.co.nz/hotels/scenic-suites-queenstown


Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stay many times in this Hotel when i visit Queenstown, and never made a disappointing experience. The breakfast buffet offers every thing for a good start into the day, the presentation is looking good too. Well trained staff with a smile!!! I will recommend this Hotel to all my friends, and look forward already to check in at my next time I'm in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear FrankWidmer7

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent return stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Thank you for your comments about the breakfast buffet and the overall friendly staff and service standards with a smile.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We liked the character of the room (it's in the roof) but the bathroom was a bit outdated. The location is great and the views from our room were wonderful. We had a travel nightmare whilst in New Zealand and saught advice from the Reception Staff. They we so helpful and helped cancel and rearrange our onwards accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear EJB186338

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed the character and views from your room in Heartland Hotel Queenstown.I'm also gald your travel problems had the assistance from our team and in particular the reception staff.

Thank you for your comments about the bathrooms and we are currently undertaking a review in some rooms as to the likely cost to have refurbishment work undertaken.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visits.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really enjoyed our short stay here. The rooms were large and we had a balcony looking out towards a beautiful view. Staff were very helpful when we were trying to figure out where we had to get on our bus for our milford sound tour and the hotel is central to the town without been completely in the thick of it. Would definately stay here again. Only downside was the older style, small bathroom and the lack of ventilation in the shower/toilet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.