We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what is expected from Mercure” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Queenstown to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not what is expected from Mercure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

on checking in at 7pm we found the room had not been cleaned. beds were done but empty beer cans were on the floor, hair all through the bathroom. we were then told it would be cleaned the next day. returning to our room the next afternoon we found it had still not been cleaned. no toilet paper etc. we were then told it would be clened the next day as they were too busy. at $280 a night i would expect better.
for a queenstown resort it would also be expected that the pool area would be cleane (a waterblasting of the paved area would make a big difference) and the outdoor futniture is broken or wobbly. overall pretty poor and would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Firstly I must apologise profusely for you being allocated a room which clearly had not been serviced. This is certainly not the usual standard for our hotel nor is it usual practice for a guest to be denied a room service whatever time of the day it is. Please could you contact me personally on 03 442 5501 or e mail me on michelle.dent@accor.com to discuss your stay and the shortcomings of our service to you in person.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    354
    139
    49
    24
See reviews for
199
327
58
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent a brief stay at The Mercure during our visit to Queenstown, and our overall impression was that of wasted time. In order to get to the hotel, you have the choice of an extortionately expensive bus ride, or a walk up a rather steep hill. Neither of these are necessarily the fault of the hotel, but definitely work against them. In the end, we spent around fifty dollars, in four days, just on bus rides to and from the hotel. It would be nice to say it was worth it, however service at the hotel was slow at best, and rude and unpleasant more often than not. The room wasn't awful but wasn't as comfortable as you would expect the price to reflect. The food at the restaurant was quite pleasant but by the time we had dealt with brash staff and atrocious wait times it didn't really seem worth it. Queenstown on the whole was nice enough but I would avoid the Mercure on a second trip.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments are unusual in that most of our guests are truly thrilled with the location and the views and service that we offer. We also dispute your comment of the cost of the bus being an "extortionately expensive bus ride" .The bus (which is a public bus system) is NZ$5.00 RETURN. This is a favorable cost comparable to any public transport cost in the world.
We hope you enjoy your future travels,
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here. The assistant manager Ivan was very helpful we fully enjoy the view and the people, food and drinks were great.
We like to give high marks to the staff
Pete Harkins
Sun city center Florida

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at Mercure Queenstown Resort. We are delighted to hear that you our services exceeded your expectations and I will certainly pass on your feedback to our lovely Assistant Manager Ivan. We hope to welcome you back to Queenstown and Mercure Resort sometime soon!
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales & marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Mercure for 2 nights as a couple on 29th & 30th Dec 2012. We are fortunate enough to have a panoramic lake view from room 415. The room was comfortable, spacious and we can just stay lying on the king size bed all day looking at the view!! The friendly staff at the reception helped us with our dinner booking for a table for two at the Vista Restaurant and the window seat they reserved for us was truly breath-taking with unbelievable lake & mountain views with the TSS Earnslaw Steamship cruising back and forth saying hello to us!! We had the 3-course meal for $42 and it was just one of the best dining experience I have ever had in my life with the friendly waitress who was always smiling and helpful - thanks Audrey :) We also had our breakfasts included for both days and again where the food selection was first class and we always had the window seat overlooking the lake and mountains while enjoying the breakfast - the hash-browns are extremely yummy. The only time we left the hotel was to join the Real Journeys Walter Peak evening dining package including cruise onboard the ESS Earnslaw Steamship. What a magical stay at the Mercure Queenstown - I have no doubt we will return again :) Note - we did pay a premium for our stay but it is the peak season and I think it is still good value.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room if you can - the view outside of the window is breathtaking. We stayed on le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback following your stay at Mercure Queenstown Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel including the gorgeous views, our food & beverage facilities and of course our great staff. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to Audrey! We look forward to welcoming you back to Queenstown and Mercure resort sometime soon!
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

hotel is some way out of town and all but the fittest have to get a bus into town although they are quite regular. Hotel is up a very steep hill. room was great - large and comfortable with good disabled facilities.
Breakfasts good with lots of choice although eating can take some time as hotel can be very busy.

Room Tip: get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is true we are situated on such a unique hill location. The fact that we offer the most spectacular views away from the hustle and bustle of town AND offer a fantastic value for money option for Queenstown is a great reason to stay with us.
Our excellent bus service is frequent and well priced. As you may understand the holidays are very busy in such a great destination and our restaurant did get busy prior to New Year. We are happy you enjoyed the food and services and especially that the accessible room was well fit out and made it easy on your stay is fantastic feedback.
We hope to welcome you back,
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The view of the lake was at times hypnotic. We were very fortunate with the weather but found the mercure to be very welcoming and very comfortable. Breakfasts were included in our great deal and were very tasty. The amazing crispy bacon was delicious. The front desk and service throughout was efficient yet understated. The free foyer 8mb internet was a nice treat too. The beds are comfortable and we loved how quiet the area out of town was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your stay at Mercure Queenstown Resort. We are delighted to hear that our service exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our Food and Beverage offerings. I must admit I too enjoy the crispy bacon on the breakfast buffet and I shall pass on your praises to the chef. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful view and being away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre also has its perks such as a great night's sleep. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you down in Queenstown again soon!
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.