We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility, comfortable bed, taxi home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Queenstown to your Saves list
Heritage Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Whangamata, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great facility, comfortable bed, taxi home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Located away from town center, recommend you walk along the lake to town and taxi back (the hill is a killer) $10.00 by taxi. Friendly staff, good customer service and very comfortable bed. Well appointed room with a balcony. Breakfast was included and provided an excellent selection for all tastes. Cosy lounge / bar area with open fire creates nice ambience. Conference facility is good. Ask for a lake view as some rooms overlook tree reserve at rear of hotel - that view is nice too but Queenstown is all about the lake and mountains.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good afternoon 818sharonl. Thank you for your great review – I will share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    339
    102
    30
    21
See reviews for
194
416
26
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

One of the better places to stay when in Queenstown
The View is amazing the rooms are clean and comfortable everything you need is there!
The staff are friendly the bar is great . The restaurant is fantastic and do is the room service.
I recommend it highly enjoy your stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good afternoon Zoran1. Thank you for your great review – I will make sure to share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Right from the moment we checked in we were made welcome. The staff were all friendly,very helpful and kind. Our room was lovely with a beautiful view of the lake. The bed was absolutely delicious, soft, cosy and warm. The bathroom was also very well set up. We only ate dinner but it was well presented and the staff were excellent. Pre dinner drinks were also lovely by the fire. The pool was also great. We had a car so we did not have to walk into the town centre and the views were awesome. It was an excellent base for our day.

Room Tip: The hotel is about a 15/20 minute walk into the town centre along the lake's edge. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good afternoon rosscooper. Thank you for your great review – I will most definitely pass your wonderful comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is my third time hat this hotel. Recently refreshed, the Heritage ticks all the boxes for me. Great rooms, great views, smart and hospitable staff, a spa and gym, and great for the kids. The breakfast buffet was good value and the kids loved it, and the restaurant is good and does room service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good afternoon Lough222. Thank you for your great review. I will share your great comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the Heritage for 7 nights and loved every moment that we spent there. The hotel reminded me of a beautiful ski lodge and was comforting and inviting the minute we stepped through the doors. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel had ample parking as well as a drying room (ski cave) for our wet ski clothes/equipment, a gym, a pool, a sauna and spa! The facilities provided by the hotel were top notch and we happily used them nearly everyday! The cocktails provided during happy hour were delicious which were enjoyed by the fire. They even provided us marshmallows for us to toast by the fire!

We hired a car so it was very easy to travel into town. The hotel is a 5 minute drive and a 15 minute walk into town. It is located across the lake with breathtaking views of snow-capped mountains. The only thing that could be improved is the wi-fi service and the movie service. The wi-fi kept disconnecting and movies were $15 to purchase! Nevertheless, we weren't too fussed as we were in Queenstown for the snow not the internet!

Overall, the service that the staff at the Heritage provided should be praised. The hotel is beautiful and felt like home. My partner and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Good afternoon Julie D,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.
My apologies for the Wi-Fi challenge with it disconnecting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Either queenstown is full of great people or all the great people work here. Easy to talk to and everything was done with a smile - special thanks to Annie in the bar.
The hotel is good - great touches such as a real fire with marshmallows to toast - if such detail is gone to why ruin it with very limited free Internet which frustrated others in our group and mutterings from others. We aren't limited to the amount of electricity or water we use in a room so why limit the amount of data?
The food was good and pool - heated outdoor - was excellent and a fine choice of wines by he glass.
About 15 mins walk from town but when you have a great view on the walk as you do here then that is no distance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Good afternoon Andrew B,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. With regard to the internet, we now offer 100mb free of charge over a 24hr period in the rooms. As a group we are looking at how we can continue to improve the Wi-Fi. To deliver Wi-Fi in New Zealand it still comes to us at a large expense and unfortunately we need to pass part of that cost onto the user.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Donna Stewart

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Myself & adult daughter stayed here during the second week of the winter festival. I initially booked through bookings.com which I often use for holiday accommodation & usually offers very competitive rates. Three days before our stay however I went directly to the Heritage site & noticed they had a much better value deal. My daughter rang the hotel to swap the booking which was done with the minimum of fuss from a really accommodating employee.
If you don't want to pay airport taxi prices, there is a bus outside of the airport that takes you into the centre of Queens town & drops you off at the connecting bus stop for fern hill & the Heritage. The journey took about 25 minutes and cost about $16.00 each.
This is our third stay at this Heritage hotel Queenstown. Although it is three years since our last stay nothing much appeared to have changed on our arrival at reception, the cosy lodge type look was still evident. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly. Although our room wasn’t ready due to our very early arrival, our bags were put into storage so that we could go off into Queenstown centre for a few hours.
When we returned we had been allocated a room in the forest wing where we have stayed before & enjoyed. What a lovely surprise we got on entering the newly refurbished room, it looked smart, well-appointed, well big enough for two and most importantly warm & comfortable. The beds were really comfortable. The small balcony revealed the most stunning view of the lake & surrounding mountains which were unfortunately bare of snow this year, but never the less beautiful.
Waking up to the gorgeous sunny mornings, having coffee & watching the canopies from the paragliders skim above the water was stunning & tempted my daughter to go off and experience a flight first-hand.
Although the hotel is a little way from the centre of the action it is a very easy, pleasant 10 – 15 minute walk down to the hustle and bustle of Queenstown (coming back is a little harder as Fern hill is quite steep in places) the beautiful views are well worth the stroll. If you don’t fancy walking there is a fairly regular public bus service leaving right from outside of the hotel. I think it’s pretty expensive for the very short bus ride, although return tickets can be purchased at reception for $10.00 which is the cheaper option. On two occasions when we left to walk to town, people were waiting for the bus but we managed to walk there before the bus was anywhere in sight. We did take a taxi back to the Heritage from the centre on evening when we were loaded with shopping which cost $19.00.
The breakfast room is still comfortable, the food and variety certainly acceptable with really pleasant welcoming wait staff.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay. The Heritage is not the height of luxury but rather a really welcoming, comfortable, relaxing and safe home from home feel - just lovely, so what more can you ask for when needing a weekend break? Would we return…….absolutely.

Room Tip: If finances allow choose a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good afternoon Lesley094, thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful feedback. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is has a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.