We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay at the Heritage” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Queenstown

Save Saved
You added Heritage Queenstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay at the Heritage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

I stayed at the Heritage for one night with my family in March 2007, based on the positive reviews that I read on this website. We were scheduled to stay for three nights, but after the first hour in the room, we cancelled the remaining nights and booked elsewhere in Queenstown. We stayed in the Waterfall wing. Although the room itself was standard and the bathroom very modern, the beds, carpet and walls were dirty and unkept. When we pulled back the bedspread to go to sleep, we found dried blood stains and hair. The hotel staff was very responsive and courteous; when we called to complain, they brought us new sheets. However, we found another hotel in Queenstown the next day that was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    246
    76
    27
    18
See reviews for
146
303
19
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside,UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Stayed a total of four nights,split by a night on Milford Sound.First stay was in the Forest wing and second in the Waterfall wing.I preferred the former as we had a goodish view of the lake as a bonus.However both rooms were of a good size and standard.
I agree with previous remarks about the numerous tour parties.This was particularly irksome at breakfast and to a lesser degree when we dined at the hotel.The food was good if not exciting.Breakfast was a bit of a scrum and we had trouble on two occasions,finding a table.Dinner was spoiled(for me anyway) by the constant comings and goings of groups of guests through the passageway between bar and dining room.A separate dining room,out of the firing line,would work better.
Agree with previous posts regarding the merits of Queenstown.Busy but enjoyable all the same.Trip up the cable car is a must.
Lastly.The free bus is a good idea but don't pay any attention to the timetable!!!!!!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed in one of the apartments accross from the main hotel. Very well appointed accomodation, great views of the lake, great deal of space and all round excellent value. I am an experienced traveller and have stayed in some top quality hotels around the world. My only fault was that the pool area was on the small side and can imagine it gets very busy at the height of summer.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed at the Heritage based on Frommers and were very disappointed. For the price and location we found there were other options that were better once we got to Queenstown.

We stayed in a suite with a washer/dryer which was a plus if you are needing to wash clothes but if this is not a necessity the room itself isn't that nice.

It is nice that they give you a bus pass and it is a pretty good walk from town. If you have any difficulty walking up hills then the walk probably isn't an option.

There are a lot of tour buses that use the hotel and in our opinion that was a negative. I would recommend getting opinions about day trips from friends before you go b/c we found the Concierge hadn't been on most of the trips and hadn't eaten at a lot of the restaurants (The Bunker was fabulous!).

The city itself is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

We really enjoyed our three night stay at the Heritage. It was a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. The concierge was super helpful and went out of her way to get us tickets on the BBQ Bus tour to Milford Sound (also a wonderful experience).

As noted in other reviews, the only drawback is that the hotel is a bit out of the CBD and up a steep hill. However, a shuttle service runs very regularly and the hotel provided us with free vouchers.

It was everything we expected: great views, good room, clean on-site laundry facilities. There is also a restaurant and bar, but there was so much to do in town, we never tried them.

  • Liked — The views of the lake and mountains
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

The hotel has been built in chalet style blocks to take advantage of the great views. This gave the advantage of being able to park near one's room. A good idea with Queenstown's unpredictable weather.
The room was very spacious with plenty of cupboards and the majority of rooms had balconies with some view of the lake. The bathroom was large and well appointed.
The staff were friendly and relaxed and happy to help with the arrangements for trips which we wanted to make.
The food in the restaurant was satisfactory and the staff went out of their way to supply something not on the menu.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

Heritage, Queenstown, South Island

Gorgeous view of the lake and all its personalities, flat and quiet in early morning, wave-tossed and white-capped in daytime, reflecting hills and sunrises. If view counts, give a bunch of points.

Rooms either face the lake or the pool; choose the lake. There is a small balcony with a couple of chairs to partake of the splendor and watch the 100+ old steamer ship pass by, as well at the towed paraglider, an occasional sailboat and birds.

Queenstown is the South Island’s adventure capital and downtown is swarming with tour and adventure companies with all kinds of offerings from mountaineering to trekking to glow-worm caves. We were a little off-season, but still it was bustling.

Heritage is the second most expensive place we stayed in NZ but, to us, if the value justifies the cost ($ 170 NZD), we don’t mind. And this room, (actually a suite, if you pull the folding accordian doors closed) spells quality in every way; spacious room, sofa and lounge chairs, multi-function stereo, TV, king size comfortable bed, a closet, safe, washer/dryer, and a very capable kitchen, with dishwasher, stove and microwave. There is also a airdryer, iron, hot pot, cuisinart, toaster and garbage disposal.

There is wireless internet available but it’s expensive. Internet cafes in town are all over and very reasonable.

The bathroom is lovely, with abundant toiletries provided, glass walled shower with hand-held shower-head. And, a rarity, also a bathtub. White terrycloth robes are also provided.

There is a nice gym, a lovely pool and large spa, and even a sauna. By the lobby, there is a lounge and bar, and a first-class restaurant. As expected, service is professional, prompt and polite, and food was excellent.

There is a shuttle-bus which goes to numerous stops in town, hourly. And of course, the concierge can research and book all kinds of trips and adventures for you. We highly recommend Heritage and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Lovely lake views from a gorgeous room.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone & Cedar construction, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mtn Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.