We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium - Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium - Queenstown to your Saves list
Millennium - Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Frankton Road And Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fine for a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work conference. Room was nice, clean, good size. Breakfast area was large with good choices. My room faced the street which was noisy early in the morning with trucks going past. I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The location is good, about 10 min downhill walk into town, quite uphill on the way back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Kerry,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay during your conference. We do have rooms facing both the courtyard and street and are subject to availability but certainly can be requested at the time of making the booking.

You are correct in saying that walking back to the hotel could be tiring due to the hill hence we encourage our guests to use the complimentary shuttle service that runs every hour on the hour to town centre.

One again I would like to thank you for your time and feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    254
    129
    41
    11
See reviews for
57
231
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for four nights recently as part of a conference package. Well located and I would say only a short walk to town (5 minutes downhill on the way there, a little longer on the way back).
Breakfast buffet was excellent and the front desk were very helpful with booking of activities.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear HDavidMc,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay and found our staff helpful and our services and facilities convenient.

It will be our pleasure to have you back with us at Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here for about 5 days and loved it.

Great accommodation, not overly fancy but you get what you pay for. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

People saying it is a far walk are being ridiculous. It take 5 minutes to get down and ten to get back up the hill. Perfect for after dinner when you have over eaten. If you feel this is a "long walk" then they have a free shuttle service on the hour.

Definitely recommend the Millennium

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear RussellJH2013,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is our pleasure to know that you had a great stay with us and thank you for discussing about the complimentary shuttle service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Shame the crowne plaza wasn't available, the millennium is located 10-15 minutes walk from downtown queenstown however we are talking about also a 5 minutes walk up HILL, for those carrying lots of bags and shoppings please go talk the shuttle instead, especially on a rainy day.
I had room 219, it's another 1 minute walk after getting out from the lift. I kid you not.
The room is at decent size however the shower pressure needs to reset to high and if your next door neighbor is also taking a shower at the same time he might steal a few seconds of your hot water time leaving you in the cold running water. Not good during winter!
Breakfast is a few steps away from the lobby area and offers good selection.
It's the 21st century now we're at and they only provide free wifi in the lobby for 30 minutes daily, if you wish to use it in the room the charge you see is outrageously expensive. Another reason why I will never return instead heading to crowne plaza-just sign up for a free membership at the desk and you will get unlimited wifi, why isn't the millennium group doing this?

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Man_U_canuck,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

I agree that hotel is located at 5 minutes walk from the town and guest have to walk the small hill while coming back to the hotel which is not convenient for all of the guests. Due to this hotel has complimentary shuttle service that runs every hour on the hour from 9 am until 9 pm.

Thank you for your suggestion regarding the internet which I personally think is a great idea and I have forwarded this to our Senior Management for their consideration.

We hope that on your next internet situation would be different.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely, very comfortable with spaciuos rooms. The beds are amazing! I still dream about them. Every chair couch or rug was soft and comfy. Its lovely and close to the cbd only about a 5 min walk. There is also a courtesy shuttle to town and its not to far to drive to the airport. Some staff were fantastic and others not so much. We stayed for a 3 night stay 2 weeks in a row and the first week was better than the second. Unfortunately the restaurant really let the hotel down :( breakfast was ok although one morning we were told we couldn't sit together due to tour groups (really???) but service at night time was ridiculously slow. We spent atleast 2 hours there every night trying to get dinner so i would recommend trying one of the many restaurants downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 4th floor room numbers 401-433 if possible
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Holly M,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad to know that you had a good stay with us and appreciate your comments regarding our staff and slow restaurant service. I will discuss this with all Head of Departments to bring consistency to our service and standards.

We hope to welcome you back to Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager


D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Millennium Hotel is about 10 minutes easy walking distance to the heart of Queenstown. It is also approximately a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean an modern. The bed was very soft (too soft for me but at least it was clean!) The internet is expensive and archaic. The hotel is a little tired in the common areas. Rooms service was good but there was not a lot of choice.
Upon check out I was charged for items I did not take from the minibar (the items hadn't been restocked from the guest before me). The staff reversed the charges upon realizing their oversight.
I stayed here for business for three nights and was acceptable for this purpose. I wouldn't stay here for a long holiday in Queenstown, maybe a night or two at most. I did like how close it was to everything in the heart of Queenstown, most if it within walking distance. You can walk from the hotel to the town along the lakes edge which is stunning. The rate per night was acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Mishellbo,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and will forward to our higher management for consideration. I understand that you found internet charges expensive but would like to advise that our pricing is very competitive among the similar size hotels in Queenstown.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to Mini Bar charges and glad that Front Desk Team was able to sort it for you.

Once again I thank you for your comments and hope that you will choose Millennium Queenstown for your next short trip.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Acceptable hotel probably better for business than leisure. Close to town but a strenuous walk back up the hill. Service was generally good with lots of expat staff. Internet costs are a disgrace. Breakfast was an ordinary kiwi breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Cosmoss,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments and agree that walking back to the hotel could be tiring hence we have complimentary shuttle service that runs fro the hotel to town every hour on the hour.

I am interested to know how can we improve our standard and service to give a better experience to our guest hence would appreciate if you can please contact me at millennium.queenstown@millenniumhotels.com.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager

Kind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium - Queenstown

Address: Corner Frankton Road And Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium - Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Millennium - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium - Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.