We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite winery in New Zealand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chard Farm Winery

Chard Farm Winery
205 Chard Road, RD1 | Gibbston, Queenstown, New Zealand
64 3 442 6110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialising in Pinot Noir, Riesling, Chardonnay, Pinot Gris, Sauvignon Blanc and Gewurztraminer. Cellar Door Open for tastings 10am - 5pm weekdays and 11am - 5pm on weekends
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favorite winery in New Zealand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We first stopped by Chard Farm because it was a convenient stop on a bike day trip we were doing. It turned out to be an awesome experience.

We tasted up to ten wines, including some vintage, with no cost if we bought a bottle (otherwise it was simply a suggest donation). Our host was knowledgeable and gave us interesting information without the pretentiousness you sometimes get with wine-Os. The views were stunning, and the tasting room decorations we're unique and interesting. We ended up buying a bottle of Riesling, which I normally don't drink, which paired perfectly with our dinner of mussels.

A month later, when my parents visited, we took them there to experience it as well. It was just as great of an experience. We ended up buying a bit more expensive bottle, hoping to save it until it's "optimal year" to remind of us of our great experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Isolated vineyard in a scenic spot. Knowledgable host and good wines. Well worth a visit. Off the beaten track but a very scenic spot.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I ended our bike ride here and ended up buying several bottles. The pourer was very charming and informative. It's on a hill all to itself and the views were wonderful. There was a picnic table adjacent and we had our lunch there with a glass of wine. The wines were very good and it was nice comparing the different pinots. It felt very personal.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was a pretty drive and the wines were nice. There is no tasting fee, just buy some wine or donate a tip. The staff was really quite friendly as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Taste of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Forget the Bungy Jump across the road, just drive along the gravel death defying road to the winery for your thrills, (bring a parachute just in case), with the reward of some stand-out tasting at the end. Particularly enjoyed the Pinot Gris but ended buying a Riesling. The host was very informative, adding a sense of humour to the occasion. Also enjoyed hearing the history of the winery and viewing the family photos.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chard Farm Winery also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Chard Farm Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chard Farm Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.