We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we'd hoped for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Queenstown to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
gatorliz75
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what we'd hoped for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

There is a reason this hotel is rated #28 of 66 hotels in Queenstown, it's very dated!
I can not comment on lake views rooms, as we had a garden view room, so we faced the pool area.
The lobby of the hotel is misleading. This part of the hotel has been renovated leading you to think your room would have similar decor...NO! The carpet in the hallways is very stained & dated. Any hotel room that is still using the traditional bedspread versus a duvet cover is automatically dated. These bedspreads are rarely washed & definitely not after each guest. When we pulled back the comforter to check the sheets, we found a few hairs on the sheets. While I think the sheets were definitely clean (i.e. had been changed since the previous guest), there were still hairs stuck to the sheets...it was gross. We requested that housekeeping come change the sheets. When they did, we watched them whip the bedspread off the bed & onto the floor, then re-put it on the bed...this is disgusting. The bathrooms are very dated as well. The vents had rust/dirt like the kind that sticks to your dryer vent.
We picked this hotel for our final night stay on our way back from the Milford Sounds. Against my better judgment, I let my husband convince me to stay at this hotel based on the last few reviews, despite it's rating. Needless to say, I wish we'd spent $20 more & stayed at the Heritage Queenstown which was located right around the corner.
The Mercure is not within walking distance to the towne center!! It's up a very steep hill...
Whiel the staff were nice & tried to make us happy, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know going to Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    354
    139
    49
    24
See reviews for
198
327
58
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Korora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

First impressions were what amazing views of the lake and mountains, they could be enjoyed from the main dining room, breakfast room and the room we were given. Our room was spacious and well presented. Apart from the usual tea/coffee making facilities, the mini bar and directory detailing the resort facilities I was surprised to find a separate leaflet listing personal items available for purchase and their prices; this saved having to ask staff, a great idea.
The staff were very attentive and very eager to please. We spent ten days at the resort and always felt a welcoming atmosphere.
The quality of meals and prices were good value; with plenty of choice.
We had a rental car but if you needed transport to town the local bus pulled into the hotel regularly and the fare was reasonable. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toormina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

The Hotel has a stunning location; my room, dining room etc. had incredib le views over Lake Wakitipu. Staff very friendly and attentive. Town is easily accessed by excellent bus service and local taxis. Helpful information and assistance for tours etc. readily available., Food good and well-priced.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in 2009 and were very impressed. On arrival we were upgraded to a lake view room (as it seems everybody is after reading reviews below!) and the views of the lake and the remarkables from the window were unbelievable. Gym is good and also has the same amazing views. Hotel is about 15 mins walk from town. Aside from the hill on the way back which is a bit of a killer but made me feel better about eating rack of ribs at the flame restaurant near the waterfront (you must go there!), the walk to and from town is lovely as goes along the lakeside. Room was very large for 2 people and clean which is all we expected. Overall I would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

On arrival we were upgraded to a lakeview room. we were impressed with the size of the room and the wonderful view. As we had booked a twin room the double beds for each guest was a treat.
However, the decor is VERY TIRED. And, I am sorry to say, I am never impressed when i am greeted with the previous guest's hair in the bottom of the bath. Generally the room was not clean.
No hair dryer was supplied which is usually expected in a NZ hotel at this level.
The people were very courteous and helpful on reception but unfortunately had very little initiative.
The package deal we booked which included full breakfast for two made this a very affordable hotel and with the views being spectaqcular, we overlooked most of the cleanliness issues.
Imagine our dismay when the hotel denied the booking included breakfast. Suddenly we were staying at a very expensive hotel!! My request they check the booking went unheaded. The voucher simply noted that we had paid and the date but not the detail of the booking. The hotel would not check the booking with the agent. We could not check the booking with the agent without spending extra money - the price of one breakfast -to access the hotel internet!!!
We later followed up with the agent who confirmed the detail but would not followup with the hotel. Our contact with the hotel met with "sorry there is nothing we can do now"!
All in all, our relaxing stay turned into a stressful expensive time.
I would not recommend booking a last minute deal or travelbug deal with this hotel.
Another reason to choose the hotel is the big attractive swimming pool. BEWARE. The pool heater does not work and the lake is a warmer place to swim at 4 degrees!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

The service was not as expected. We were 'upgraded' to a king room, although the price for 2 doubles and the king room was the same. Met with resistance in changing the room but later corrected. Breakfast was good and the views from the rooms are excellent. There is a pool which was supposed to be heated, but wasn't. Overall, a good hotel, but you need to have a car to drive into town.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

After reading some of the no-so-impressive previous posts we were a little apprehensive about this booking which was a little last-minute and heavily price driven.

We were very impressed though.

We were upgraded to a lakeview room - a stunning scene!! The room was large, modern and clean. No problems with noise from other occupants. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient.

My only criticism is the same as one made on an earlier post about the beds - too small!! But I guess if you're used to a standard double then it's not a problem!!

We had a rental car so the trip into town was no problem (a few minutes at most) but to walk would be a stretch because the hotel is quite a way up a steep hill!!!

Overall an excellent experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — The view!!!
  • Disliked — The bed :(
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.