We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lomond Lodge to your Saves list
Lomond Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   33 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, service and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We chose Lomond Lodge in Queenstown because of the location and the reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived at the Lomond after a long but beautiful drive from Wanaka on November 1st. The check in process was easy and we were pleased with our studio king. The kitchen facilities were a bit cramped but otherwise the amenities and cleanliness were excellent. It was a five minute walk to downtown Queenstown where we rented bikes and rode along a lovely waterfront hike and bike trail. Afterwards we shared some steamed mussels at a fish and chip stand by the harbor - delicious! We then strolled around the town checking out the shops and restaurants. For dinner we had pho at a Vietnamese restaurant which suited us. More walking meant that we needed a top up so we avoided the long line at Fregburger and went next door to the Ferg Bakery and had a nice beef meat pie and a carrot cake. After that "snack" we headed off to explore The Queenstown Gardens and it was a breathtaking array of flower blossoms and majestic trees. All in all we had a great time in Queenstown and we could have used an extra day to explore the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Hi thanks for your great review of your stay at Lomond Lodge and Queenstown - it was great to read you made the most of your few days here in our pretty town! As you detailed, there are plenty of wonderful things to do and see, as well as some wonderful food to taste!

We are all really pleased you enjoyed your visit and that we exceeded your expectations.We all hope to host you again next time you visit Queenstown!

With thanks,

Lee Exell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    103
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
50
134
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Lomond Lodge is a gem! Tucked one street from central town, it was an easy walk to all Queenstown has to offer. Our room was cosy, modern and super clean - even the baby toys on offer for us to borrow had been cleaned. We had a garden view room which had lovely vistas of the mountains in the distance and access to tables and chairs to soak up the sunshine while enjoying a nice cold drink. But the real stars of the Lodge were the Managers, Lauren and Nathalie, two of the nicest and most genuinely helpful people you could meet.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Hi we were so pleased you all enjoyed your trip to Qtwn & stay at Lomond Lodge!
We introduced the children's toy box after a suggestion from one of our staff & to date guests have found them to be very helpful as they have helped to keep their little one's entertained!
We will be passing on your comments to the housekeeping team, re the "super clean" room you stayed in - we do try to ensure the rooms (and Lodge) are spotless and it is wonderful to know that guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you back at Lomond Lodge again in the future!

Kind regards,

The Team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A lovely motel. The rooms are compact but there is a very good full kitchen guests can use. Lauren on reception was particularly helpful. I had left my credit card in our last motel and she moved heaven and earth and got it back to me the next morning. Nothing was too much trouble. Now that is customer service. Highly recommended!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi thank you for taking the time to log a review of your recent visit - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the location and facilities so well suited to your needs.

We were also pleased everything worked out regarding your credit card - there is nothing worse than leaving personal belongings behind. Lauren is always willing to go the extra mile to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us - she is a great example of Kiwi service at its best!!!

We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip,

Regards,

Lee Exell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Not far from city center and skyline, great view from 2nd floor. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Full equipment in kitchen. Small but beautiful garden. Easy to find and park a car. Very suitable for family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the service and location suited you well. We try to ensure that our guests feel "at home" during their visit, so we always endeavour to make sure the garden is well maintained, then people can relax and enjoy "taking some time to enjoy their holiday".

We look forward to hosting you again next time you visit,

Regards,
The Team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandisfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were here for one night. When we returned to Queenstown later in our trip we booked a different accommodation. The location is great, but our room was cramped and inconvenient to get to as it was accessed via a series of winding stairs and then down a hallway that was accessed with a key. The rooms of other guests were off of this hallway. The kitchenette we expected turned out to be communal - in that it was down at the end of the hallway and shared by all. Our room had a small refrigerator, a few cups, plates, microwave, toaster and a tea kettle. But, the area to accommodate all of this was small and cramped, making it a bit of challenge to make coffee or put together sandwiches for our hike. The bathroom was clean but had a bit of an odd smell to it. We were glad to check out the next day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest we have read your comments and would like to make the following points, so that other readers are not confused by your review.

You booked a Garden view room on the first floor at the rear of the property. To clarify, there are 6 steps up to the top floor (we don't have any winding staircases). There is a short corridor on the first floor which has 5 rooms along it. The corridor is neither cramped or difficult to access.

The access door to the corridor will lock if pulled to. guests can open the door using their room key, so there is never any access difficulties or issues.

Regarding the kitchenette - all of our rooms have kitchenettes, which consist of a bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities as well as a microwave & toaster. There is additionally a communal Guest Kitchen. Guests are welcomed to use the communal kitchen, which is fully equipped and hardly used! Should you have needed more space in your room to make sandwiches etc you may have been best to use the guest kitchen at the end of the corridor (less than 25 metres from your room).
On a positive note, we are pleased you found the location to your satisfaction.

We trust you had a safe trip back home.

With thanks,

Lee Exell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

You cannot avoid but welcome her smile and laughter of the host, Lauren.
Thanks for a comfortable and hospitable stay during our trip in Queenstown.
Lauren, I hope you could find the Japanese coffee in the local oriental store.

Leanne and Lim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What lovely comments - thank you for highlighting Lauren's service, as she is an absolute star and asset to the Lodge!

With thanks,

Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent location, easy to find, clean and comfortable with amazing views.
Kitchenette was more that adequate. Laundry available. Good selection of DVD's available at no extra cost.
Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.
Quite honestly there were no disappointments and I would recommend Lomond Lodge to anybody.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for lake view which was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest, it was great to read you were happy with your stay at the Lodge and would feel confident in recommending us!!
It is really important to us that guests feel they are well looked after, but also that the facilities and amenities are matching the expectations of our customers - so thank you for letting us know your feelings as we are thrilled you enjoyed your trip and stay at Lomond Lodge!

Thanks again,

Rachel & Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 4 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front. Quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star.Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road, Man Street, Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's with DVD & Sky, Wifi and free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. Accommodation has either "Stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu or Garden views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and relaxing views - We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.