We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced and very poor restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Queenstown to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Over-priced and very poor restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel has a lovely location on the lake and while feeling quietly tucked away it is actually right in the centre of town and easily accessible for everything. The bar area was quite cosy. However I would avoid the restaurant. The dinner was very over-priced and very average and the ambience almost motorway cafe while breakfast was awful. Go out and have it in a cafe!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the meals in our restaurants. We have passed your comments to our Chef for consideration as we are constantly assessing where we can improve our customers experience.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    384
    159
    56
    26
See reviews for
215
362
62
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a tricky one
Soon as you walk in the room your eye goes directly to the view outside-amazing!!!.Great location on the hill away from the bustle & hustle of town (but not too far away). But once you have taken in the view & take in the room a bit of a disappointment. Although large & very comfortable in need of an upgrade in particular the bathroom. Staff are very helpful & attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall with us and enjoyed the wonderful views and our friendly team. We do hope you return to us on your next trip to Queenstown.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

i wanted to give negative rating to this hotel. my stay was for 5 nights from 14th feb. Breakfast was not at all 3 star and the quality was also bad. They dont take a la carte orders in the morning. if you want to have an omlette than you wont get because its not there in the menu. omlette is not included is the buffet breakfast. i think this review should be read by the chef of the hotel. the staffs are not at at all friendly. I am a accor member since last 6 years but this is my first worst experience. The rooms are outdated. the hotel really needs a renovation. there are many good options in queenstown. the hotel has only good views which every other hotel has near the lake adjoining queenstown central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We have taken your comments into consideration. We do believe we offer a full and varied breakfast buffet, however we are continually looking to enhance our customers experience with us.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is, in many ways, a nice hotel. Located a little outside the centre of Queenstown it is is away from the hustle and bustle that the many backpackers staying there bring with them. Views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables are amazing. I have also found staff to be helpful and nice. So much for the positives. I am still only giving this hotel a 2* rating as I think that there are too many letdowns to merit anything else. First I think that way too many parts of the hotel are run down. Originally I had booked a garden room, but the bathroom in that looked so shabby, and the window was broken. So I asked for an upgrade. While that was dealt with very quickly and in a really nice way - and got me those spectacular lake views - even the upgraded room wasn't exactly great. Again parts of the bathroom looked very worn out, piles of dust were trapped in the vent, and there were other very visible signs of wear and tear. I also think that the breakfast buffet is really rather horrid. New Zealand offers a fantastic cuisine - this very definitely isn't a good example of it. So, overall, my view is that a Mercure should do better. It is a shame, really, that the hotel isn't better maintained. It could be so much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience and your feedback is appreciated, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
904 reviews 904 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
817 helpful votes 817 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

After 15 days in NZ criss crossing the country, staying in all kinds of hotels / motels. eating in all kinds of dining places, visiting numerous public spaces, it is very clear that this country has a major internet / wifi problem among many other problems. It is squeaky clean, very scenic and beautiful, and generally warm people, but all of this tempered by the various problems that a visitor encounters here. I will touch upon just 1 problem that touches this hotel, and the others you can read in my various other reviews.

NZ claims to be part of the Western developed world, but when it comes to internet connectivity for the traveler, it is on par with the developing countries that gouge their visitors for this essential service, now as necessary as water and electricity.

This hotel is a case in point. Its internet policy borders on the ridiculous:

1, No wifi in the rooms (not even at a price)
2. Wifi only in the lobby that too only one login every 24 hrs, i.e. if you log in and log out say within an hour, you are not allowed to log in again! Kaput, your connection with the rest of the world is over!
3. Rooms only have wired connectivity that is 2 tiered. If you are a privileged Accor member you are given 'free' connection. The speed of this 'free' connection is slower than what I used to have in 2000. When you complain, you are graciously 'upgraded' to the premium service, but still no luck. Because you are required to call the help desk, and they will not help you because they will entertain requests for higher speed only from the hotel manager himself.

All in all, it was ridiculous and pathetic. After a long day on the road, and on a long road trip, one expects to come back to the hotel room, take a nice hot shower, switch on the lights and connect and surf. Well, you will get water and lights, but no internet in this hotel.

This is a real shame, because this hotel came up as a very pleasant surprise. The location, away from the center, is just stunning. It probably has the best location in all of Queenstown. If you can manage to get a lakefront room, you can lie in your bed and stare all day at the blue waters of the lake! The rooms are spacious and very functional and comfortable. The bathroom is not too bad either. The public spaces (the lobby, the bar, the restaurant, the outdoor terrace) all have the same stunning views through full height glass windows. Staff and service are warm and hospitable. Did not have the breakfast since It is ridiculously expensive.

So, if you do not care for internet connectivity, stay here and you will love it. But if internet is important, as it is to almost every one these days, stay away, until they amend their stupid policies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your commentary. We have never advertised that we offer WIFI in our accommodation rooms. We are pleased that you enjoyed the tranquil and peaceful environment of our hotel. We hope you enjoyed all the wonderful outdoor pursuits and activities Queenstown has to offer visitors.
Kind Regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

One of the most magnificent views to wake up to! Although a little out of town, this hotel offers excellent quality rooms, good service and an outstanding breakfast. The walk to town is a great way to burn off the brekky calories. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely, positive review. We are heartened to know you are encouraging people to take the 15 minute walk into town as the views all the way down are amazing! For our future guests remember you can catch the Connectabus back up for a nominal fare. We hope you are able to visit us again soon, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs harbour
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My friend and I had three night here in September, its my second stay at this Mercure and fifth trio to Queenstown NZ.
Its best to have a car as its not central but still walking distance. The views are spectacular the stand great and food well worth eating there. Staff very helpful and great value for money.

Room Tip: Always ask for a lake view room worth the extra money in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and review. We are really happy you appreciated the tranquil, serene environment away from the hustle and bustle of the CBD. We are also really happy you felt you received great value for money. Great tip regarding the Lake view rooms as then you can enjoy the amazing sunrises and sunsets over the Remarkables from your bed! We look forward to welcoming you back, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.