We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown to your Saves list
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent the weekend in Queenstown at Rydges, probably wouldn't have stayed there but we were attending a conference at the hotel. Tired and old, even smells old. They breakfast was awful on both ocassions, cold bacon, cold coffee, runny scrambled eggs, awful, awful, awful! The view is the only saviour here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest survey at the end of your recent stay with us.Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas. I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    405
    313
    168
    108
See reviews for
189
527
66
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have to say Rydges was not our first choice, but that was purely from looking at a map of Queenstown.

On arrival however, even though there was some repair work ongoing, the place really quite pleasant, and location better than I was expecting (or Queenstown simply is that small).

We only managed to find a ground level room facing Lake Wakatupu (and the parking lot!), but it was clean, comfortable and walking out to the lakeside actually encouraged by the proximity.

Breakfast was pretty much standard fare, but the top floor view was magnificent and always a pleasant way to start the day. There was a bit of a mix up with our included meals, but that was mostly sorted out on check out.

Overall, the stay was rather nice and relaxing, service adequate and friendly, and recommend it for a family. And I would come back.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are well worth it, even those on the ground level. Go for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I take exception to being charged a surcharge on credit cards for a start then to stay in a hotel wityh no air-conditioning as modern as this place is is amazing, this of course the room windows to be open as it was very hot then of course you hear all the street has to offer at all hours including arguments by ethnic groups then the buses starting up and idling before the birds even wake up? The spa pool was worth it though but windows need a clean in this area offering amazing views across the lake. Icerall the price was reasonable but definitely not worth it if you want a good nights sleep, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest survey at the end of your recent stay with us.Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.
I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown in the near future.

Once again, thank you. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

2nd trip to Queenstown and definite decision to stay with Rydges hotel again.
Besides the breathtaking views of lake Wakatipu across the road, no complaints with the check in, friendly staff. There is a bus stop right in front and it's a < 10 min leisure flat walk to city center.
Granted the hotel could do with a face lift soon but at it's present rates, don't expect anything fancy.
Would stay again on next trip.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. i will endeavor to pass on your feedback to the team moving forward..

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and found the Hotel great for our needs. The location is fantastic as it's in close proximity to the city centre, and we picked it as it is a flat walk around the lake to the local bars, restaurants and town centre. Only about a 5 to 10 min walk into town. Other places may be closer but they are behind the town which makes it a steep uphill walk back to the Hotel. The hotel sits right in front of the water providing breathtaking views overlooking Lake Wakatipu and up to the Remarkable Mountains. We had a room on the first floor which opened out onto a shared courtyard / deck area with these fantastic views. This also had a table and 2 chairs set up so you could have a drink / snack outside while taking in the views. Note there is a mezzanine floor between Ground & First and I wouldn't think that would be any good as there doesn't appear to be any deck / balcony area for them and the views would be restricted. However, the courtyard (accessible by sliding door from the room) is shared by several other guests staying in nearby rooms. This reduced privacy levels as they're able to walk right past and look into each room but not an issue as you shut the curtains at night anyway. We didn't eat at the restaurant here but the menu looked great with a good reasonable priced selection. We did use the Fireside Lounge bar on the top level which was very laid back and comfortable with good bar service. Our room had 2 double beds that were very comfy and a reasonable sized bathroom. Didn't like the shower curtain, if you didn't set it right, shower water ended up on the floor - why can't hotels use proper shower screens instead of curtains? Parking was limited though, we found a few times that we had to park along the road as both carparks were full. All in all though, a great place to stay and great value as we got a good online deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi there.. thank you very much for your comments..We trust you had a fantastic stay in Queenstown, and would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the first impression survey at the end of your recent stay with us. . I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked a one bedroom suite, as advertised on the website "these rooms are on the top floor". We had previously stayed at copthorne hotel for 3 nights before staying here because we thought we would spend 3 nights in luxury. Upon enterting the room, on the 3rd out of 9 levels, I could have cried I was so dissapointed. I spent $230 a night for a small outdated room. I went down to reception and they refunded me $30 a night and upgraded us to the 6th floor. The original room had the tiniest balcony ive ever seen, and I couldnt help but think how misleading the website had been about my booking. I was utterly dissapointed still about having to spend $200 a night on this accommodation. The view was great and it was close to town, but there where still hotels closer to town, and probably cheaper than $230 a night. The furniture was outdated, with the sofa bed folded out there was no room at all to walk around, it was infact so tiny that you couldnt open the fridge with the bed folded out, and it was rubbing against the tv stand. You have a shared balcony on the 6th floor and we always had asians staring at us through our window whilst trying to enjoy the view. Unfortunately rydges dissapointed me this time. The amount of money we paid, we could have stayed in real luxury somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments.. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced during your recent stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed one night at Rydges and left to go to the Novotel hotel. It is in town, beautiful rooms, great service and $11 a day more for a outstanding room. Had a beautiful king size room. In town on the lake. Great food and room service. Rydges should be in the 80-100 a night price range.

Room Tip: Go to the Novotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi, I appreciated your recent comments..Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced during your recent stay. Be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Multi-story Hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.