We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel to your Saves list
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Arthur's Point Road | Arthur's Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

My girlfiend and I decided to esacape the horrid auckland weather and traffic a few weekend's ago and decided on Nugget Point. From all the great comments over the web and looking at their website we thought it would be just what we needed. We were NOT dissapointed!
Like most of the other comments on trip advisor we too had a great time. We are the "arty type" and love our art! Nugget Point certainly is a homely place from wall painted art to a selection of international ornaments and artifacts in the lounge and library area. I guess its really all down to what your taste is. If your a person that loves to feel at home "nugget point is your place". It is 7-minutes out of town - which we found really good... we wanted to be "out of the town hustle and bustle" - the hotel has a shuttle which we found really useful and utilised as much as we could.
We cant wait to return and will be telling all our friends about the welcoming ambience and great service we received!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    72
    31
    8
    16
See reviews for
33
196
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

Stayed at Nugget Point for the second time this year and was again amazed by the fantastic service and the changes that are continually occuring at the Hotel. Their newest change being the whole revamp of the reception area - its all totally new Italian Marble and best of all its heated! From the time I arrived at the hotel (greeted at the door by the Manager) the personal service is exceptional beyond doubt!
They were in the process of erecting some fabulous new gates on the front of the property which is going to make it more exclusive - its going to be a must visit place for all those private travellers who want a bit of privacy from the outside world....

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2005

We were booked in for the Hideaway special, which should have consisted of 3 nights in an executive suite - approx 450 per night. (expensive by NZ standards)
On arrival we were greeted by a stack of cargo boxes on the front lawn of the property. On entry to the lobby we were greeted by overpowering paint fumes as renovators paintind the lobby. The property itself seemed to be bit rundown. So we thought - "thats okay I am sure the rooms are nice".
Got to the rooms and the disappointment didn't stop.
I have stayed in many hotels for a fraction of the price that surpassed what was supplied here. There was mould growing on the balcony, the decor was nasty, and the room wasn't cleaned properly. It had nothing to offer over and above a standard hotel room.They also only have 2 tv channels. For a premium priced room this was all very poor. We were expecting a luxury retreat. We had nothing close to that.
It turns out through looking at their website further, that we were in fact in a junior suite, NOT the executive suite as booked . This fact further astounded me.
So we told them we were not happy , and rather than try to make us feel a bit better about it all (or put us in the executive room we had booked), the attitude was one of - "well tough you have to pay for all three nights as per the cancellation poilicy". I would hardly call it a cancellation if we have arrived, and departed due to a product not up to standard.
But we made the decision to leave regardless, and fight it later on - rather than totally soil our holiday
As soon as I walked out the door my credit card was billed. Needless to say I am figthing to get that cancelled.
There are many lovely properties in queenstown with views and quality that far surpass this, shop around.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2005
In response to these comments I would like to point out that this guest seems to have stayed in a completely different place compared to all the other fabulous comments previous guests have posted in recent times.

Upon investigation - we note the following:

The Guest had booked the Hideaway Special Package:
NZ$399 per night (NOT $450), including accommodation in an Executive Suite River View, fully-cooked breakfast daily and a 3-course gourmet dinner on night of arrival. Our Executive Suites are usually NZ$650+GST per night and only include Breakfast, so this guest indeed received a fantastic deal!

With regard to the cardboard box this guest is referring to. This was housing our recently delivered Hotel gates, which have now been fitted. By no-means do we have a messy property - see our other guest comments!

With regards to the paint comment, we had at the time just finished our multi-million dollar upgrade of the hotel. The lobby had been painted the month prior. This person must have very good smell!!

With regards to the Run-down comment we have just completed a multi-million dollar gut and fit-out of the hotel. Nothing could be run-down as all new materials have been used!

Nugget Point is a Luxury Hotel offering a range of "Resort" type activities, facilities and ammenities from private heli-pad up to our exclusive home theatre!

The decor of the hotel is a carfeully selected collection of international paintings and artifacts, catering for the many international guests of whom Nugget Point hosts. With many an art collection - the decor is certainly not nasty, but more of an International ART GAllery.

In-house we have the standard New Zealand television channels and Cable Television (SKY TV).

This guest was accommodated in an Executive Suite. Our Junior Suites are on our 1st floor and exclude the in-room spa bath and 40" plasma television and DVD home entertainment system with a selection of ofer 300 complimentary DVD's for guest use.

Please visit the other guest comments posted on Trip Advisor as most guest comments are extreemly positive!!!!

Happy travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

What a lovely stay.
We stayed at Nugget Point for 3-days on our Honeymoon on their Hideaway Special Package. The Package included a sumptious Fully Cooked Breakfast Daily, a absolutrely mouth watering 3-course meal on arrival night and A+++ friendly, hosted service.
We had previously stayed at the new Sofitel for a couple nights when arriving in Queenstownof however the service and quality of Nugget Point compared to the Sofitel was non-comparible. The Sofitel is very "sterile" and has no theme or "feel". Nugget Point has a real "feel" for it and is quite unique. The Team certainly made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2005

We spent 5 absolutely fabulous days at Nugget Point on our honeymoon. The team at Nugget took care of our evey-need from breakfast in bed to organising an in-room massage for us.
The facilities and restaurant were excellent. Dining in the evenings with candle light just added to the romantic honeymoon we had always planned. It was 7-minutes from town, but for a change it was great to be away from everything and waking up to fresh air each morning was revitalising. We couldnt have asked for anything better!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

We stayed at the Nugget Point and had excellent service while we were there.

The staff were incredibly friendly, and the hotel was clean and large.
The dining in the evenings was excellent with attentive service (particularly Michael) - they even waited to serve us dinner knowing we were going to be back late from a coach trip one night, which was lovely with a log fire, perfect steak and an excellent bottle of red wine.

The courtsey buses to Queenstown are no problems, and is not a drawback for the hotel, particular as you have an excellent view of the Shotover River from the terrace.

We booked a coach trip one day which was delayed, and they organised for us to catch the trip up, even though we had not booked the trip with them - just a further example of the excellent all round service.

We extended our stay by one night without any problems - it was perfect in every way!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

Thanks for the quality of your hospitality at Nugget Point.

You have the top of the hotel in Queenstown , we really enjoy our holidays.

See you again one day in your beatiful and nice country.

The family from Noumea, New Caledonia

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthur's Point Road | Arthur's Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Queenstown Nugget Point Boutique Hotel & Spa is located just 8 minutes from central Queenstown and 8 minutes from Coronet Peak Ski field. This intimate, boutique hotel offers stunning views of the Shotover River and mountain ranges beyond, providing a private location, perfect for a getaway.All rooms are 5-star, luxurious suites, with their own balcony or patio boasting river, alpine or garden views. Guest amenities include: on-site evening dining at Birches Restaurant- fine food and stunning panoramic views, relaxation at the Shotover Lounge Bar with open fireplaces, guest library, and balcony, and breakfast every morning in the breakfast restaurant overlooking the hotel's gardens.The Spa at Nugget Point offers massage and beauty treatments, private treatment rooms to make the most of the stunning location, and a luxurious spa suite with plunge pools, spa bath, rain showers, sauna, steam room and more.Distinction Queenstown is fully New Zealand owned and operated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.