We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene with Stunning Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel to your Saves list
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Arthur's Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Serene with Stunning Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently stayed a couple of nights at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. It has one of most beautiful room views. We checked ourselves in the superior river view suite. The view of these rooms are amazing. They oversee the Queenstown’s Shotover River and surrounding mountains. It is indeed picture perfect. Each room has its own private balcony and a personal spa tub in the bathroom. The hotel also has really nice spa setup. The whole spa area has been designed very well. We really enjoyed space services; the massage is a must do at this hotel after a tiring day of travel and activity. The food options are limited and is allright, nothing extra special.There are better eating joints in Queenstown if you don't mind the commute.

The staff at the hotel are really friendly and considerate. During our stay, due to some maintenance work in the kitchen we could not order hot breakfast, the staff quickly apologized and offered us a bottle of house wine, which I thought was good customer service. We did however notice a lack of staff during our stay. Didn't make much difference to us, however some additional staff might have helped to make the place run a bit more efficiently.

This hotel is situated at a 15 min drive from Queenstown town-center So it is advisable to hire a rental car. Taxis are available however its better if you get a rental car. We had one and it was easy for us to hop into the city and commute to the airport. There is plenty of parking spaces available at the hotel. Overall it was a good experience and we look forward to come back and stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: Choose the river facing room. Garden facing rooms don't have the views. It is worth paying extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    81
    36
    8
    16
See reviews for
40
219
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place was fantastic and the staff were equally if not more fantastic! We were warmly greeted and given a tour of the property by Andrew whom also allowed us to use another room (our booked room would not be ready in time) whilst getting ready for our Wedding which was a definite life saver!

When we arrived back late that night after the wedding we were surprised in our room with champagne, a stunning view and a fabulous room (though we thought we couldn't go wrong booking the presidential suite). The room, spa on the balcony and bedroom itself was great value for money and in an ideal location. Just out from the main Queenstown center and 10 minutes from Arrowtown this is a perfect spot to venture around and explore the amazing area.

We will definitely return and hopefully can get back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had the privledge to stay at Nugget Point for 7 nights which was then extended for 3 nights due to being snowed in at the airport in September 2012. We are already recommending the hotel to friends. Our room overlooking the Shotover River was spacious even with a roll out bed for our daughter. The view is stunning and you can hear and see the jets zooming past.
Our rate included breakfast and we worked our way through the menu and enjoyed all ther variations on eggs! Our daughter highly recommends the omlettes! We dined in the very elegant restuarant with friends we met during our stay and had an excellent meal. My husband enjoyed a few drinks in the bar with the huge fire in the evenings.
The spa is fabulous, very opulent and relaxing. Beauty and Massage therapists very experienced and professional. We enjoyed the use of the pool as a family in the evenings and we found this a real bonus holidaying as a family. The selection of DVD's is great and we made good use of the cinema room with our daughter. The popcorn was a lovely extra.
The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite. We felt like we knew most of them after our 10 days stay. Special mention of Jen, Matt,Phoebe, Adrien, Allesia and Emma who were outstanding. Well done and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the Shotover River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Me and my husband had one of the best weekends away.This hotel has everything that you can ask for.We stayed in the river view suite which was a decent size room and breathtaking view of the shot over river and snow peaked mountains.We had absolutely friendly , efficient and accommodating hotel staff and delicious food.The spa and pool has a beautiful architecture.My best pick ever if I go to queestown and would recommend this hotel to you all.Classic luxury and comfort combined with great service.

Room Tip: Look for great deals on wotif :) that's where I found this !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were warmly greeted at the door by Andrew the Manager who gave us the site tour and what to expect from our stay. Everything lived up to what he said + more.
The view from our suite balcony was jaw dropping. The spa was world class, the breakfast yummy, the rooms and decor uniquely warm and cosy, and of corse we did a wee workout in the gym the best I have been to in any hotel/resort in the world A+ ! thanks guys We will be back !

Room Tip: Get a suite the view over the shot over will be a memory forever
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you value service, value for money and the ability to do anything from relax in a warm pool while looking at snow capped mountains to playing squash or working out at the gym you will NOT be let down here.
I have been training customer service staff for over 15 years and as a traveller I can count on one hand the WOW! experiences I have had and this is now one of them!
I cannot rave enough about the size of the rooms, the service of the staff, the attention to detail, the quality of the food and wine and the location.
To all the staff - you are amazing and keep up the great job, we WILL be back!

Room Tip: The suite on the river is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great service,very clean and tidy, excellent guest services. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the lack of parking available.the amenities were great, and the squash court was in very good condition. I was surprised that there was no sky tv available in the rooms, but this was made up for, by a very good DVD movie library available free.we will certainly return next time we are in queenstown.
Also the need to unblock their drains, because when it rains they overflow.
Very nice spa bath in the room as well. I never had a chance to try the movie theatre but it looked nice and cosy. Never had a chance to use the pool or spa pool either but that looked great also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the shotover river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthur's Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.