We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, but Substandard Building” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Queenstown to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Great Staff, but Substandard Building”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After reading about the elevated location with lake views we decided to book 6 nights in early July. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. There is a gym and a sauna, and the resort is half way up on a steep hill. Our room was on the 2nd floor, but instead of 'Lake Views' we had views of the court yard... a bit depressing.
The walls are made of thin plasterboard, subsequently we were surrounded by a mix of noises from our neighborhood. Some slept with their TVs on, so we had to listen to that all night.
The bed was old, the mattress was worn so we kept rolling into the middle. The bathroom is not designed for big people.
Food in the restaurant was good but the prices were a bit steep. Internet access was an absolute rip-off, although there is free wifi at the bar, limited to 8mb (useless)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We note if your room overlooked a courtyard then you booked a Garden View room. For an additional upgrade fee you can book a Lake View room and enjoy the Lake Views, however, as I advise there are lake views from every part of the Mercure in the lobby, restaurants and bar. We do apologise your stay was interrupted by noisy neighbors and we will endeavor to monitor this issue in the future.
Kind regards, Michelle Dent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    353
    139
    49
    24
See reviews for
197
326
58
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Must ask for lake view rooms. Bus stops at doorstep every 30mins. Great facilities of gym and spa. Rooms are spacious and with great view of the lake. Worth to go back again to Queenstown. It was a fantastic trip!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. The Lake View rooms are sensational and nothing beats waking up or seeing a sunrise or sunset over the Remarkable’s from them!
We hope to see you again soon down South! Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights whilst skiing around Queenstown. Staff were friendly and rooms were good for the price. Would recommend for a couple not wanting to stay in the middle of Queenstown but still want to be close enough to walk to the hotel after a few drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the great Ski season we are enjoying.
We hope to see you return to Mercure in the future,
Kind regards, Michelle Dent , Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

the hotel faces to the lake~its very beautiful view~~ there is little distance to the town~connectbus is the only bus to the town~u can take taxi or shuttle bus(they are expensive~~) the bus stop just outside the hotel ~~but no very early,or very late(before 7:00am,after 10:25pm)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return to Mercure in the future,
Kind regards,Michelle Dent ,Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We dropped into Queenstown on our tour of North & South Island, New Zealand. This is a great centre for all water sports in Summer, and snow sports in Winter. Ideally located in a most fascinating and scenic area of lakes, mountains and the old mining town of Arrowtown. Arriving early evening, we found Queenstown packed with tourists from all parts of the World. Finding a hotel room was very difficult and rather expensive, way beyond our notional overnight budget. I received a local recommendation to try the Mercure Resort Hotel, at the southern edge of town.
We booked into this very attractive and well-appointed Hotel, perhaps for some too far out of the centre. Our room was very comfortable and spacious and very good value compared to the Town. Restaurant offered very good food at competive prices. Its location and view across the Lake made it a stunning and memorable overnight stop. Just disappointed we were moving on, otherwise another night would have been very desirable. The next day we headed to Arrowtown, where their Autumn 10 day Festival was in full swing, incuding a gold-panning championship and a Jazz Band of 6 octagenarians!! Arrowtown is certainly a must do visit to appreciate the history of the area, being the first gold-mining settlement established in South Island over 150 years ago.

Room Tip: A Lake view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for you wonderful review on not only our hotel but also the many wonderful places around Queenstown to enjoy. We are very happy you were recommended to us. We hope you may encourage many more folk to the "Best Chance Saloon"!
Warm regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.