We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our time here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium - Queenstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium - Queenstown to your Saves list
Millennium - Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Frankton Road And Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our time here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We had 6 nights at the Millennium on a good rate booked directly with the hotel. We were happy with our room apart from the lack of WiFi. Staff were friendly and service good. Breakfasts were fine - we only had one evening meal - which was very good (because we wanted to try other restaurants). On the days we didn't have a car we used the shuttle - one day we walked from town. We are unlikely to stay again unless they get WiFi sorted.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    218
    111
    35
    10
See reviews for
50
208
28
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nothing great, but nothing to complain about. The hotel room was tidy, the bed was good but the pillows were rock hard. Very handy to town which is great if you don't plan on hiring a car and heading out for a Dinner/Breakfast. Would use again if I could get a reasonable price through one of the hotel aggregators.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Millenium. Got a really good deal on price on a deals website and was not disappointed! The bed was very comfy with a variety of pillows depending on your firmness preference! It was all very clean and towels etc were replaced daily, even when I had the privacy tag on the door they still left a bag of goodies outside :-) I ordered a room service pizza which was great and arrived promptly. Walk into town/marina/activities very easy and my Milford sound coach driver dropped me off directly across the street from the hotel.THUMBS UP! Only negatives - 20min free Wifi not very generous, at least one hour would be nice! NB did not use the pool or spa

Room Tip: Garden view room lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you, we really appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room and that the services provided were the expected standard. We hope we will see you again on your next visit to Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is location up the hill from the centre of Queenstown. there is a courtesy bus which runs once an hour. You notice the Trip Advisor sticker as you enter the main door and the Certificate of Excellence with 4 stars for 2012 proudly displayed at Reception but we didn't feel that this hotel actually lived up to this rating . . . Staff were OK but less friendly and helpful than in other hotels on our NZ tour. Our room was spacious with effective air conditioning. It was furnished in a traditional style suggesting a top class hotel but the wardrobe was scratched and the bath/shower hadn't been renovated when the rest of the bathroom was spruced up. The surface area around the basin was very limited. The guest laundry was a useful feature but charged at a higher rate than other hotels providing identical facilities (NZ$ 4 each for the washer and dryer plus another NZ$2 for powder. Many hotels in NZ charge half this amount and include the powder! Most disappointing was the cost of trying to use the Internet. When you are aware that the Internet services in the area are unreliable and often very poor, it seems completely UNACCEPTABLE to charge the rates that this hotel does. During the 20 minutes offered free in the Lobby the connection was too poor to send our emails so we paid NZ$10 for ONE HOUR extra and it was still too poor to do much. Most hotels offer FREE Wifi when they know they cannot guarantee a good connection and the Millennium should consider changing its policy in this respect . . .

Room Tip: Rooms facing inwards towards the garden are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Millennium is a good hotel but the tired looking rooms, fee for parking and unpleasant tripped really marred our stay. My husband almost got into an argument with one girl when simply asking the shuttle service into town.

Bright side, one of the softest beds I've ever slept in!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked last minute on line for a very reasonable tarriff. Have stayed previously on business conference 10 years ago and rooms still have same furnishings and style so a little outdated now. However bed very comfortable, overall very clean and tidy. French doors out to garden was good. Easy to get into town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got this hotel by purchasing a blind deal off an accommodation website. We would never book this hotel willingly normally. The rooms are still very outdated and the internet it just so freaking expensive.On the whole, the bed is nice, the bathroom was clean but I think its time they gave this place a fresh look and update their internet policies.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room as most of the rooms only look onto the hill behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium - Queenstown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy getting the Millennium for your blind deal but we appreciate your comments. We are having all our beds replaced and some soft furnishings throughout the year. Your comment assist us to make improvements and therefore meet expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium - Queenstown

Address: Corner Frankton Road And Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#36 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium - Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Millennium - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium - Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.