We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenstown stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    328
    96
    25
    17
See reviews for
174
630
35
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week in February. Cannot fault it. Our room was a large 1 bedroom Accor Holiday Club room (no view, but I have come to expect this as a member of the holiday club, something they don't tell you when you part with $25,000.00 is that most of the rooms are not ideally situated). That aside the whole experience at St Moritz was fantastic, including happy hour at the bar and our meal at the restaurant for dinner.....wonderful views. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is very nice. Some people in our group had rooms with a kitchen, eating area, lounge area and separate bedroom. Others just had a nice hotel room. Most of us had views of the lake and the mountains that looked like someone had painted a picture. A few unlucky couples were put into rooms on the other side of the hotel over the entrance and they saw a yellow wall and heard people coming and going all night. Important to ask for a desired room. The hotel is on a steep hill and although getting to town is an easy downhill 15 minute walk, getting back to the hotel is an effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Being a avid Skiing Family we had a ball here , Hotel is close to the Heart of Queenstown.
Staff are Friendly and the Breakfast View is " to die for" - as close as you will get to the Austrian Alps for Australians .... And yes i have experienced the Austrian Alps !

Cant wait to go again in 2014 !!
Loved the Hot Tubs great way to unwind after a hard day on the Ski Slopes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door a few hours ahead of the published check-in time, we were made to feel right at home. Our room was ready within ten minutes, our luggage delivered shortly afterwards and our car valet parked.

The room was clean, spacious with beautiful bathroom, huge comfortable bed and full size TV. We didn't pay for hotel internet (it's expensive anywhere in AU and NZ) so we bought a prepaid wifi dongle. The view from the room was stunning - the Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu. We were on the 3rd floor. The floors above would have been even more stunning, so request a high floor when you book.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the bar has happy hour each evening and the barman Andrea makes the best cocktails I've had anywhere in the world. He'll even experiment and make something completely new - challenge him and you'll be amazed what he comes up with!

The other staff we encountered at the bar were also fantastic, as was reception and the concierge, and the room service. The room service food was a little overpriced for what it was, and the hotel is five minutes walk to the centre of town so it really was lazy of us to order anyway! (Although the walk back up the steep road after a big dinner is a challenge!!)

We stayed for 8 nights and on the 4th night (which also happened to be our anniversary) we came back to our room to find a lovely box of cookies and a note from management hoping we were enjoying our stay.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel, and I can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room when you book the deluxe lakefront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and the overall reaction was that it is a high standard hotel which excelled in many ways. Our room was large, well equiped and the bed was very nice. We didnt pay for a lake view though as the price of an upgrade was not worth it given we didnt spend that much time in the room. The location of the hotel is excellent (just down the road from the main part of town) and the facilities were great.

The slight issue we had is that when you are competing with a number of comparable hotels, as is the case in Queenstown, you need to differentiate yourselves somehow. One way to do this is through customer service and also Wifi, neither of which the St Moritz was too good at. We stayed on a B&B basis and felt that the breakfast staff could have been better. On each day there seemed to be a lack of focus on ensuring that guests were served quickly and also there were a few occasions where parts of the breakfast buffet were missing without being replenished. Not the end of the world but we expected better. The really annoying thing was the Wifi. For a five star hotel you expect unlimited wifi as standard but here you got 30 mins a day or 10 MB which was frankly rubbish. Apparently Wifi provision in NZ hotels is generally poor but that is no excuse really and the St Moritz has missed a massive trick in my view.

This didnt spoil our stay but it stopped a five star rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.