We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown to your Saves list
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The rooms resemble dated mobile homes and the bathrooms are what you would see in a hostel.
Service is dreadful at breakfast there was one waiter for the whole place and when you asked or cutlery is seemed to be a major inconvenience . The breakfast buffet food ran out and the waiter said sorry we did not think this many people would come to breakfast ! Maybe they should see how many rooms were booked !
The layout of the hotel is bizarre and it's very dated and tired

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your post. Without knowing the room type you booked, it is difficult to comment as we have a wide variety of accommodation room types available. Refurbishment plans are in place. I have addressed your comments and concerns regarding breakfast to the relevant department head and I apologise it did not meet with your satisfaction.
Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    446
    363
    201
    125
See reviews for
219
616
75
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I don't know about some of the other reviews but I found this hotel to be in an excellent location and the rooms very comfortable. I had a lake front view but the restaurant is the biggest plus. Watching the sun come up over the lake while I enjoyed the breakfast was outstanding. Food was ok as well. This was our first experience staying at a Rydges in both Cairns and Queenstown and I would come back. I even saw a front desk person jump out from behind the counter and help off load bags from a van.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Since I have not stayed elsewhere in Queenstown, don't know this compares to others in area but I was disappointed. Booked a lake view room. Views from floors 7 and up can see the lake over the seventh floor partial rooftop parking lot and behind the bar at the front on the hotel - crazy design or later addition. Complained and was moved to "better" view room on second floor overlooking large blacktopped roof/balcony so again obstructed unless you walked out to edge some twenty to thirty feet out, again crazy design. Found bathrooms very well worn and small as were rooms. Beds too soft. Free wifi in bar area only. Did have a nice evening meal in restaurant. I would stay elsewhere if I return to area. This was my third stay with Rydges chain, others being in Auckland and London within last year and they ALL have been in need of refurbishing

Room Tip: Maybe floors four thru six on outer edges?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
You reviews are very important and I thank you for taking the time to post them. We are in the planning stages of refurbishment. We are also in the process of installing Wifi throughout the hotel. I have pasted your kind comments regarding your dinner experience onto our Executive Chef. Both Rydges Auckland and London have both recently completed major refurbishments. If you have the opportunity to visit them again, I would recommend it. You will not be disappointed.
Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

As were delayed by two days due to the a snow blizzard the staff were very kind & sent a bottle of wine up for us to celebrate finally getting to our honeymoon.The view from our room was stunning and the location was perfect it was only a short walk into town and it was super easy to arrrange transport to ski fields. Perfect to be close to town but far enough away from the hussle & bussle of the night life.Great room menu.The rooms were comfortable and clean and the spa was very hot & clean.The most comfy bed we have ever stayed in. Only problems were the walls are very thin & you can hear all your neighbours have to say! Can be enternaing thru! All The staff were friendly, lovely and very helpful. We had a wonderful 10 days and are planning to stay again in next winter.

Room Tip: We had the a small suite? not sure of the correcrr name. For stays over 2 nights I would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We received a complimentary updgrade upon arrival - and also being our honeymoon we received a bottle of champagne with a card that was signed by the staff that were on. That was a very special touch.

The room was basic, but all we needed for our one night stay. The view we had was tarnished by the rooftop and air conditioner. As we were only staying the one night, we were not too concerned. Was the perfect location being just outside of Queenstown.

The walls were very thin, so i would next time ask not to be situated near a family, as their crying baby was very annoying all through the night, and the yelling at the kids at 7AM was also not appreciated.

The conciege was also not overly helpful when asked where the bar was as we wanted to grab a drink, he directed us to the bar, but failed to tell us it wasnt yet open.

Overall the bed was super comfy, i have never slept in a more comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Avoid being near families Ask for a room on the town side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The view from our room was stunning and the location was brilliant it was only a short walk into town and it was easy to get transport to ski fields. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the spa and sauna were wonderful. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Overall had a wonderful and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The location is perfect. Just outside the busy part of Queenstown, but right across the road from the lake. The service from the staff at the desk was excellent, and we were even offered a complimentary upgrade.
The view of the lake is amazing!
The hotel itself feels a little dated, but for the price we were very happy.
The room was a good size, and everything was very clean. There was no noise from the street and the bed was very comfortable.
Overall we were very happy with this hotel, and at the right price would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Multi-story Hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.