We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Suites Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Suites Queenstown to your Saves list
Scenic Suites Queenstown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The scenic is located on the shore of Lake Wakatipu and both are well above expectations. The hotel is clean, modern and apparently well run. We stayed for only one night but were impressed by the rooms and particularly by the food served in the restaurant. a great place to visit. Close by are numerous sights and places of interest. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. Great comments about your room and the handy location to town.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    166
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
86
232
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. The room was great! It had everything we needed - from a washing machine to a dishwasher to simple things such as a coffee plunger. The bed was fantastic with a thick underlay underneath and great pillows which made it so hard to get out of bed in the mornings! Shower was great and was made even better by the heated towel racks!
Location was excellent. The walk up the hill didn't bother us - was definitely a great way to sober up after a night out!
Only problem we had was the flusher button on the toilet kept getting slightly stuck causing the water to keep running through. We contacted reception and were told they would send somebody to look at it - however no one ever came.
Regardless, I would still recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My friends & I stayed at the Scenic Suites for 4 nights in June & had a 2 bedroom apartment. The reservation lady Liz helped me book via email & she was fantastic! So helpful & nice! When we arrived in our room she even had these amazing chocolate coated honeycomb chocolates waiting for us with a lovely welcome card! The view in the room was fantastic! The rooms were spacious, modern & clean, the beds were comfortable, the heating was perfect & the shower was great especially when it's mostly -2 degrees. The location of the hotel is literally 5mins walk from town & near all the pubs & restaurants. Beware there is a hill you need to climb to get back to the hotel. Only one though however I thought it was big enough. I wouldn't recommend staying any further than the Scenic Suites as queenstown is extremely hilly. This location was perfect. The only negative I have is that we ordered room service when we arrived & the order was incorrect. We were missing the chicken on our 2 chicken ceaser salads & our wedges. We called the restaurant & they advised that we could keep the current salads & they would make us 2 new ones free of charge & bring them up to us right away along with our wedges. It got to us pretty quick however they had forgotten our wedges again. The man had to go back & bring it back up again. It was a little annoying due to getting off a flight & being hungry. The food was average however we didnt care as we were straving. We were told we wouldn't be charged for the wedges however we were on check out. I didn't dispute it though and happily paid as the staff did try their best to fix the problem promptly. Overall a great hotel & I would still give it 5 stars due to a great location, fantastic rooms & great service! I would definitely stay again Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Very postive comments about your room and all the facilities and I am glad you enjoyed the chocolates on your arrival. I will be sure to pass your comments onto Liz and the rest of the team.

Apoligies for the confusion regarding your room service I have fowarded your comments to the food and beverage to ensure this doesn't happen in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in a superior room for two nights recently and found the room to be well equipped and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable with nice linen. The tea and coffee making facilities were better than I've had at some other hotels (plunger coffee rather than instant) and a good bathroom with a decent shower and nice towels. The heating in the room was very effective. The location is fantastic and very handy, just a short walk down into town, didn't find the uphill walk back nearly as bad as some reviewers described it, the steep part doesn't go on for too long. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Very positive comments about you enjoying the room, and all the facilities and It sounds like you handled the short walk back from town with out problems. I am glad you found the heating in the room very effective definetly a must on these cold winter nights.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aotearoa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a great stay here.

The positives:
Location - walking distance to the centre of town
Room layout and facilities - we had a two bedroom suite which included a kitchen
Staff - Very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble
Cleaning - Very clean and well presented

The negatives:
Bed - a little uncomfortable, had some sort of mattress protector that made the bed lumpy
Internet - In a room of this class this should be included in the price and not an extra
Breakfast - Only average, was ok but for $24 expected better quality

Room Tip: Request a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Thank you for your comments about our staff and how freindly they were. In regards to the bed we are currently in the process of upgrading the existing bedding in our Scenic Suites.

We are actually located only 200 metres from the centre of Queenstown, I'm happy you found our location ideal.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had two stays at this hotel--the first in a regular hotel room and the second in one of the suites. Both had spectacular views of town and the lake--the sunsets were amazing from the balconies. The rooms were well designed and appointed, and clean--everything you would need for a lovely stay. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful--loved the fresh fruit bowl on the counter. It was a short walk into town--as noted by others, the hotel is on a hill so there is a bit of an uphill walk to return from town, but that is one reason why the views were so wonderful. Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Your comment about your room being well designed and appointed with good lake views is appreciated and has been passed on to the Hotel team.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Room are well furnished, spacious and comfortable. There's a big tv, heaters on each room, leathers couches. For those who want to do a bit of house work there's also a washing machine and a dryer. There's a fully functional kitchen and even a dishwasher. We enjoyed the apartment so much that we sleep in a few days even when we were supposed to ski the whole day. There's limited parking underground and they provide you with an access card so it's pretty easy to park inside an use the lifts. That being said you will have to do some walking to go to reception and to access the street. The town is very close but you will have to walk a very steep hill to get back to the hotel. It probably takes 7 min to walk to the hearth of town, probably 5 blocks away.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that is not facing the Main Street, might be a bit noisy for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Great to hear your comments about your room being Room well furnished, spacious and comfortable and I am glad you made the the most of the big tv. Your comments have been passed on to the Hotel team.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit in the future.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Suites Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.