We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vineyard with amazing helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chard Farm Winery

Chard Farm Winery
205 Chard Road, RD1 | Gibbston, Queenstown, New Zealand
64 3 442 6110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialising in Pinot Noir, Riesling, Chardonnay, Pinot Gris, Sauvignon Blanc and Gewurztraminer. Cellar Door Open for tastings 10am - 5pm weekdays and 11am - 5pm on weekends
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful vineyard with amazing helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had a very enjoyable visit to Chard Farm vineyard. The staff were very hellpful and friendly, and very down to earth. The wines were yummy,I had my first taste of Gewurztraminer and the Pinot Noirs were gorgeous.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The drive up is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The friendliest vintner we've ever met!! He explained the process and wines without any hint of condescension to the less-than-knowledgeable wine-lovers (us).

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Weren't going to go but glad we did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We usually do a fair bit of research before visiting wineries to make sure they are good value for money. We had been told that Central Otago wines were overpriced but wanted to give them a go. The wineries we had planned on visiting didn't open till later so we picked Chard Farm basically because we wanted to see the drive in!!

The truth is the drive in was great, but the wines at the end of the road were fantastic and the guys at the cellar door were great.

A definite must visit in Central Otago.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Small vineyard worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The highlight of the visit was the drive to the vineyard along a narrow cliff top road. A small tasting bar in a small shop is reflective of their range of wines.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The visit to the winery was great, similar to all the other reviews so we purchased a case of wine to be delivered back to Australia. The staff assured us the freight covered all taxes from NZ and Aus and that i would have the case 'at my front door' in 5-6 weeks. The tax detail covered was high as we had visited previous wineries and knew what questions to ask.

5 weeks later, i get slapped with a tax bill from Aus customs and the winery, when contacted, denied all involvement and was extremely unhelpful to the point of useless. They basicially wanted to make a sale and omitted certain information 'by accident' and stated that 'without cctv, we can't ensure that our policy is adhered to with information like that'.

2 weeks and $165 later the post office has released the case of wine for me pick up, really not worth it, how poor this experience has turned out, their wines are good but not that good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Manager at Chard Farm Winery, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are very sad to hear you had a bad experience visiting Chard Farm as we pride ourselves by our customer service and of course our product. You were served by our most senior member of the Cellar Door. While he wouldn't have assured you that all taxes were included, he may have omitted to inform that duties may be payable. The information that taxes to Australia are not included is also very clearly shown on our “Shipping” cost board, which is very large and on the wall behind the counter. This information is also stated clearly on our website. Following your feedback, we have reviewed our policy. As well as advising customers verbally, which is our current policy, we will now also ensure they are required to “tick a box” on our order form to alert them again that duties may be payable. We also note that Australian customs has only recently initiated a campaign focused on NZ products into Australia. Again we are very sorry that your experience has not been a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chard Farm Winery also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Chard Farm Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chard Farm Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.