We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenstown stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Queenstown to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Queenstown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
A TripAdvisor Member
“Queenstown stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

As an A/club member we received a warm welcome, were upgraded and really enjoyed our stay especially the snow.
The hotel is looking a little 'tired' in some parts but it was clean and the beds were warm and comfortable. We had value for money and would return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    384
    159
    56
    26
See reviews for
215
362
62
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel was very cheap, which I liked that. It’s a bit out of town, fine if you have a car. Rooms are nice and stay warm however the facilities are average. The staff are useless. No one to show you to your room, just go find it yourself. The cleaners are pathetic and we had to call six times in the afternoon over seven hours to ask them to make the beds, every time we were told they will be there within twenty minutes. And twice we waited over 90 minutes for our starters to come out at the restaurant, we were informed our orders had been misplaced and they gave us a free dessert to make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

It was complete loveliness. On arrival my room was upgraded; how lovely was that! The service and friendliness of all staff was lovely to. The bus actually stops at the front door. The view was stunning. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was a lot more modern and better looked-after than most of the Mercure hotels that we stayed at in NZ. We had an excellent room, but what made it special was the view across Lake Wakatipu to the mountains beyond. Watching the steamship TSS Earnslaw chugging by in front of the hotel while supping a drink in one's room was quite an experience.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

It was good value for money and the would recommend it to friends and family.
The parking facility is a big plus at yr hotel.
There no control on the tap for hot or cold, it was always either too hot or too cold and the pressure of the water in the shower was very low.
All in all enjoyed our stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The view of the hotel is excellent. Our room was Lake view and we could see the beautiful lake and mountain view at any time. Service is good and the room is clean with sufficient lighting which I like most. The location is far from town centre with around 5 minutes driving. But it is a excellent place to stay if you have car with you and it is worth to be far from centre with such a beautuiful view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.