We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Queenstown to your Saves list
Heritage Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
IN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Could have been better..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I think the stay at the hotel very much depends on the room allocation and the wing. Beware that there are some very good rooms and some rooms with just parking lot views in the hotel. Hotel is just an average stay, obviously, away from the lakefront. They do have shuttles to take you to the main street and the breakfast is good (argh.. same everywhere).

I believe with some more effort, we would have defly gotten a better hotel/room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    282
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
163
347
24
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

The Heritage Queenstown is a nice place to stay. The rooms are clean and roomy. If possible, get a room in the Lake wing, as these rooms offer spectacular views over the lake and mountains from their balconies.

The only minor fault with our room was that the toilet seat would not stay in the upright position - a little frustrating, but ultimately not too major!

The biggest drawback with the Heritage is that it is quite a walk to and from the city centre - with a fairly steep slope involved. The hotel does offer a free shuttle which leaves every 15 minutes for most of the day, although we did not use it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We have stayed in these villas with our group of friends for the past three years on our ski trip and we really couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.
This is one of my favourite hotels in New Zealand!
The only criticism I could make is that the pool gets very busy after a day on the slopes so it doesn't really make for a relaxing soak, but this never really bothered us too much.
Easy service into town on the shopper bus which is free if you collect the tickets from reception. Definitely worth paying a little extra for the lake views.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We had booked three nights at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. As we drove along the main esplanade at the side of Lake Wakatipu we were disappointed to find that the hotel was at the very end and up a short hill so not directly on the Lake. However, there were lovely views from many of the rooms and it was easy to walk into town down what turned out to be only a small hill and along the lake. We caught the bus back.

Above all we were impressed by the friendliness of all the staff at this hotel.

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite room but I understand all the rooms were of a good standard with excellent decor everywhere. The public rooms were nice with a good restaurant and bar area. The pool was not large but was pleasantly designed and for once the gym was airy and opened onto the pool instead of being in a basement.

We only had the continental breakfast but this was good with a good selection. The cooked breakfast looked good too.

We would certainly stay here again and indeed hope to as Queenstown is too good for just three nights.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed at the hotel with our 8 month old recently. The hotel is quite nice to look at, the facilities are pretty good. Check-in was quick and simple, and reception offered to have someone help with our bags. Throughout our stay, the staff were helpful and friendly.

The room was what you would expect from a nice hotel, although I found it strange that there was no table in between the two queens beds, just a big space.

The toiletries provided in the room were particularly nice.

Parking was easy and pretty close to the room. If you don't have a car, there is a free bus that leaves from the hotel to go into town every 30 mins. Parking in Queenstown is difficult, so the bus may be a good option anyway.

The restaurant balcony has great views of the lake, and the coffee was good, making it a great place to relax.

The hotel pool and spa was nice, although the pool was too cold for my liking. Even in the middle of summer, the water was too cold to take our son swimming.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed at the Heritage because we were going to a wedding in Queenstown and the bride had selected that hotel. I had stayed here before in the apartments, but never in the hotel rooms.

We switched rooms 3 times:
The first room was gorgeous and quite large, but the balcony was directly over the pool (Forest building). As that door was the only way to get air into the room, we asked to be moved across the hall due to the noise of the pool.

The second room was also very nice, but not as large. It didn't have a balcony, but did have good sized windows and a beautiful view of the woods and some of the lake. It was great UNTIL a wedding reception started around 9:00. Apparently, our room was directly above the reception room. The music was horribly loud and we could hear the bass of the music clearly. The kitchen that services the reception room was directly under our window, so we had to close the window to the noise/smells.

At 10pm, reception promised the wedding would stop at 10:30. At 10:30, reception promised the wedding would stop at 11pm. At 11pm, I went down to reception and demanded another room. And they moved us all right...

Room #3 was in an older part of the hotel (also Forest building - 4th floor). The room was so outdated and stuffy feeling, it seemed as if someone had died there and the room hadn't been opened since. We opened the door for air, only to find we were once again facing the damn pool area!

My husband took over, and got us into Room #4 (Waterfall building). That room was quiet, with a view of the woods and sounds from a waterfall. However, there were smokers below us, and the smoke came directly into our room through the balcony door. Moths came through the door at night.

I think this hotel would be great in the winter - the rooms are warm, and the heaters work. However, on a warm summer day, the fan part of the heater does NOT work (in any of the 3 rooms we were in, and friends confirmed theirs didn't work either), you'll need to open the door for air (which could bring in moths and/or smoke) and the bathrooms are not ventilated in ANY way. AT ALL.

As for the beds, the "King" beds are really two smaller beds put together with very uncomfortable/rough sheets on top. Between that and the heat, we didn't get much sleep.

Not as important, but the TV is so small the news had all the words cut off on the sides (reporter was in "ington" and TV3 had lines running across the screen. TV cabinet doors were falling off and the lamp broke when we turned it on.

We didn't try the pool because it was very heavily chlorinated.

Finally, don't attempt to eat the "scrambled eggs" on the breakfast buffet - they are disgusting (and not at all eggs). The cook will make eggs to order, though!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

This was our big spend on the 28 day NZ tour. Three days over New Year in one of the Lakeside suites with a balcony facing Lake Wakatipu. The rooms are of a high standard (although not luxury) and have good facilities including a hob, waste disposal units, washing/drying machines and a complimentary safe. The room design is a little odd with the sofa facing the side of the TV unit but there are other lounge chairs to sit on if you want to watch TV. You can cut off the sleeping area, which has a King sized bed, with folding doors if you wish. The staff are very friendly with a good sense of humour. There was a delay in servicing our room one day, due to a 50% turnover in clients (New Year's day) but we were kept informed and it was serviced at the time they promised. The hotel has a small gym, spa-pool, sauna and outdoor unheated swimming pool. You can go straight from the spa pool to the swimming pool if you are brave enough.

The restaurant was good although we were a little perturbed to find that our table for dinner wasn't ready at the reserved time and that we were asked to have a drink in the bar even though we could see tables that were free. This might have been due to the kitchen having reached capacity (it is open to the restaurant seating area and looked very hectic). The delay didn't spoil anything though and the choice of food is good and well cooked. We thought their breakfast at NZD 26 per person wasn't really worth it so we cancelled that after one day. Some of the food on the buffet seemed slightly cold and they also have the slowest toaster in the world. Breakfast here is 30% more expensive than their own hotel in Auckland and not so good. We just had breakfast on the balcony overlooking the lake. Heaven.

Minor points you should be aware of. The hotel is split into three areas which are fairly close together. If it is raining and you are in one of the wings, you need to go outside to get to the main building. The rain here is often not a drizzle. It can and does come down in large lumps. Umbrellas are provided at all the doorways though. As for location, the hotel is a little way out of town. If you are fit it is an easy walk into town, along the lakeside (10 to 15 minutes), but the hotel is on a fairly steep hill. There is a courtesy bus, the Connect number 9, which runs every 30 minutes to and from the town centre. The hotel give you a small timetable and you use this as your ticket as the bus service is not provided by the hotel. Quite a few people walk into town and bus it back, especially as the supermarket is in the town centre. Just one general word of caution if you are thinking of visiting Queenstown over New Year. It is party town and very busy. Accommodation can be difficult to find if you haven't pre-booked. On New Year's Eve there was a sign in the I-Site visitor centre that said "Minimum for available rooms in Queenstown - $450 per night".

At NZD335 per night the Heritage is not cheap but we wouldn't hesitate to go back despite the fact that service can be a little patchy when they are very busy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone & Cedar construction, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mtn Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.