We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium - Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium - Queenstown to your Saves list
Millennium - Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Frankton Road And Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great Hotel and we were very lucky and got an upgrade to a suite. The room was large with plenty of room to move around and stay in. It was always lovely and clean and nice and warm. The bed was two singles together and you could often feel the join! Not great! Staff were nice. Great location, a quick walk into town and there is no need to walk up the steep hill that everyone mentions to come back as you can walk through the gradens, accessed by the lake and this is a much gentler slope! Great views from the room. The spa was a bit of a let down as it was quite old and shabby and just in a small room by the gym, not very atmospheric! Overall a good place to stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us at the Millennium Hotel Queenstown.

We are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your visit, especially the suite that you were upgraded to.

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our spa, your comments will assist us to think about what we can do to improve the atmosphere, so that our guests can feel relaxed and unwind.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    217
    111
    35
    10
See reviews for
50
208
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great hotel, breath taking views over the Remarkables mountain range...

We only stayed for 1 night to end our holiday before flying home. Would have loved to stay longer and will definitely go back to the Millennium hotel.
The hotel is 5 - 10 mins walk downhill into town, and 10 - 15 mins back uphill - although there is a courtesy shuttle bus that runs every hour.
Staff were efficient and friendly, and free onsite car parking is helpful - although spaces are limited.
The only negative is the price of the WiFi - far too expensive, although there is good free WiFi throughout Queenstown.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel, with views over the Remarkables range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your brief visit with us here at the Millennium Queesntown.

We are very fortunate here with wonderful views and it was good to hear that you appreciated the gorgeous view of the Remarkables mountain range.

We were also glad to hear that the staff were helpful and friendly and that the shuttle service was useful.

We hope you can visit us again, for a little bit longer next time and truly enjoy what Queenstown has to offer.

Kind regards

Tamsyn Vermaas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at the Millennium as a one night work trip.

The room had all that I needed for a short stay. I was a little disappointed that the milk provided was those tiny, one portion UHT packets and that there was only instant coffee. However, for one night it wasn't a big deal.

The king sized bed was very comfortable, I suspect it could have been new. The hotel was quiet and I slept well.

The reason I don't rate this hotel higher is because, when I went into my room, a pair of socks (that were left by a previous occupant) was sitting on the floor and this oversight made me think, that if something as obvious as this could be overlooked, what other corners may have been cut in the cleaning.

My stay was comfortable and warm, but I find it hard to ignore cleaning issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am glad you had a peaceful nights sleep but I would like to sincerely apologise that you found the socks in your room upon arrival. This was obviously an oversight of the Supervisor that day. I will be sure to have the Executive Housekeeping Manager review this issue with all the staff so that it does not happen again. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I don't know weather its because I booked on Expedia but I have found that with several hotels I have booked on Expedia I have been given substandard rooms in a substandard part of the hotel. So even if the hotel is nice and you think you are getting a bargain you really get what you pay for - a big let down. Decor was dated and old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Rooms basic with comfortable beds. Bathrooms and furniture quite worn. Service variable, very slow check in, some staff answered simple questions with "I don't know". Breakfast buffet very basic - lack of fresh fruit platters and pancakes was disappointing for our children. Room service options very limited. Wifi expensive. Gym was closed as was spa. Walking distance to town but short steep hill to get back. If you get a good deal then go ahead and book - otherwise look elsewhere!! Probably was a great hotel a decade ago - now just another basic tourist hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that the front desk staff were not able to assist you fully with information, we have a few new staff on reception at the moment. Also that the gym / spa was closed during your visit, we had some maintenance that needed to be carried out. We appreciate you comments as they help us to see where we can improve in our guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed only 1 night at the Millennium & found it to be a fairly good, but busy, hotel. The staff are professional & courteous; the rooms are large & comfortable but need a little updating. Only a 5 min walk to centre of town which is great for quick trips. We managed to get a great deal for our room via the Net & hence, we were very happy with our experience. Only negative aspect, expensive Wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel, room , food and service were good but the air con and mini bar fridge were the loudest I have ever heard. Check this before confirming the room!

Convenient walk to the town centre and relevant attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium - Queenstown

Address: Corner Frankton Road And Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#36 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium - Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Millennium - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium - Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.