We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place you want to come back and stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Queenstown to your Saves list
Heritage Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place you want to come back and stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

For our first trip in Queenstown, the Heritage was a great place to stay. the staff were always very friendly and happy to assist your needs. the walk into town was the most beautiful walk you will do, and the walk back allows you to work off the yummy food you will eat in the resturant. we found the rooms to be very big and the beds the most confortable we have had for a very long time. the bathrooms are very spacious and clean, with the towel warmers to be my sons favourite aspect. definately will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Good afternoon Olivia L

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    280
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
163
344
24
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful big room. Staff excellent. On site undercover parking available. It is out of the town, but it is definitely worth the walk. it can be difficult to find long term parking in the town also. Restuarant very popular. heated pool and spa. most people i talked to were return customers and i think i will also return on our next visit.

Room Tip: if you want a lake view room you must request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Good afternoon Holtontrio

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had few days to spare so off to The Heritage and it was we'll worth the drive. Excellent service from all staff. Nice big room and excellent bedding for comfort. Second time we've stayed at the Heritage Queenstown and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Good afternoon Darin B

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is wonderful you enjoyed your stay – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Heritage Queenstown is slightly out of town and up a hill. This is the fun part of it. Each morning while we stayed there, a walk into town was enjoyable. Walking along the Lake and enjoying the view of the ice capped mountains. The Remarkables in the distance. Truely a magnificent scene. The walk back up the hill requires a little courage. However, a since of achievement once you reach the Hotel. there is the choice to take the local bus or taxi.This was my third stay at this Hotel and the staff are very helpful and go out of their way to sort out issues.

Room Tip: Lake and Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Good afternoon Remela P

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the third time – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Another great stay at the Heritage Queenstown, our favourite hotel. Everything was great from staff to room to coffee. Highly recommend a mountain view room, they are absolutely beautiful with the best view in the world, quite spacious too. Thank you.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Good afternoon Michelle M

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your most recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here with 3 girlfriends in one of the lovely 2 bedroom apartments during a Conference which was being held at the Resort at the end of September. Reception Staff were excellent as were the staff throughout the property and the Conference went without a hitch.....
The apartment was very well appointed ( 2 x Double rooms adjoining ) and we had views over the parking area which was a bit of a shame but I am sure a few dollars more would have given us beautiful views over the Lake.

We had no use for the complimentary shuttle service into the town as this was taken care of by the Conference Organisers but having the Shuttle would be necessary as the Resort is a little too far away from the centre of town to make walking the distance a reasonable proposition though it wold be a picturesque and pleasant walk.

The Food was fresh and well presented and I would most certainly return given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Pay the xtra and opt for s Lakeview Room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Good afternoon Salimarin

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is wonderful you enjoyed your stay – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A lovely hotel with a great feel a great views out over the lake.
We had a room on the 3rd floor in the "Forest wing" (there are four main buildings grouped together). Our room was on the outside and faced a lovely beach forest which was close by. The room also had a balcony (as do most rooms) which was lovely with good afternoon sun and a view of the lake.
The room itself was quite standard and nothing out of the normal but was all in good order with quality fittings.
It is however a little out of town and would be a ten minute walk to town down the hill. We had a car so this was not an issue and there is good underground parking with convenient access to the lifts.
There is a nice pool complex with a spa and an indoor outdoor larger pool.

The whole hotel has a nice feel and benefits from not being in the middle of town. It feels like its in a beautiful natural location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors and facing out of the complex (not looking back into the reception buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Good afternoon Pieteroo

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone & Cedar construction, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mtn Range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.