We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel to your Saves list
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Arthur's Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Torrance, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Was really pleased with this hotel. Had everything we needed and so clean. Great place to spend our honeymoon in New Zealand. The staff was really nice. They even upgraded our room to a romantic view of the river. So amazing, I couldn't have asked for better. I was so impressed with their service too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    81
    36
    8
    16
See reviews for
40
219
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohope, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great friendly staff. Great location with beautiful views. Very peaceful and quiet. A $20 taxi fare from Queenstown. My room was well appointed. Roomy, nice lounge area, super king bed, separate shower and spa bath, and heaps of storage space. The complex is a bit "tired" and some guests mentioned their rooms were in need of a spruce up (paint peeling off of ceilings and walls etc). Whilst my room was reasonably clean on arrival, the housekeeping was a bit lax over the week I stayed, and a bit of chasing-up housekeeping was needed. However, the spa was an absolute delight ... Steam room, sauna, spa pool, tepid swimming pool and a fabulous selection of spa treatments. Over my week stay I enjoyed three treatments (facial, full body massage, and Indian head massage), a
tad expensive, but a worthwhile treat.

Room Tip: Close to Coronet Peak turnoff. Recommend the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We got this in a great deal for $110 a night and found it excellent value for money. Our suite was huge and the hot tub was an added bonus. Equal distance between Queenstown and Arrowtown, but you will need a hire car. Lots of facilities (movie room, gym, day spa) and the staff are very helpful in showing you around. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a trip down to Te Anau as a romantic getaway. We were originally intending on going into Queenstown to have dinner but after booking into Distinction Nugget Point, we decided to stay at the hotel.
What a beautiful view!! We were so impressed with the way we were treated at check in, we decided to take advantage of the services at the hotel and stay there for the evening.
The rooms were well appointed in an Edwardian theme, while not to our personal taste, was beautiful, clean and were very comfortable. We had a garden view room with a balcony.
We opted to eat at the hotel restaurant in the evening. What a fantastic meal, excellent and attentive service - all made even more special due to the breath taking view from our table.
We then took advantage of a well stocked DVD library and spent the remainder of our evening in our rooms.
We did not take advantage of breakfast the next morning or the spa, so unfortunately are unable to comment on these services.
We had a fantastic time at this hotel and have no doubt that we will be returning to visit.
Special mention to the attentive staff at check in who gave us a tour of the hotel amenities and made us feel very special from the minute we walked in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

it is a nice hotel. comparatively cheaper than those hotels in town. a little far away from the town but we stayed there for more than a week and got a free upgrade from the business suit to the luxury suit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fell upon this place through an online search and could not have been happier. The hotel was quite dead as their tourist season was over for the year so the place was pretty quite - which was nice! The room was very roomy and comfortable. Although the outlet in the bathroom did not function, the room did have many amenities that were very nice - robes, French press, nice selection of teas, fresh milk, sofa, lots of closet space, nice bathroom. The spa was beautiful and the breakfast in the restaurant was delicious. The view from the bar was nothing short of amazing as it overlooks the Shotover River. That coupled with the fall color on the trees made the view exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I would have to say, with the amount of places i have stayed, this one takes the cake.
This place was well worth spending the extra to make it enjoyable. From arrival we had nothing but excellent front-desk assistant. Whenever we passed the front desk the staff were helpfull, friendly, and extremely pleasent to deal with. We arrived late in the day and decided to hang out in the restaurant and enjoyed chilling with a wine from their amazing selection. The longer we stayed here the better things got.
If you want to stay somewhere that is value for money within all corners of every aspect of your stay then do not hesitate, book now and enjoy as much as we did for our honeymoon.
Thanks Distinction for a very enjoyable honeymoon, we will be back for sure!!!!

Room Tip: river view rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthur's Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.