We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket backpackers, downmarket tourist hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown to your Saves list
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Upmarket backpackers, downmarket tourist hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The view/location is the best thing about this hotel. And it was clean....but oh so tired and shabby. We made the mistake of eating in the Ben Lomond restaurant - waited 45 minutes for our pre-dinner cocktail, the bottle of wine came before the cocktails, by about 5 mins, and then the whole meal, entrees and mains all arrived at the same time. The food quality was fine, and the wait staff were very embarrassed and apologetic, but there seems to be a total disconnect between them, the bar staff and the kitchen. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, and warm (but not hot!!!). The room was stuffy and hot, however you could open the windows and ranch-slider, but then it was noisy from the bar below. Have stayed at Rydges hotels overseas and in New Zealand, but this was the worst Rydges experience for us. Would we stay again, sorry no.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced during your recent stay.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    404
    312
    166
    108
See reviews for
188
526
66
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a very good hotel for a short stay holiday, The view of the lake was very good, The view from the restaurant was brilliant, the hotel's cleanliness was good, the one exception was they didn't respond to clean the balcony after dropping tea on the floor.
The breakfast had a very good selection but the cook part could have been warmer.
but overall the stay of 2 nights was very good.
I would stay there again if I go back to Queenstown, New Zealand

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to complete the guest survey at the end of your recent stay with us.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown in the near future.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We got this hotel booked through I site, which is the NZ tourist information centre, and the had a bed & buffet breakfast deal, the room was booked as a superior lake view, technically it did look over the lake, but cars were the predominant view as the car park was outside our window. The rooms were a bit shabby as was the corridor to the room. The wifi they offer is on the sixth floor in the hotel bar, so limited use really. On the plus side it's really handy for town. I would stay again, but I'm not sure I'd be happy paying a full rate. Look for a deal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Rydges over the New Year 2012/13 period as part of a large party and got to see the whole hotel and a wide variety of rooms. Having stayed in several different places in South Island over the preceding fortnight, all of which were superb, we had high expectations for Rydges. They were not met. The hotel is in a decent location but the rooms are small for the money and the general feel (especially the maze-like corridors and the pay-as-you-go laundry rooms) is very tired. The smell of fast food pervaded the bar area on the night we visited. Our lake view room had a lake view in principle but, being on the ground floor, it required one to look through the car park (and cars) to see the water. Balconies were communal and tarmaced. There is a huge variety of places to stay in Queenstown and when visiting again I would steer clear of this one, which is poor value for money.

Room Tip: Premium-rate rooms did seem to be worth anything extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent feedback relating to your stay at Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown.

Feedback such as yours enables us to continually improve our product and service.

I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation. Our hotel is earmarked for refurbishment in the near future. Once this is completed, all our rooms and facilities will be up to the expected standard.

Again, I must apologise for the less than satisfactory stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort under more favourable circumstances.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after looking at the pictures and thinking we would be in a real treat over Christmas. This was certainly not the case. Although we opted for a superior room with lake view, the room and bathroom was outdated, shabby and in need of serious renovation. We couldn't use the balcony that we had paid extra for because it was so dirty and the furniture was rusty, and the view of the lake was over a large, gray car park. Not the serene lakeside escape we had hoped for.

Overall, the room felt dingy and we felt like second class citizens that had been moved to the back of the hotel. We told the concierge our views and he agreed with us completely, stating that there is nothing he can do since all rooms are equally shabby while they are applying for renovation funding from the chain. He seemed equally embarassed by the place. We could not leave quickly enough.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time out in posting your comments at the end of your recent stay with us.

Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas. Feedback such as yours enables us to continually improve our product and service.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly welcome and a lovely room with view of the lake and Remarkables. Bed was comfy and everything clean. On the second day i went on a day trip and decided to take a bottle of water from the mini bar and looked on the little list (of the drinks and biscuits/chips that should be there) how much that would cost me. Then i noticed that 3 bottles of beer were missing. I did tell the fella downstairs and he would put it on the computer so i would not be charged. Anyway after this week i went to settle my bill.....minibar....$52!! I almost blew up as the water was $4.50. Anyway, they changed it but that was an annoying 'mistake' from them! Continental breakfast....at all the hotels where i have ever been, 'continental breakfast' includes boiled eggs. Not here which is a shame.

Room Tip: It's about a 5 minute walk from the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments on trip advisor, your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to in the near future.

Once again, thank you. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Rydges on New Year's Eve night and while we had an excellent room with an amazing view of the lake, the hotel itself was a bit outdated. That's why my overall rating is an Average. The pool is small. Don't let those pictures fool you. But my overall was good and I loved our balcony overlooking the lake. The late check-out was also a bonus (especially being on New Year's Day) but the buffet breakfast was a bit disappointing. They had more Mexican and pasta dishes than actual hot breakfast food items. The staff was very helpful and was able to check us in early too. The location was also good. A quick walk into the downtown area of Queenstown (7 mins) but far away to enjoy some quiet time. If you do book here, I highly recommend getting one of the more expensive rooms with the view of the lake, otherwise don't think it would be worth it to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned however interesting to note that the breakfast buffet had mexican & pasta dishes, will follow up as we dont have such dishes available.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Multi-story Hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.