We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Queenstown - very comfortable, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Queenstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Queenstown to your Saves list
Heritage Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Heritage Queenstown - very comfortable, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed at the Heritage with a group of others and was lucky enough to have a lake view room Beautiful views out over the lake, very quiet and clean room. The room had all the things you would like in a classy hotel, including a self contained kitchen, spacious bedroom and lounge area, and a spacious bathroom. All the hotel staff I dealt with (quite a few) were very helpful and courteous. Free bus service to the main town is excellent for those that like to go out and have a few drinks, and taxis are very cheap as well.
Great buffet breakfasts, and undercover parking for your rent-a-car should you have one.
Highly recommend this hotel to any travellers spending a few days in Queenstown.

  • Liked — Location, service, and roominess
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    339
    102
    30
    21
See reviews for
194
416
26
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kiwi
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

great place to stay. totally loved the location. especially over xmas, new year period. as it is just outside the CBD area we did not have to suffer the noise of party goers to all hours of the night as most hotels in towned suffered. hotel puts on a free bus service into town but we only used it when it was raining. the walk up the hill is a challenge but worth it for the views.
loved our room , it was huge and as we were on the top floor and looked out over the top of the whole resort to the lake, mountains and up to the forest and gondolas. House keeping left alot to be desired, Was very dissappointed in the cleanilness and replacement of toilet paper etc. one day we came back to absolutely no toilet paper or tissues. Staff were very friendly and more than helpful.

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — house keeping
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed here as part of our tour group. This hotel is about a mile away from downtown. A courtesy bus (#9) is free of charge to get you and back from downtown as long as you show the driver the hotel key packet. Our room was 114, with 2 single beds with large closets. The bathroom is a nice size and is brightly lit. The view of our terrace looks out over the front entrance of the hotel with partial views of the lake and mountains beyond. If a bus pulls into the driveway, they can see directly into our room. If not, we get a nice view through the drive to the scenery. Breakfast was ok. The scrambled eggs taste weird as if they were steamed and not cooked over a stove top.

  • Liked — Nice room and bathroom, good scenery views if you can get the right room
  • Disliked — Not centrally located
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Heritage as part of a large conference group for 5 days in early Sept. We had a studio room in the Forest Wing looking out toward the lake and snowcapped mountains.

I would have to say that our stay was fantastic. I only have a few issues however I will focus on the good things first.

With our room, I guess we were lucky as our view was amazing. Some people from the group weren't so lucky and did have views of the pool and carpark area so I would suggest specifically asking for a room with a view. The room wasn't huge however it was very comfortable with the massive bed and country feel. The staff were very welcoming and were always available to answer any questions. The hotel is also only about a 10 min walk from town and with the beautiful and breathtaking landscape surrounding Queenstown you would be silly to drive.

Okay, the very few issues I had. The bar closed quite early and considering the entire hotel was booked out for a cocktail competition, this was a bit disappointing. During breakfast, the tables took a while to be cleared which was annoying as there were a lot of people staying there. Also, the selection on the al a carte menu is very small, not a lot to choose from.

Obviously my issues aren't to concerning. There are fantastic bars and restaurants in town. Anyway, who really wants to stay all day and night in the hotel?!

Overall, the stay was almost perfect and when I come back to Queenstown, I'll be choosing to stay at the Heritage again.

P.S if you get a chance or you're traveling with friends, check out the 3 bedroom Heritage Villas across the road - amazing!

  • Liked — The location and the view from the room.
  • Disliked — The bar closing early.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We were looking forward to staying at the Heritage based on a personal recommendation as well as the reviews posted on tripadvisor. We were very disappointed with our stay. We were expecting a room with a view based on our booking. We were given a room with a view of the restaurant. I could see the mountains if I was able to stand on the rail of our balcony. Unfortunately there was a tour group staying on our floor that styed up all night drinking and being extremely loud which prevented us from getting any sleep. We called the front desk and they did nothing to address the problem (I guess they did not want to cause any issues with the tour group that would prevent future bookings). When we brought the issue up with the manager the next morning they confirmed that the group had been doing a lot of drinking and partying. No apologies were given for not addressing the issue nor were there any effort to “make it up” to us. We stayed at many wonderful places during our two weeks on the South Island, unfortunately this was not one of them.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Myself and my 12 year old daughter spent alovely week in this beautiful place on our travels. The rooms were lovely and there was a lovely homely atmosphere about the place. The staff were super friendly and very helpful we had a lovely time, the views are beyond amazing and when i think back of the highllight of my holiday i think back to queenstown and i think this hotel complemented our stay. the only thing is the pool its not a swimming pool for laps its very small - but i had n time for swimming anyways.WE aslo stayed in the Heritage in Christchurch it was lovely too.

  • Liked — the friendliness and the hmely atmosphere
  • Disliked — the swimming poool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

We arrived at the Heritage Hotel at the height of the summer tourist season. After reading such promising reviews, we had big expectations for our stay at the Heritage. Alas, these were not fulfilled. Firstly, the Hotel gave us very poor advice on how to get some extra lugguage from Te Anau to Queenstown while we were hiking. Their advice was to send it by courier, which would have been ridiculously expensive. It turned out that there are several transportation companies that deal with this specific problem for hikers. Secondly, when we turned up to the hotel it was clear that several large tour groups took priority over us. We were asked if we 'really needed help' with our lugguage. Generally, the service lacked professionalism. Our room was lovely, but lacked the views we were so hoping for. The hotel is indeed lovely and located in a wonderful spot. However, it does have a certain clinical feel to it. For a hotel, which claims to be of a high quality, I expected either more charm or for the service to go that extra mile. Sadly both were lacking.

  • Liked — The quality of the room
  • Disliked — The unprofessional service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is has a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.