We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Queenstown to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Tired”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Arrived at the hotel and there was mix up with our booking, we paid extra for a lakeview room, and the view was great, this was the only positive thing about our stay...

1. Bathroom was mouldy and very dated, it looked like it was pretty old and have never had a cent spent on it.

2. Wallpaper was peeling of the walls.

3. Minibar fridge was so loud we had to turn it off to get to sleep.

4. Fire alarm goes off at 4 am, this turned out to be a false alarm, however the guests had to tsand in rain and freezing conditions while the fire dept turned up and checked things, no explanation was given for the alarm.

My wife and I actually gave each other a high 5 when we got in our car to leave!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    355
    141
    49
    24
See reviews for
200
329
58
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

In no particular order.

Location - Slightly out of town (3-4 km's from town centre, with last 1 km a steep up hill - not reccommended on a cold night. Taxi fare from resort into/out of town $10.00 NZ ((good value)) Being out of town, there was no traffic noise - therefore from that point of view - excellent. (* See comment below)

Staff - Were very friendly and helpfull, in a professional way. i.e. doing what was required, in an efficient, friendly way.

View - I would reccommned a lake view room, as the view from them is, well spectacular.

Rooms - The one we had anyway (312), a little tired. The carpet had been replace "recently" (2-3 years ago - guess) but the rest was in the 90's, and it showed i.e. scratches on the woodwork, grout on the bathroom tiles - worse for wear (walls and floor), and bathroom cabinets - water stained. That said, the rooms were clean and tidy (in as much as the cleaners could do)

Would I reccommend this hotel? Well .... probably yes (even in light of the comments above, and the fact that we have paid less and stayed at better) because a) a renovation programe is in place and being followed thro', and b) this is Queenstown NZ, where during the peak seasons (which is just about all year round) it is still not bad value for money. i.e. anything better is going to cost you more.

(*) During our first night (stayed two) a fellow "guest" had a cell phone conversation about not much, with a friend in Australia, in the corridor at the top of her voice, at about 2 am. It was only after a "request" from two other guests that she went somewhere else to continue her conversation, with the comment "hey that's people telling me to keep quite, as they are trying to sleep". My request is to all fellow hotel guests that we don't tolerate this kind of carry on any more. If they don't know the word consideration, well it's time for education. As the NIKE slogan goes - just do it - speak up, for all of us that want a good night sleep in a hotel.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Our room a bit tired
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We chose this hotel wanting to stay on Fernhill Road out of the centre of Queenstown. It's best if you have a car otherwise you'll need to catch the bus or walk up a rather steep hill. On check-in the room we booked wasn't available but after some discusion we did get our lake-view room. The view is stunning but the room whilst reasonably clean and comfortable was looking a bit worn and in need of refurbishment. The bathroom has a rather odd lay out that seems to result in everything getting wet.. We got a good discount on the Mercure website but I'm not sure I'd stay again as there's lots of choice of accomodation in Queenstown.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

I was in Queenstown on buisness and required a hotel with all the standard business facilities that was central to the city and provided well priced accomodation.

This hotel provided all of the above to a standard equal to anywhere I have stayed in New Zealand. The rooms were extremelly well presented, and large. All services we required were availiable and the service from the staff was first rate.

The leisure facilites were also first class, and the meals served in front of what must be one of the best views in the country were outstanding. this meant the weekend portion of the trip was a great break from the working week

Nothing but praise for this hotel and having stayed at a number of other Hotels in Queenstown would certianly rate this venue as number one - will definitly stay again

  • Liked — the rooms, the views , the food and the service
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

We splurged and went for a lake view room. We were given a room on the bottom level - floor 0. We asked to be relocated to a higher floor, but everything was booked. Despite being on the bottom floor the view was really good - thanks to mother nature. The room itself was 'tired' looking and the bathroom was the worst we had all through our travels in NZ - even in small town motels. The location was okay, but would not want to walk into town - the way into town, fine - down a big hill - wouldnt want to walk back up after a night out on the town. Would not stay here again given all the options in Queenstown.

  • Liked — lake view
  • Disliked — room was old and location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

This hotel was a disappointment.
The furnishing was shabby, the room was too hot but had no airconditioning and the window of my room faced the neighbours, so it was hard to be comfortable and maintain privacy.
Staff were not very helpful or knowledgable about the area.
Food from room service was terrible.
And it is not a good location if you did not bring your car.
There is a shuttle bus which helps a bit but it is not always convenient.
I wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Rooms were tidy, if not a little dated. Hotel was in the midst of some renovations, so they are updating as we speak. The view from the rooms and dining areas over the lake and mountains takes your breath away.
Staff are helpful and their pub menu hits the spot. There is a shuttle (day fare is available) that runs you to the town, around and back. Makes for good way to go out for supper with drinks without having to drive.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — breakfast is only buffet style
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.