We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to end our Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel to your Saves list
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Arthur's Point Road | Arthur's Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in - we are very fussy travellers and have high standards - this hotel ticked all the boxes. We love Boutique hotels and this one was special - not too far from beautiful Queenstown but enough to relax away from the crowds.

From the moment we arrived through the beautiful gates and gardens we knew we would love this place. The hotel decor was classic, warm and welcoming. Our room was an Alpine room and had the best view of the mountains and shotover - the balcony was great to sit and watch the jetboats speed pass and to watch the shadows change on the mountains. Our room was very clean, lots of space, nicely furnished and always well serviced - clean towels and always well stocked.

Included in our package was breakfast - continental and a cooked breakfast which was beautiful - try the eggs Benedict. The continental breakfast was basic.

The staff was always pleasant and attentive - The hotel is under new management and some staff still in training. There was a bit of construction going on - building of a new spa but that did not affect us in any way - staff informed us of this otherwise we would not have noticed too much.Big thanks to Lucas who was very helpful.

It took us 10 minutes to get into town - we had our own car which was easy as we could go and come as we wanted. Definitely recommend you have your own vehicle, otherwise it’s expensive to get around - approx $26 taxis ride one way into town.

We will come back

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    72
    31
    8
    16
See reviews for
33
196
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The hotel was shabby and run down with only minimal staff. Beds remained unmade, only duvet straightened. Bathroom towels very rough, washed out and some stained. Bedrooms depressing, balcony marble table top unsecure. Amenities not available - contractors debris lying around. Advertised shuttle bus service into Queenstown - which was 7K distance - not reliable and only 3 times per day. Preordered meals less than enjoyable. Hotel public rooms cold.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNPQ, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Dear Reviewer Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed that we did not live up to your expectation and we can assure you a through review of our property will be undertaken. With Thanks General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed at the Nugget Point Dec 30-Jan 1, 2009. Queenstown itself is an amazing place and Nugget Point is about 10 minutes outside of town, perched on a rise above the river. The hotel is boutique but run very well.
We had booked an Alpine view room, thinking that it was facing the mountains we saw in the pictures. It was actually facing the parking lot so we asked if we could upgrade to the real view we wanted. For $50 US more a night, we were moved to a room facing the river and mountains and it was completely worth it. We would stand on the balcony and watch the Shotover Jets in the river, the clouds passing over the mountains and just enjoying the peace.
We decided to spend New Years Eve at the hotel restaurant since the weather was rainy and chilly and didn't want to be in the craziness of Queenstown proper. We didn't know what to expect but the food was spectacular - we lingered 5 hours over 5 courses and had an amazing bottle of wine that was recommended by Barry, the owner.
This hotel is on our list of places to return every time we go to NZ.

  • Liked — The location and the intimate feel of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

Presidential Suite(316- this is the best of 4)
The room: Very large, very comfortable, great view
over the shotover river with a Jakuzzi
on the balcony.
The location: 20 minute out of town. The advertised
shuttle service very infrequent and
inflexible. Cab fare NZD 30 each direction.
The food & bar: the breakfast buffet is somewhat basic
and definitely not 5 star. They make nice
scrambled eggs though. I would not trust
them with a Margaritha.
The service: Amature, but willing if prodded.

  • Liked — Size and comfort of room
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed for two great nights at this fabulous luxury hotel located in an easy to find and idyllic spot just outside Queenstown.The hotel was a real treasure trove of interesting and high quality decor and furnishings from around the world.The owner, whom we met on several ocassions during our stay, was incredibly helpful and interesting.The staff too were very friendly and attentive.We enjoyed the relaxation of this fine boutique hotel and the garden and views were simply amazing.We dined in the restaurant on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience of a magnificently decorated dining room,a huge choice of fine wines and meals that were exquisitely prepared and cooked to perfection.The whole ambience and experience will certainly encourage us to revisit.

  • Liked — decor and furnishings
  • Disliked — unfinished refurbishments
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiddingfold, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

On our 4 week trip to New Zealand, this was the hotel I was looking forward to staying in the most from reading the reviews and looking at the photos. The room was certainly the nicest and the service was impeccable, we were met on time at the airport and the two ladies on Reception (Helen and ?) were friendly, helpful and always on hand to advise and offer local knowledge.

However it was a bit of a shame that such a lovely hotel was pretty much empty and as a result the atmosphere lacking - not really the hotel's fault and it was early season but you felt abit self conscious and we found ourselves whispering alot! I think had this hotel been busy (and offered freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast!) that it would come into its own as it offers great service, lovely rooms with great facilities and wonderful views (for river view suites) but as it was we spent most breakfasts alone and saw a handful of people during our stay. The great thing about it was that we had very personal service which was a nice change to the usual impersonal nature of some hotels.

In light of its obvious capacity and that we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary it would have been nice to be offered an upgraded room....we were, but at a cost (and it was like, you have this room but look at what you could have for extra $ and we were sucked in..well and truly!). I know it shouldn't be expected but it wouldn't really have cost them anything to have done it and what a demonstration of excellent customer relations if they had done so. I think with so much choice for guests in this day and age, it's about standing out from the competition. Still, can't really complain at a hotel conducting themselves like the business they are!! In all fairness they were kind enough to leave chocolates and fresh flowers in our room on our anniversary which was lovely.

Nevertheless, the hotel was wonderful and the personal service did make it stand out. It is situated about 10 mins drive from Queenstown and it was nice that we had the benefit of peace and quiet and yet the hustle and bustle of Queenstown was accessible by the free shuttle which leaves the hotel 3 times a day. This doesn't extend to after 5pm however so if you are out on the tiles in Queenstown, you'll need to spend a tenner for a taxi to get you back.

We ate lunch once at the hotel the day we got there, lunch was advertised and yet there was no lunch menu and having lunch wasn't exactly encouraged. Again, not sure if this was reflective of the off season. Having said this, what we did eat was very nice. In terms of dinner, we were a little put off by an expensive dinner menu and a quiet dining room and ate in town every night.

All in all, a great little hotel with lots of potential. They are in the middle of building a Spa which will be a great addition. We'd definitely go back.

  • Liked — Our room with a view
  • Disliked — It was a bit quiet
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

After a somewhat disappointing few days in the Bay of Islands where the "kiss me quick" commercialism of Pahia reminded us of Weston super Mare, it was great to make a second visit to Queenstown. On our last visit two years ago we stayed at the Heritage, which was fine though we tended to eat out because the cuisine was a little unexciting. Having spotted Nugget Point on our travels, we booked our stay there for a week, planning to do some hiking in the fantastic scenery all round that area. It was a great choice and we enjoyed the most wonderful time. Perhaps the best thing about Nugget Point is the people who run it - they are all so genuine and nice as well as being immensely professional. The accommodation and facilities are excellent -even down to the pillows which I am very fussy about. Standards of comfort and cleanliness are exemplary. Even the gym is equipped with top of the range kit which is a pleasure to use.

We did not eat out at all while staying at Nugget Point. Salina Walters (who co-owns the hotel with her husband) cooked for us every night as the main chef was on holiday. She is truly a world class cook and even though it was several months ago, I still savour many of the dishes she put in front of us. All our meals were a real pleasure and the atmosphere in the dining room is great.

Hopefully, we shall return to New Zealand and another visit to our friends at Nugget Point is top of our list.

Robert and Jackie Davies, Priston, Bath, England

  • Liked — the welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthur's Point Road | Arthur's Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Queenstown Nugget Point Boutique Hotel & Spa is located just 8 minutes from central Queenstown and 8 minutes from Coronet Peak Ski field. This intimate, boutique hotel offers stunning views of the Shotover River and mountain ranges beyond, providing a private location, perfect for a getaway.All rooms are 5-star, luxurious suites, with their own balcony or patio boasting river, alpine or garden views. Guest amenities include: on-site evening dining at Birches Restaurant- fine food and stunning panoramic views, relaxation at the Shotover Lounge Bar with open fireplaces, guest library, and balcony, and breakfast every morning in the breakfast restaurant overlooking the hotel's gardens.The Spa at Nugget Point offers massage and beauty treatments, private treatment rooms to make the most of the stunning location, and a luxurious spa suite with plunge pools, spa bath, rain showers, sauna, steam room and more.Distinction Queenstown is fully New Zealand owned and operated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.